We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ranked #117 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed April 13, 2014

We got what we paid for, economical accommodation, friendly service, great location and we were most happy with where we stayed. It was like an upmarket style backpackers but you have your own bathroom.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Nora T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajith R, Front Office Manager at Ibis budget Sydney East, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thank you for your honest feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (667)
There are newer reviews for Ibis budget Sydney East
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

268 - 274 of 667 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
2  Thank Jervi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ajith R, Front Office Manager at Ibis budget Sydney East, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

My daughter and I spent two nights here last week. Very central to Kings Cross and only a short walk from train station. Signage could be a little more obvious as we missed when first waking down the street and only saw it on looking back, as it is placed high on right side of building not out front. And entry off William St is up steps which are really only for late night use. Other entry is off another street. So a little confusing. Rooms on the small size but still plenty of room for the two of us. Very basic and no pictures or anything on wall. And bathroom floor was very tired looking. As we discovered our television didn't work later in the day, we were offered another room immediately. This room was of same size but a lot tidier with pic on wall. And bathroom a lot tidier. Good air conditioner, and not too noisy. We were on 6th floor which made it quite quiet from traffic noise. Beds were comfortable. Staff very helpful and welcoming. Breakfast is only $9.00 for toast, cereals, yoghurt, fruit, tea coffee etc. Light continental buffet, which we thought was very reasonable. So ate here for the time we were staying. Hot chocolates from machine were great! A good budget place and I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Strickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajith R, Front Office Manager at Ibis budget Sydney East, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Your feedback and suggestions are a vital part of our growth. And for that, we are most grateful.
Thanks again! We look forward to serving you for future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

The reception by the staff was excellent. Over the six days of our visit we were greeted with warm smiles from all the staff, and while we didn't know their names we felt part of the family. The close location to Sydney was great, good public transport, and dining at "the Cross" was magic.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank UJEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajith R, Front Office Manager at Ibis budget Sydney East, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Thank you for your honest feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Amanda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ajith R, Front Office Manager at Ibis budget Sydney East, responded to this reviewResponded April 17, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We needed to stay in this area for convenience of the car rental and to visit friends.....I wish we'd forked out a little extra and stayed somewhere better, but I thought 'it's an Accor hotel, it will be fine'..... Well I was wrong!
We paid $189 a night and for that we got a dingy, pokey room with no air flow which made it feel very claustrophobic.
The bathroom was tiny and filthy, it had two well used towels and half a roll of toilet paper.
I was greatful for the rubber mattress topper on the bed as I witnessed another quest paying a woman as she left (William st is where a lot of prostitutes pick up business). The sheets were well worn and had holes all over them. The bed was on wheels and every time we would move it came away from the wall.
The walls were badly marked and stained.
I felt disgusted by the state of the place and furious at the amount of money we paid to stay here (I wouldn't have even written this review if we had only paid $89 a night).
Last but not least the security of the hotel left a little to be desired, there were junkies coming and going at all hours who would all hang at the front door smoking and going through the bins in the rear lane way.
We have stayed at a number of Accor hotels in Australia, NZ and Bali but unfortunately this representation of they're brand has left us very disappointed and I would definately think twice about staying at any of they're hotels in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Itchyfeettravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Jo Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ajith R, Front Office Manager at Ibis budget Sydney East, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Darlinghurst
Sydney Boutique Hotel
Sydney Boutique Hotel
#95 of 178 in Sydney
45 reviews
Darlinghurst
Kirketon Hotel
Kirketon Hotel
#146 of 178 in Sydney
183 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#106 of 178 in Sydney
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Budget St Peters
#1 of 1 in St Peters
506 reviews
Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
Darlo Bar Darlinghurst
#131 of 178 in Sydney
45 reviews
DeVere Hotel
#143 of 178 in Sydney
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis budget Sydney East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis budget Sydney East

Address: 191 - 201 William St | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Formule 1 Sydney East)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $92 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis budget Sydney East 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 5 minutes from the Sydney CBD in the cosmopolitan East Sydney, Formule 1 Sydney East is the ideal inner city budget accommodation. The lively area boasts a huge range of restaurants, bars and clubs; and is within walking distance to the city, Sydney shopping, museums, art galleries, Hyde Park and the colourful Oxford Street.From the close by train station, Bondi Junction, Circular Quay and many more attractions are only a few stops away. Rooms feature a queen size bed with single or double bunk, twin beds or quad share rooms and all have a private en-suite bathroom, air-conditioning and LCD TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis budget Sydney East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Formule 1 Sydney East Hotel Sydney
Formule 1 Kings Cross Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing