We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once was enough” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis budget Sydney East

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ranked #120 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Once was enough”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2008

Decided to stay here largely due to price. Room was very basic with just TV and a small ensuite of sorts. Fairly impressed with cleanliness of room, although bed and blankets needed improving. Within walking distance to all major shopping areas of Sydney and very close to the train station. There were some other basic features e.g. internet access, which had to be paid for separately. Overall a very basic hotel.

  • Liked — Proximity to everything
  • Disliked — Lack of hotel service
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank TriplePlay98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    154
    187
    109
    122
See reviews for
165
172
79
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2007

I've stayed at a couple of Formule 1 Hotels in different countries (Australia, France, Germany), and had mixed experiences. But I know what to expect from the chain, and was happy with this place.

After having a very difficult experience trying to get a refund (we had booked in two nights, as two different reservations; but they charged us for three nights) after my last Formule 1 stay from Formule 1/Accor's French/worldwide offices [eventually got a refund and a bit more; after speaking to six different customer consultants on three continents, dozens of e-mails, and a five month delay]; I was admittedly a little hesitant.

Due to some unforseen circumstances, my touring party (four people, two couples) found ourselves without accommodation [staying with people fell through], at an extremely late hour (after 3am Wednesday,
with a drive to Newcastle at 10am). We were able to book a room through reception at this hour, which was great.

It's a very basic facility, but when kind of desperate for accommodation at 3am on a Wednesday night - luxury does not matter. What does matter is cleanliness, security, and efficiency. I found that this hotel passed these criteria for me.

Unlike some Formule 1 Hotels, the room (4x bunk bed configuration) had a basic ensuite in the room, and free to air television channels.
Beds were adequate taking into consideration the hotel/chain rating.

Basic facilities, but dependable. It depends what you're looking for,
ultimately.

  • Liked — dependable
  • Disliked — very rigid
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank traveloctopus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest National Park Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2007

The toilet didn't flush, we repeatedly told the staff, it didn't help.
Well, nothing else was bad.
We found a restaurant named Spigolo right round the corner, Italian restaurant run by Italians. Food was great. I might go to stay there again just to go and eat at that place. :)

  • Liked — Cheap and cheerful, if they fixed toilet in time!
  • Disliked — Service
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank vineeta9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2007

We were only staying 2 nights and needed somewhere central. The location was great and although the room was extremely basic and small it served it's purpose. we booked a quad room, 2 bunk beds an ensuite and a small TV. I wouldn't stay if you are spending any lenght of time here but for a few nights it was good.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cramped
  • Stayed September 2005, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank SF_Thommo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne,Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2007

I've stayed in countless hotels/motels in this price range around Australia & this has to be the worst.
The bedsread & blanket don't appear to have ever been cleaned, there were crumbs in the bed & the mattress smelled.
The bathroom floor tiles were mouldy & the water pressure so bad that I had to run around in the shower to get wet.
The walls were grubby & the TV only worked when it wanted to.
There is a no-refund policy which applies even to advance calculations.
Leave the place to the hookers.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — cleanliness
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank R0bert999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2007

When backpacking it is not unusual to make some bad accomodation choices.

However, in 5 months on the road, including developing nations, this was second worst (the other was in a remote bit of Peru).

The noise was terrible. The place was occupied mostly by a youth sports club and drunks, who spent all night shouting in the corridoors.

The linen was torn and full of holes and the bed springs were breaking free of the mattress. When we made our great escape, their automated, coin operated left luggage facilities ($8 a go, free everywhere else) swallowed our luggage without giving access codes, the manager offering no guarantees we would have it back in time for our flight.

The cleanliness was average, which was the only redeeming feature.

For a quieter break with less drunks, try the Salvation Army flop house.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank manddLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2007

Very bad accommodation...tiny room like matchbox, not enough space for our suite case, so noisy, and the window is locked unable to open it, god knows why?? No basic cutlery, tea/coffee facilities or a fridge which are a basic requirements for any en suite room/hotel room, which was shocking. Basically nothing there just tiny room with bed and bathroom which has no vanity and after taking shower you need to keep the door open to get rid of the steam as it doesn't have extractor fan.... on top of all, to watch a movie on the hotel movie channel we have to pay for it...UNBELIEVABLE.
Certainly I DO NOT recommend it to anyone it is just a NIGHTMARE.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Do Not Go There
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Spicy2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Y Hotel City South
#115 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#101 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#48 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Darlinghurst
Kirketon Hotel
Kirketon Hotel
#137 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
Best Western Haven Glebe
#121 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Ibis Budget St Peters
#1 of 1 in St Peters
3.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis budget Sydney East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis budget Sydney East

Property: Ibis budget Sydney East
Address: 191 - 201 William St | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Formule 1 Sydney East)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis budget Sydney East 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 5 minutes from the Sydney CBD in the cosmopolitan East Sydney, Formule 1 Sydney East is the ideal inner city budget accommodation. The lively area boasts a huge range of restaurants, bars and clubs; and is within walking distance to the city, Sydney shopping, museums, art galleries, Hyde Park and the colourful Oxford Street.From the close by train station, Bondi Junction, Circular Quay and many more attractions are only a few stops away. Rooms feature a queen size bed with single or double bunk, twin beds or quad share rooms and all have a private en-suite bathroom, air-conditioning and LCD TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and ACCOR so you can book your Ibis budget Sydney East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Formule 1 Sydney East Hotel Sydney
Formule 1 Kings Cross Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing