We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE WORST HOTEL EVER”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ranked #115 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Very unclean,Loud drunk people in the hallways all night until 6am very bad service and rude staff....Police were even called by another guest because of the amount of drunk people in hallways..Never again will I stay even if I was paid to!-10/10

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jazza2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (676)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

475 - 481 of 676 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Adelaide
11
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Dirty room, dirty bathroom, smell of smoke everywhere!
Staff was ok, friendly and with knowledge about neighbourhood.
Overall, the low price is not worth staying in this hotel. I suggest improvements in room services and refurbishment of the rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sydney
11
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Great place to stay if you work in the CBD and just want to sleep. The room is not designed for sloths. Most of the time I sleep well but occassional the late night party people can get noisy.Showers are pretty good although vary from room to room.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An Accor traveler
dunedin
11
Reviewed August 11, 2011

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank An Accor traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We stayed here on our way to thailand and found this hotel to be very cheap. We didnt expect much but it fell even lower than our expectations.
Dingy, dark and very run down. with a musky smell.
We had to go downstairs and ask for glasses so we could have a drink and we were given two paper cups.
Limited channels on tv ( I think only 3) and we had no remote. Again had to go downstairs to ask for one and it was brought up over an hour later.
The double bed was sagging badly on one side and I could feel the springs sticking into me.
Staff were not interested in you and seemed busy on their computers.
Once again, very cheap but would never stay there again.
The positive side, it was just a stroll to the famous kings cross strip.

Room Tip: maybe pay more and get a better room, but hotel is still very run down
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kerrob1624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leon B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed here with 3 youngish children so had two adjacent rooms, but they don't have interconnecting rooms.
Got the rooms on special for $59.00 each per night which is a good price for vitually the city centre.
The reception staff were unfailingly polite and helpful and we were able to park our car for only $20.00 a night.
The rooms as per Formule 1 advertising are very basic and I mean very !!! The bed was lumpy and uncomfortable and the walls of the room were not particularly clean, but the position of the hotel makes it easy to get around and of course there are so many good restaurants and eating places around the area.
if you want cheap and cheerful I can recommend it .

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Ibis Budget St Peters
#1 of 1 in St Peters
513 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#107 of 179 in Sydney
1,952 reviews
Darlinghurst
Sydney Boutique Hotel
Sydney Boutique Hotel
#90 of 179 in Sydney
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Song Hotel Redfern
#124 of 179 in Sydney
415 reviews
Darlinghurst
Kirketon Hotel
Kirketon Hotel
#137 of 179 in Sydney
191 reviews
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#55 of 179 in Sydney
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis budget Sydney East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis budget Sydney East

Address: 191 - 201 William St | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Formule 1 Sydney East)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $86 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis budget Sydney East 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 5 minutes from the Sydney CBD in the cosmopolitan East Sydney, Formule 1 Sydney East is the ideal inner city budget accommodation. The lively area boasts a huge range of restaurants, bars and clubs; and is within walking distance to the city, Sydney shopping, museums, art galleries, Hyde Park and the colourful Oxford Street.From the close by train station, Bondi Junction, Circular Quay and many more attractions are only a few stops away. Rooms feature a queen size bed with single or double bunk, twin beds or quad share rooms and all have a private en-suite bathroom, air-conditioning and LCD TV's. Please note : If you are taking a taxi/Hire car to the hotel ask the driver to drop you off at PREMIER LANE entrance to avoid the stair case with your heavy luggage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis budget Sydney East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Formule 1 Sydney East Hotel Sydney
Formule 1 Kings Cross Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing