We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget price hotel with friendly efficient staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis budget Sydney East
Ranked #117 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Bundaberg
2 reviews
“Budget price hotel with friendly efficient staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel as we were loking for an inexpensive stay in Sydney.
We were just after a clean room with a bed and door that we could sleep in and we certainly got that. Hotels in this price range frequently come with unhelpful and undermotivated staff, and I would like to say that the staff at this hotel really were a present surprise.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davewasere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    158
    189
    110
    122
See reviews for
168
175
81
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

I am pleased you contatced me for I was about to write to Accor.

I have been a foundation member of Advantagea Plus 1995 and this was the worst experience:
a) No Place to hang your clothes. No Hangers
b) Stained sheets and old blanket
c) Poor Lighting
d) Thin small towels
e) Old pillows

Very Very Disgusted

Signed

Gary J Watts

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sydney hotels

Dubai
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights.. But we were in the room only to sleep at night. The best thing is that it was very central and a 4 minute walk to Kings Cross Station, which links all of Sydney... Do not need to take a cab to noweher if you are staying here.. A clear budget hotel. The Sri lankan boys at the reception are very accommadating and young lads.. We were very happy with our decision to stay here given that we knew that we were not expecting anything much out of this.. We would recommend this anyday for the budget traveller!!

Room Tip: All rooms are very tiny,so does not make a diff
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MerryTrouper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2011

I stayed here and actually negotiated a decent price in person for seven nights. The level of cleanliness was adequate and I only used the room as a place to sleep, other than that I was out and about enjoying my time in Sydney.

The location is good, they've got laundry machines, there is a metro nearby, and it is a twenty minute walk to the Botannical Gardens and the Opera House.

There is no wifi, the coin operated internet computers downstairs are expensive, the immediate area is a little seedy, and the crowds on the weekends can be loud as they return from the bars.

I only stayed due to the location and the fact that I negotiated a really good price for the room. It managed to get the job done for me, but I wouldn't return in the future, and I wouldn't recommend it to others.

If you do book a room, bring ear plugs cause your gonna need them

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSReynoldsTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

I seriously doubt humans could possibly stay safely in this place!!!

My partner and I had decided to stay here after positive reviews form OTHER Formule 1 hotels..... they had CLEARLY never stayed here!
I literally walked straight back out after walking in and seeing so much mould i thought something may grow and attack me during the night...cigarette burns in the bed sheets, no ventilation so i thought i would turn on the air con only to be blasted in the face with dust and stuck on mould.....i thought perhaps i would open a window as the stale stench of what could only be described as B.O and vomit was starting to make me light headed, only to be punched in the face with an even worse smell from the lovely view of the alleyway...im not sure what it was and i choose not to ever find out.

I was scared when i was walking out of the room to find a powerpoint that looked as though it had recently been on fire and the elevator buttons...well...non existent... i could have played with the live wires but i decided against it..... a hotel cleaner joined me in the lift and i literally held my breath the whole way down (i dont think they know what deodorant is)

I have been in a $46 a night backpackers and THAT was nicer than this place!
I found another hotel (O'Malleys hotel) and had to have a shower as i felt ....well...slightly violated....

all in all i would rather sleep in the streets of Darlinghurst street than stay here again.

Room Tip: DONT STAY HERE
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kryscooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

Just got back from a stay of 3 nights. Found the location excellent and the staff were friendly and helpful. Decor dated and in need of a bit of tlc but if you're after a cheap safe clean bed near the city centre you can't complain too much.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shortyman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#103 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,693 reviews
Song Hotel Redfern
#118 of 174 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Darlinghurst
Sydney Boutique Hotel
Sydney Boutique Hotel
#114 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ibis Budget St Peters
#1 of 1 in St Peters
3.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Inner South
Central Railway Hotel
Central Railway Hotel
#47 of 174 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Darlinghurst
Kirketon Hotel
Kirketon Hotel
#142 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis budget Sydney East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis budget Sydney East

Property: Ibis budget Sydney East
Address: 191 - 201 William St | Kings Cross, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia (Formerly Formule 1 Sydney East)
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis budget Sydney East 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 5 minutes from the Sydney CBD in the cosmopolitan East Sydney, Formule 1 Sydney East is the ideal inner city budget accommodation. The lively area boasts a huge range of restaurants, bars and clubs; and is within walking distance to the city, Sydney shopping, museums, art galleries, Hyde Park and the colourful Oxford Street.From the close by train station, Bondi Junction, Circular Quay and many more attractions are only a few stops away. Rooms feature a queen size bed with single or double bunk, twin beds or quad share rooms and all have a private en-suite bathroom, air-conditioning and LCD TV's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis budget Sydney East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Formule 1 Sydney East Hotel Sydney
Formule 1 Kings Cross Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing