We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long weekend shopping trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street
Ranked #27 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
“Long weekend shopping trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I made a late booking for a 2 bedroom apartment, which was an extremely good bargain. Travelled up from Canberra with my son and his partner and child. This location is the perfect place for shopping and dining. Staff gave excellent service, from check in through to check out. The apartment experience beats anything else - I will only use this on further trips to Sydney.

The car park was a little tight, but this is to be expected in any CBD - all was manageable though. I especially enjoyed the fact that a bath was included in the main bedroom, as this meant the 5 year old could enjoy her usual bath at night. Kitchen facilities excellent. Allover, excellent accommodation!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitt Street M, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Vanessa J,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a 5-star review on your recent stay!

I’m pleased to hear that you were able to get a great rate when making a last minute booking. As you mentioned, we are located in a perfect city location! Just steps out the door and you are at fantastic shopping centers, restaurants and famous Sydney attractions. It definitely makes things convenient when in Sydney for a shopping trip!

Thank you for your appraisal of the front desk staff. The staff at Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street strive to provide the highest level of customer service to all guests to ensure that everyone has a memorable and enjoyable stay with us.

Once again, thank you for your positive feedback, from the team at Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind Regards,

Tarryn P
Hotel Manager
Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,526
    923
    190
    70
    37
See reviews for
984
625
77
414
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Staying at the end of December did mean that we were paying extremely high rates and maybe a little bit more could have been done/provided to make it something special.
My mum and i had a small one bed apartment, although it is central and a good base for Sydney. The kitchen area is nicely appointed, but the issue for us with the standard kitchen unit fit is that the "eye level" cupboards are too high and that all the cupboards are filled with utensils etc that there isnt really anywhere to store packet foods (but this issue was found in all apartments). The dining table isnt really an appropriate dining table nor the "chairs" which are more like arm chairs that match the sofa so you can't tuck yourself in, and in our room (10th floor) the table and chairs were too near to the entrance door which made it difficult to get in and out of the apartment. We were going to move it against the wall in the lounge area but then read a notice in the book saying that furniture couldn't be moved...so they either need to rearrange the layout themselves or purchase proper dining chairs that can go under the table. The laundry cupboard was fully equiped and the cleaners provided washing powder without charge, as well as the bathroom soaps etc. Initially the bathroom was lovely on appearance, but then we realised the shower unit door didn't shut without force then it wouldn't open so maintenance was sent and fixed the issue. Again slight layout issues in there too as the shower door opens onto the toilet so it was only possible to have one person in the bathroom. There was a minute balcony, so seemed pointless unless you smoke. The bedroom was a good size and the beds were comfortable, and a large fitted wardrobe. We didn't have any issue with the cleaning, but maybe they didn't sweep the floor while we were there (5 days), we had to empty the bins, and also the books "instructions" on how to use the oven were of no help and had to be figured out ourselves with plenty of time to work out if it was actually heating.
The lifts (3) were odd in that you would have to stand and wait for ages as they tended to just go past a couple of times. The pool area seemed adequate but the water collected by the door to the area so you had to be careful not to slip.
The location is brilliant for the train, and the supermarket is on the same block, and is only 20mins walk to the quay area for the rocks/bridge/opera house.
All in all it was a good apartment in a brilliant location that provides some extras but the general layout and function of our apartment was not the best.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriton M, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Steph T,
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate your comments.

Please kindly note that I will be investigating your comments further and addressing this with the appropriate management teams, please accept my apologies for any inconveniences you may have experienced.

I would like to thank you once again for your feedback and we do hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Tarryn P
Hotel Manager
MSA Pitt Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment and loved our stay.
The views were just amazing
The rooms so spacious and clean
Location near Hyde Park, can walk to Darling Harbour and Circular Quay
Taxi at the door, Woolworths supermarket round the corner
Excellent value for money - will stay again

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a view and balcony - so impressive
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriton M, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Susan L,

Thank you for choosing to stay with MSA Pitt Street.

I was delighted to read your comments and note that you enjoyed your stay. Our location certainly gives us a great advantage with all the wonderful sites, shops and cafes at arm’s reach. We look forward to your return and thank you again for your lovely feedback.

Kind Regards

Tarryn P
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

....however, Housekeeping let it down.
I stayed here with my husband and daughter. On a positive note, very good value for money (we booked very early) - we had a 2 bedroomed apartment on a high floor. It was spacious, light and airy. The kitchen was well equipped and the bathroom had a shower and bath. Wonderful location and efficient reception staff. We were dissapointed with the lack of cleaning. We stayed 6 nights and I'm not convinced the place was cleaned during this time. The beds were made each day, the towels changed and the shampoo etc topped-up but that seemed to be about it. During our stay we had to get someone to remove a dead cockroach from the lounge. Another occasion the room hadnt been serviced when we returned at 4pm.
I would return, it was over Christmas that we stayed. Perhaps the workload was too much for the cleaning staff?

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinkieminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriton M, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Dear Pinkiemix,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stat at MSA Pitt Street.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found it good value for money. Our apartments are well presented, spacious and have all the conveniences you do at home!

Please accept my apologies for the lack of cleaning services you have reported. Your feedback has been shared with the Housekeeping Manager and our procedures are being reviewed to ensure the standards are lifted to prevent such re-occurrences.

Thank you for choosing to stay with Meriton Serviced Apartments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Tarryn P
Hotel Manager
MSA Pitt Street
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Be wary of going in and out of the carpark!!
Not sure whether i'm just the first person to make note of it or whether they just ignore it.. But the yellow painted part of the gutters that stand a ridiculous 40cm high are meant to be there as a warning that yuo're getting close to the wall and might scratch your car.. the idea if your wheel is meant to touch it.. instead it's that tall that it scrapes a huge part of your bumper.. I take responsibility that it was my fault, but this particular corner i scratched my car on had been scraped that many times by cars that alot of the yellow paint had been stripped off. And you can see it's the same story all the way up and down the car park, you can just see where so many cars have obviously been scratched because this thing is too tall.. They need to grind it down or something!
anyway...
I stayed here after staying at their Kent St and World Sq properties and wasn't impressed.. Especially when this is meant to be the newer classier one.. The rooms at kent st are so much more cheaper and nearly always have some sort of view whereas the apartments here are crammed, seemed a little run down and no view with a ledge that was meant to be a balcony..

I wouldn't bother staying here again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Branden1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriton M, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Branden1990,

Thank you for your feedback.

I was disappointed to read your comments and apologise that you were not satisfied with your recent stay. It is unfortunate that your car was damaged during your stay. I will be investigating your comments further.

Due to the configuration and layout of our building, most of our studio and 1bedroom apartments are located on the lower floors. As we are located in the heart of the city and nestled amongst other high rise buildings, not all our rooms have skyline views. As you have kindly noted our MSA Kent Street property has availability in all room types throughout the entire building. Therefore, allowing more flexibility when allocating rooms on higher floors.

I do hope that you will reconsider staying with us and allow us to restore your faith in our business.

Kind Regards

Tarryn P
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed with my parents and my sister on NYE 2012. Hotel had a prime location at Pitt street. It was just quick stroll to Circular Quay and other main tourist attractions. However this hotel came with a hefty price tag, several hundreds of dollars per night. Somehow this price is nowadays justified for NYE period, but still I can't really say we got a good deal...

Not the five star hotel it claims it is. Pool are didn't have changing rooms OR lockers. Sauna was broken the whole time we were there. And to crown this experience we found a cockroach in the living room. The night manager tried to belittle the problem. Upon being persintant on how they will take care of the problem, we were offered a chance of rooms (interesting, since one would think this hotel be booked full as it is NYE and all) and then when we declined the idea (who guarantees that next room is any better...), they said they will inspect and do full service on the room the next day. No compensation was offered. If I wasn't on holiday, I would have contacted a newspaper on juicy article that it seems that New York City is not the only place where the cockroach epidemia is problem...

After all the critique in the previous chapter I have to stay that otherwise the hotel was on par and great home away from home feel came with it. Well the view is better than home, but welll you get the point.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank negotiator83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriton M, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear negotiator83,

Thank you for your feedback.

Please firstly accept my apologies for the inconveniences you experienced whilst staying with us. It was unfortunate that our Sauna was out of order over the New Years Eve time frame. Regrettably whilst this may not help your particular situation, it is now in working order for guest use. Please kindly note that our swimming pool area has a male, female and disabled bathroom and shower facility. I have taken your comments on board in regards to lockers and may possibly look at implementing this facility.

Please do accept my apologies in regards to the cockroach you found in your living room. We do have strict pest control regime in place to eliminate activity where possible. Unfortunately when balcony doors or windows are left open, cockroaches can fly into the apartments from time to time. Again please accept my apologies for this.

I was pleased to see that you did enjoy your stay and overall found it a ‘great home away from home’ with a ‘better view’. We would like to extend our gratitude to you for taking your time and providing your feedback and hope to welcome you back one day.

Kind Regards

Tarryn P
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2013

After arriving at the Meriton Serviced Apartments on Pitt Street it was a pleasant surprise as the property was in an excellent location. It's pretty much in the heart of the city which means it's extremely easy to walk around and find food or shopping in the nearby vicinity.

Choosing a '1 Bedroom Apartment' the size of the room was more than adequate and very well furnished with a relatively modern looking décor. You get free internet access as well as cable television which is handy if you need it. It's also got basic bathroom provisions but no toothbrush or toothpaste - but not to worry as there's a convenience store at the bottom of the property. While I didn't use it the kitchenette seemed very well stocked and the cutlery and utensils seemed very clean and well maintained.

My only gripe was the shower which was extremely weak and made bathing a less than pleasant experience. It's hard to know whether it's a design flaw or a problem with the specific room but the shower at the Meriton Pitt Street was arguably worse than those at the budget hotels chains throughout South-East Asia.

At the standard rates I'm not too sure whether the Meriton Pitt Street stands out - but if you're able to get a promotional rate for < $115 AUD for the 1 Bedroom Apartment then I think it's a steal!

Room Tip: It's not really a room tip - but the room service breakfasts offered by Macchiato are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YozYYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriton M, Manager at Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear YozYYZ –

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your most recent stay at MSA Pitt Street.

It was lovely to read your comments and I note you were pleasantly surprised with our location and apartments facilities. Unlike most hotels in Sydney, Meriton Serviced Apartments now offer complimentary Wi-Fi internet access to our guests (1G per day) . We have received a high volume of positive feedback regarding this and we are proud to offer this service.

Please accept my apologies for the weak shower you reported. It is only through feedback such as yours that we can correct these issues. Please note that this information has been shared with our maintenance team.

YozYYZ, I would like to thank you once again for your time and we look forward to welcoming you back to Meriton Serviced Apartments in the future.

Kind Regards

Tarryn P
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments Kent Street
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments World Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Fraser Suites Sydney
Fraser Suites Sydney
#29 of 179 in Sydney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#14 of 179 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street

Property: Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street
Address: 329 Pitt Street | Corner of Bathurst Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Sydney
#18 Business Hotel in Sydney
#27 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#29 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street 5*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arrive in style as our friendly porter assists you into our custom designed lobby. Experience exceptional and attentive treatment by our Guest Services team 24 hours a day and prepare yourself for a stay in luxury. Our wide selection of 178 stylish suites, ranging from Classic Studios to 3 bedroom suites are all self-contained and fitted with the necessary modern facilities, providing all travellers with the perfect accommodation option to explore Sydney. You will discover this beautiful city from new heights when you stay in our Altitude Suites or you can indulge in our top floor Penthouse Collection, split level suites, which boasts magical scenic surrounds across Sydney's East and West. Pamper your body in our first class sauna and spa facilities, or work your muscles at our exclusive gymnasium and lap pool. Indulge in the supplied range of freshly scented, designer skin and haircare amenities, replenished as needed as our wonderful housekeeping team work to service your suite. Make the most of our complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi and stay connected with your friends and family, check your emails or even surf the web from anywhere in our hotel, even from the comfort of your very own suite. Our ideal location in the absolute heart of Sydney's thriving city centre, surrounded by an abundance of head offices and corporate spaces makes us the dream accommodation option for all business travellers. Those wanting to discover all the popular attractions and sights in Sydney will be pleased to see that we are only minutes away from Circular Quay, which features stunning views of the famous Sydney Harbour Bridge, Darling Harbour which is renowned for its vibrant wine and dine scene as well as convenient transit hubs that can you transport you all over the city and beyond. Be spoilt for choice with endless dining and entertainment options, all within easy reach of our front door. Choose from an array of restaurants, bars and cafes that offer both local and international culinary delights or plan an evening revolving atop of the city's tallest structure at Sydney Tower's 360 Bar and Dining. Visitors looking for some serious retail therapy can shop till they drop with the vintage Queen Victoria Building, massive shopping complex Sydney Westfield and Pitt Street Mall only a stone's throw away. High end designer fashion and accessories are also only a short stroll away on Castlereagh Street, making us the perfect accommodation choice for all. Nestle yourself in the heart of Sydney and experience the best quality and better value as you choose to stay at Meriton Serviced Apartments on Pitt Street on your next visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments Pitt Street Hotel Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing