We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic 5 star apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Meriton Suites World Tower, Sydney
Ranked #6 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 5, 2008

Fantastic apartment. We stayed on the 62nd floor with sunset views over Darling Harbour. The two bed apartment was true luxury, with a spa bath off the main bedroom. It was a good size and had a wonderful glass extension with fab views. The staff were polite. Stay here, try and get a upper floor with darling harbour views.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Revenue15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAWorldTower, Manager at Meriton Suites World Tower, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2017

Thank you for your review and recommendations. Our guests can feel right at home in our beautifully designed Modern Suites. Featuring a fully equipped gourmet kitchen and luxurious furnishings in spacious lounge and dining areas.

Our friendly team look forward to providing you with our convenient and comfortable suites again in the near future!

Belinda A
Online Reputation Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,903)
There are newer reviews for Meriton Suites World Tower, Sydney
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,694 - 2,700 of 2,903 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2008

We were given an upgrade to a massive apartment on the 63rd floor with a great view of Darling Harbour and beyond. The apartment war truly luxurious with everything you could need. The world cover is right in Chinatown and next to the Monorail station. Just a great stay.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FireballXL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAWorldTower, Manager at Meriton Suites World Tower, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2017

Thank you for your review and recommendations. Our guests can feel right at home in our beautifully designed Modern Suites. Featuring a fully equipped gourmet kitchen and luxurious furnishings in spacious lounge and dining areas.

Our friendly team look forward to providing you with our convenient and comfortable suites again in the near future!

Belinda A
Online Reputation Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2008

Just spent 4 nights at the Meriton World Tower Sydney. Yes, location is perfect- walk to Darling Harbor, trains, shopping. And the apartments are very large with gorgeous views. But that's about as far as the positives go- we spent our first two nights without air conditioning and were never really given a direct answer about when it would be fixed from the front desk. On the second night, after we inquired for the 3rd time that day when it would be fixed, they offered to either move us to another property altogether (this was already at 7:00pm and we had two toddlers with us) or give us the night free if we stayed in our hotbox. For the price we were paying we decided to stick it out and give them one more chance to fix it. On the third day, still not fixed and we ended up moving rooms anyway.
Next, there were actually signs posted in the elevator lobby that during checkout time (promptly at 10:00am and you had better not be late or late fees would apply) the lifts got very busy so they actually suggested that you should checkout early so you weren't penalized. They implied that WE would be charged if their elevators were too busy to get us downstairs in time.
And as mentioned in several other reviews, we were so stressed about losing a key or damaging something that it was hard to relax. I even laid down dishtowels on the chairs because I was paranoid by 3 year old would spill something.
Also, I realize this is a serviced apartment and not a hotel, but there was no mention on their website that they do not provide baby cribs and only through a follow up phone call prior to arrival did I discover this. They gave me the number of a place to call to arrange for my own rental- where is the 5 star service?
And, their no party policy/ excessive noise policy is bogus as on both Friday and Saturday nights we were woken up several times by drunks coming and going between 2 and 4am. Finally, I couldn't agree more with previous reviews that the beds are awful- two beds pushed together with a hard seam up the middle. On the weekend we were paying $500 AUD/per night so if you can get a really good deal, this place might be worth it. Otherwise, I'd recommend everyone to pass on this place.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Tonya1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAWorldTower, Manager at Meriton Suites World Tower, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2017

Dear valued guest,
It is disappointing to read of the issues you experienced during your stay with us at Meriton World Tower. On behalf of the team, please do accept my sincerest apologies and be assured our management team have been made aware of this for further review and we do very much appreciate you feedback.

Regards,
Meriton Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2008

Probably the best hotel experience I have ever had!

1. Front Desk and Housekeeping service was Brilliant.
2. Rooms were massive. Views amazing (3 bedroom)
3. Loaction perfect.. right next to chinatown/CBD/darling harbour/shops/cafes etc etc.
4. I booked on the meritonapartments website and was given a garuanteed lowest rate.

Most of the feedback on this webiste is positive but to those who had a negative experience I think it must have been a one-off... because I chatted to many guests and we all had great things to say about the place.

I now prefer to stay in these spacious serviced apartment than an overpriced hotel room the size of a box! Cant wait to go back to World Tower again soon!

Thank you!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank iamfussy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAWorldTower, Manager at Meriton Suites World Tower, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2017

Thank you for your review and recommendations. Our guests can feel right at home in our beautifully designed Modern Suites. Featuring a fully equipped gourmet kitchen and luxurious furnishings in spacious lounge and dining areas.

Our friendly team look forward to providing you with our convenient and comfortable suites again in the near future!

Belinda A
Online Reputation Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2008

The lobby is modern, massive and impressive, and seems constantly packed (and I mean packed!) with student-type residents coming and going and meeting friends. The reception is bare-bones with curt staff and doesn't give a great impression, basically just a desk near the entrance.

The room was small but spanking-new, modern, spotless and well-equipped with clean new kitchenette, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer. No comment on the "no parties" policy or noise issues (see other reviews) but there was no problem on my Mon-Fri stay, apart from a bit of noise from the adjacent apartment. Apartments seem to be grouped into pairs with a tiled anteroom off the corridor, so you are very aware of your neighbour coming and going.

The location is unbeatable, though. Smack in the CBD, with shops and restaurants all around and a supermarket below. I stayed mid-week on business, and it's the ideal base for this sort of trip.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank reptar20c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAWorldTower, Manager at Meriton Suites World Tower, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2017

Thank you for your review and recommendations. Our guests can feel right at home in our beautifully designed Modern Suites. Featuring a fully equipped gourmet kitchen and luxurious furnishings in spacious lounge and dining areas.

Our friendly team look forward to providing you with our convenient and comfortable suites again in the near future!

Belinda A
Online Reputation Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2008

I have just returned for a 2 night stay at the Meriton World Tower. I initially booked the Meriton as most of the hotel rates in Sydney skyrocketed at the beginning of February and this one seemed to be unaffected by the price increases. The rave reviews on this site sealed the deal and I made a reservation.

The location of World Tower is not that central. It is a fair distance to major shopping areas and attractions such as Circular Quay, though it isn’t much of a walk to Darling Harbour. As I entered the complex the lobby seemed quite unwelcoming. More like the entrance to an office building. Staff were friendly but all were wearing casual clothes and they didn’t look very professional. Like the lobby, the lifts have a very ‘corporate’ feel to them, as did the hallways within the building.

Our 3 bedroom apartment was located on the 67th floor with amazing views to the east towards the sea. It was very spacious with a large lounge and dining area, a small kitchen, master bedroom with ensuite, laundry, 2 smaller bedrooms and another bathroom. Décor was very ‘practical’ and looked rather IKEA-ish. I had a read of the hotel’s policy regarding parties and excessive noise, and I do agree with it, however, I was not very impressed with the way they have worded this notice. The threats of ‘eviction without warning’ made me feel as if I had to be very careful to not talk too loudly or walk too heavily for fear of instant eviction.

After seeing the city for the most of the day we retired to our room. We were hungry and decided it would be nice to order some room service. It was then that I realized the building itself doesn’t actually have room service. It is basically a delivery to your apartment door from a restaurant in the area. This means you can only order during the restaurant’s trading hours, and of course, we were too late. We then discovered that the air conditioner for the bedrooms was not working. This was rather annoying as the rooms were uncomfortably warm. The bed was by far the worst and most uncomfortable I have ever slept in. The mattress was hard and lumpy and seeing it was basically 2 single beds pushed together to make a king, the join almost felt as if I was lying on a metal bar. (I now know how Elaine felt trying to get to sleep on the sofa bed in Seinfeld!) The pillows were flat and didn’t provide any support whatsoever. I woke up with a very sore back and neck. (Quite upsetting after sleeping in a Heavenly Bed at the Westin Melbourne a couple weeks ago and having paid a lot less for the room).

Overall, I think the Meriton World Tower is okay but definitely not 5 star as they claim. It’s more suited to families and people who aren’t really fussed where they stay as long as they have lots of room to move. These apartments certainly have that, but for people who are seeking a more luxurious hotel experience in Sydney, I suggest you consider booking one of the more well-known hotel brands throughout the city.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank vissi87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAWorldTower, Manager at Meriton Suites World Tower, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2017

Dear valued guest,
It is disappointing to read of the issues you experienced during your stay with us at Meriton World Tower. On behalf of the team, please do accept my sincerest apologies and be assured our management team have been made aware of this for further review and we do very much appreciate you feedback.

Regards,
Meriton Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2008

We stayed at the Meriton World Tower in a two bedroom apartment for five nights. We chose the hotel because it was offering decent rates over the peak season in Sydney; we were also, understandably, lured by the excellent reviews that the property has received here on TripAdvisor. We arrived at the property before midday and staff quickly confirmed our booking (this was a simple process as we had booked directly with the hotel). Some reviewers have questioned the friendliness and efficiency of the lobby staff, but we had no problems. The woman behind the counter quickly took us through our reservation and, when we enquired as to what rooms were available she quickly obliged and took us through two rooms' locations and the views that were on offer. We had paid more on our third, fourth and fifth night (plus we were staying more than one night, which was probably why she was so obliging) but nonetheless, we appreciated the service being offered. You do however come to expect this service at the World Tower as views are important! We ended up settling on an apartment on the 77th floor (the top floor) which she explained had a larger lounge room. However, we weren't able to enter the room until 2pm (Meriton appears to stick to the 2pm check in policy stricter than most). We were told we’d receive a phone call should the room become available earlier.

So, we went and had lunch on Darling Harbour (less than ten minutes walk) and returned at 2pm to receive our key cards. We were absolutely astounded upon entering the apartment. The top two floors of the World Tower (level 76 and 77) only have four apartments on each so more space is on offer, and you are given an enormous living room regardless of whether you’re in a two or three bedroom apartment (be sure to check out the photos above). I can assure you that apartments 7601, 7602, 7701, 7702 are the two bedroom apartments that are larger than most in the complex, offering views over the south-east and south-west, as well as the city. Another big advantage is the two top floors easily rise above the infamous Ernst and Young tower on the south-west corner, so views are completely uninterrupted. On that note, I don’t suggest you choose an apartment below about level 66 facing south, or south-west unless you want a lovely peek into a lawyer’s office in the forenamed tower. We were in apartment 7702, which gave us an unbelievable view of Darling Harbour, Cockle Bay, Central Station, Chinatown, the Anzac Bridge, parts of the CBD (if you yanked your neck around further enough) and even as far out as the airport. Word goes that in clear weather, you can see as far as the Blue Mountains.

The two bedrooms were spacious with comfy beds, large built-in robes and fantastic views. Quilts were also a nice surprise, since the staple blanket and sheet combo is not well suited to the climate. The two bathrooms featured excellent showers and large towels; ironically, the ensuite bathroom to the main bedroom was larger than the other bathroom off the hall. The fully-equipped kitchen would be very handy for people who like to self cater (a Coles supermarket is located in the shopping centre below to stock up on necessities, and is open until midnight). There was also a small laundry with washing machine and dryer which was handy. The air-conditioning timer, admittedly, was annoying in that the apartment would be warm when you returned from a day out. However, this was a minor annoyance, and the air con was efficient once turned back on. The west facing bedrooms will (understandably) get very hot in the late afternoon, so close the curtains if you leave mid morning and plan on returning in the early evening, and you won’t have any problems.

It’s rather funny that the hotel has a five star rating as, while the product on offer is well and truly five star, the service from staff and daily offerings are below par. The management refuse to do a full service daily, with only a change of towels, rubbish removal and making of beds (using the existing linen) offered daily. There is no in-house room service available, no concierge of any sort, and, watch out on your last day as failure to wash the dishes will incur a penalty of some sort.

Nonetheless, we would definitely return to the Meriton World Tower provided the hotel continues to offer reasonable rates. The location of the hotel was very convenient, the price right, and the product well and truly five star. Stay here, but be sure to ask what views are on offer!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pmta007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAWorldTower, Manager at Meriton Suites World Tower, Sydney, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2017

Thank you for your review and recommendations. Our guests can feel right at home in our beautifully designed Modern Suites. Featuring a fully equipped gourmet kitchen and luxurious furnishings in spacious lounge and dining areas.

Our friendly team look forward to providing you with our convenient and comfortable suites again in the near future!

Belinda A
Online Reputation Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 178 in Sydney
2,521 reviews
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 178 in Sydney
1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Suites World Tower, Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Suites World Tower, Sydney

Address: 95 Liverpool Street, Sydney, New South Wales 2000, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Sydney
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sydney
#10 Business Hotel in Sydney
#19 Romantic Hotel in Sydney
Price Range: $261 - $747 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Meriton Suites World Tower, Sydney 5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into a world of luxury as you arrive at Meriton Suites World Tower, Sydney. Be greeted to a warm welcome by our onsite porter assistance and experience the delivery of five star services by our highly trained guest services team 24-hours a day. Regarded as the highest accommodation option in the city, the excitement will build as you catch our fast lifts up to the top 17 floors of a 77 level residential building, consequently Sydney’s tallest. Be stunned as you enter into one of our 115 newly refurbished extravagant suites, all of which are up to three times bigger than the typical hotel room, and experience a new level of comfort and luxury living. Sydney as you know it will change forever as you are treated with a floor to ceiling window view of wonderful darling harbour from our Darling Suites or a jaw dropping oceanic backdrop with our Ocean Suites. Spruce up your stay and create unforgettable memories in our Penthouse Collection Suites, with both Icon and Sydney Suites featuring unrivalled views of the vibrant city below and beyond, our guests can experience a sweeping backdrop for that special moment. Awarded Sydney’s number one choice of family accommodation and rated as a five stars, these fully furnished 2 and 3-bedroom, luxurious suites offer large living and dining space, gourmet kitchens, plush bedding, internal laundry with a washer and dryer as well as beautifully scented, designer bathroom amenities. With all suites featuring the added extras of a full second bathroom as well as flat screen televisions, complete with a range of Foxtel sports, news, movies and documentaries, our guests are treated to an uncompromised stay with five-star services. Our team of dedicated housekeepers will service the suite daily to ensure ultimate comfort when staying with us. Guests are also able to keep connected with our complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, available in all areas of our hotel including their own suite. For the convenience of our guests, we offer an exclusive, VIP arrival lounge for those travelling on red-eye flights or long distances, the perfect space to freshen up on an early arrival. Including a comfortable living space with lounges, a flat screen TV, as well as complimentary tea and coffee refreshments, our guests can experience the better quality and best value that is proudly showcased by Meriton Suites. Those wanting to maintain their fitness regime can work out in our 24-hour state of the art fitness centre, swim some laps in our indoor heated sky pool or relax and unwind in our large spa and sauna, all of which boast unparalleled views across the city. Having undergone a revitalising multimillion dollar soft furnishing upgrade late last year, guests of this prestigious apartment-hotel will also experience a vibrant new colour scheme which includes hues of vibrant aqua and earthy browns to bring these suites to life. Showcasing comfortable swivel chairs and larger elegant sofas, perfectly positioned to showcase the breathtaking views that are sure to last a lifetime. Our premium location in the heart of Sydney’s city centre allows our guests to explore Sydney in absolute ease. Discover the best photo opportunities as you sail around the world famous Sydney Harbour, watch a stunning firework performance at Darling Harbour or choose to venture further around Sydney with an abundance of public transport services only moments away. Retail therapy is a simple lift ride away with our convenient position above World Square Shopping Centre, which features all the retailers, supermarkets and shops one could ever need. Enjoy a short stroll to Westfield Sydney where guests can also experience the second tallest observation tower in the Southern Hemisphere at Sydney Tower. With limitless options for entertainment, leisure and sightseeing right on our front door, we at Meriton Suites World Tower certainly are the perfect accommodation choice for all visitors to Sydney. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Meriton Suites World Tower, Sydney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meriton Serviced Apartments World Tower Hotel Sydney
Meriton World Hotel
World Tower Sydney
Meriton World Sydney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing