We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's ok , chorizo is highlight ”
Review of Nomad

Nomad
Ranked #38 of 5,939 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Surry Hills
Description: Nomad is a cellar door in the city where the food and wine showcase the best local produce grown and raised by Australian farmers, grape growers and wine makers. Nomad's menu draws on the flavours of the Mediterranean using local Australian ingredients to create a dynamic and seasonally driven menu. Nomad opened to wide acclaim in October 2013 by focussing on local growers and produce that is sourced from growers with a philosophy of sustainability. NOMAD was awarded one chefs hat at the 2014 Good Food Awards and was included in the inaugural Australia's Top 100 Restaurants.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“It's ok , chorizo is highlight ”
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Cannot fault the service we had an amazing waitress who was very attentive and friendly. One page on the menu devoted to the menu and the rest was the alcohol! We had the charcuterie and scallops for entrees. Followed by the hallumi, chorizo and broccilini for mains.
Highlight was the homemade chorizo which melted in your mouth. Their hallumi had a hint of goats cheese but very enjoyable.
Good for a special occasion but unless you get a few mains you will leaving feeling slightly hungry

Helpful?
1 Thank AhBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    172
    51
    9
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best service seasonal food”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

I wasn't too sure I wanted to go to this restaurant after reading the menu on the web but after eating the food I am working out when I can go back. Fresh, seasonal, interesting food. Not your average restaurant. All staff are friendly, service is the best I have had in a Sydney restaurant. Could not fault this place. Great decor . Not a cheap eat but worth every cent.

Helpful?
1 Thank Cebbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundanoon
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fresh and Delicious”
Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Nomad is a hive of activity with a friendly greeting at the door on arrival and when leaving. The wait start are attentive and very helpful with making menu selections. The menu is divided into small and large dishes for sharing. There is an extensive wine list to choose from. The two our sitting at 6pm aloud us plenty of time to enjoy our dinner and get to Belvoir Theatre for an 8pm performance. We will be back for the superb fresh and delicious flavours.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank RobBundanoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Classic Cool”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The place itself is beautiful, huge room with a range of seating options.
Each space enjoys a different scene, from the front window bar watching the street, sitting up at the bar, or watching the chefs. It feels like every are is unique.
It's nice to be somewhere in crowded Surry which feels so spacious.
Cocktails were awesome, the Hemmingway a fav. Food menu was small but did the job the chickpea dip was my pic.
All in all a fabulous night out.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very Surry Hills, Very Good”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Walking in, it takes some time to appreciate the extent of your environment. Friendly staff, all with that bit of Surry Hills edge walk you through the menu. Great wine list, even if I did need some help getting through it. Their charcuterie plate is under-rated with big bold flavours. Fav main dishes include the ribs. And don't miss the cabbage, it's better than you think.

On the downside, their lunch menu is limited with big meat only available at night. All round, pretty good stuff.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank markklaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nomad also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Nomad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing