We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Late night dessert” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nomad

Nomad
Ranked #42 of 5,816 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Surry Hills
Description: Nomad is a cellar door in the city where the food and wine showcase the best local produce grown and raised by Australian farmers, grape growers and wine makers. Nomad's menu draws on the flavours of the Mediterranean using local Australian ingredients to create a dynamic and seasonally driven menu. Nomad opened to wide acclaim in October 2013 by focussing on local growers and produce that is sourced from growers with a philosophy of sustainability. NOMAD was awarded one chefs hat at the 2014 Good Food Awards and was included in the inaugural Australia's Top 100 Restaurants.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Late night dessert”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Nomad was crowded when we arrived but the floor manager still managed to find a space for our group of 4 to have desert and wines only. Fantastic food- we shared a Daintree Estate Chocolate Cake and Benuelos with Rose Water Custard. Fantastic. The waiters matched it perfectly with desert wines. Really good ambience and despite the warehouse vibe its not too noisy for a good chat.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    260
    159
    45
    8
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“An amazing restaurant experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Nomad is a relatively new addition to Surry Hills in the warehouse space that used to house upmarket home furnishing store Spence & Lyda, and its a great space, and both my wife and I were surprised at how large the restaurant is as we we regulars to its former occupants.
We booked early for a Saturday night and just as well as it filled quickly. Its a trendy upwardly mobile clientele and both the restaurant and bar areas were humming. I read a well known restaurant critics review of this place some weeks ago and he had commented how efficient and engaging the staff are here and he was exactly right. The staff are fantastic here. Knowledgeable, helpful with menu items, on the ball, and friendly. Our waiter Matt was a delight and made the evening a most enjoyable experience. The food is fantastic. We picked dishes from the "to share", the "larger plates" and the "specials", and all excelled. The wine list is impressive also. I had a local Surry Hills beer to start which was chilled and refreshing, and my wife started on a bottle of Yarra Valley pinot noir. This is a busy buzzing restaurant, and one where you can go just for a drink and a nibble at the bar as well.
We loved it here and can't wait to get back.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank City4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Go there now!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Go there now before it becomes inundated. Ticks all the boxes. Winemaker-Dinners are the icing, Rob Geddes MW is the cherry.

Helpful?
Thank parablade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 332 helpful votes
“An excellent addition to the Surry Hills scene”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Nomad is a funky new bar/restaurant in one of the quieter areas of Surry Hills. An enormous old warehouse conversion which reeks style, class and money.
A discrete entrance leads up a few short steps to the main floor space, if you are a walk in and lucky enough to be able to choose where you'd like to sit there are a number of different areas in the space, we had a booking and were led around past the busy open kitchen area towards a beautiful wall of cut logs, it was quite early mid week but the place had a busy buzz to it already.
The staff are all very attentive and helped us decide on a mixed platter as entree and three different mains to share.
The menu is quite small but very well thought out, coming as smaller tapas style entrees and then mains to share.
Our choices were a nice mix of roast pork with wilted greens, a haloumi with zucchini dish and, for us, the best dish of the night, some wonderful juicy roasted quails.
The wine list is encyclopedic, with some really interesting looking varieties on offer, best of all, they all come by the glass.
All in all a really good night out, a space that has had some serious design put into it, great staff and some really fine cooking.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mr_rossduncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
248 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Great space, Great concept”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

Recommendation led me here, , and how good was it.
An old warehouse, converted brilliantly, very cool, very chic, Lots of early diners, possibly because its the new place to be seen and backed up with a menu of shared plates , small and large, tapas style, with an amazing wine list, by glass or bottle, not cheap, but a well selected wine list to meet all tastes.
I think they take about 80 bookings and seats about 160.
Definitely worth it, and if they maintain the prices they will maintain the crowd

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nomad also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Nomad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing