We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment”
Review of Rumfire

Rumfire
Ranked #4,451 of 5,862 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointment”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

A friend and i dined here on Thursday night prior to our evening out. Food was low key cafe fare prepared within a reasonable time , presented as you might expect and tasted as we expected so no challenge there .

What really clinched the experience was ;
1) The Poor service
2) Staff attitude
3) 20 minute wait in bar queue that had everyone complaining.
4) In the space of 50 minutes or so not one table was cleaned even though some had been vacated more than once in that time.

I work too hard for my money to be treated in this fashion and having tried many other venues previously in the precinct I WILL not be returning to this one.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mjm056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    0
    2
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just awful”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Our 12 year old can cook better - fried burnt fish; chicken kebabs that looked like they had been boiled then sauce from a jar tipped over; rice cooked to mush with no seasoning. When I gave the feedback to the manager in charge I got the comment - "I'm not quite sure what is wrong with them in the kitchen tonight" - an apology or a reduced meal price would have been better ! Sad effort with an expensive price tag.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeffng2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
193 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Nice meal after the cricket”
Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We ate here after watching the cricket. The menu is quite good and prices are reasonable. We had the grilled salmon with vegetables ($25) and lamb souvlaki skewers with Greek salad and pita ($19). Both were very nice and quite a good size. Would recommend for a quick post sporting meal.

Helpful?
Thank aus-vick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
382 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 525 helpful votes
“A good place to dine before and after sport or a movie in the Entertainment Quarter”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

There are quite a number of reasonable restaurants in the Entertainment Quarter mostly catering for those attending an event in the precinct. We visited Rumfire after watching the Swans at the SCG. We have tried a number of restaurants at Moore Park and this one of the better ones.
The food is reasonably priced and there's a nice atmosphere. Even on a busy night there seems to be enough table space for those who don't want to bother with a reservation.
The entrees are reasonably priced and enjoyable. The mains are priced in the mid twenties so are good value. The scotch fillet could have been better prepared but on the whole everyone enjoyed their meals.
The unisex toilets are a bit of a problem - the ladies complaining that they weren't clean and he men complaining that they had a long wait!
Parking is inexpensive if you remember to have your parking ticket validated before paying at the parking pay station.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WellTravelledAussie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Average at best”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We dined at this restaurant early on a Sunday night. We had a groupon voucher giving us a 50% discount. But if we had spent full price on this meal we would've felt incredibly upset at the end of it.

The service was very average. Trying to get hold of the waitress was difficult, even though only 4 tables were occupied at the time (there appeared to be a number of friends visiting her at the time). We waited quite a while (given how many people were at the restaurant) to have our entrees cleared and to be able to order our mains and more drinks.

The food was okay. If I was paying full price, it would've been upsetting to receive our meals. The buffalo wings were nice, but the potato skins must have been made days ago and reheated. My steak was slightly overdone and very similar to something I could've cooked myself at home. The corn looked as though it had been left cooking for 2 days.

For the price that would normally be paid to dine here, I wouldn't go back here.

The only good thing was the restaurant was large uncluttered and clean when we were there with good music playing.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DiL5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rumfire also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Rumfire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing