We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Dare to be different"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ADGE Apartment Hotel
Ranked #1 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"Dare to be different"”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The most wonderful hotel I have stayed in period. Anyone who thinks they know the best of the best wont believe the standard of the Adge. A must visit for all! The mood lighting, colourful carpets, friendly service and immaculately clean apartments are a dream, and encapsulates a modern feel. Nothing will ever be more impressive than the mood lighting that changed colours as I walked down the hallway, a really creative and vibrant edge to a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hannah31091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at ADGE Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hi Hannah, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the ADGE Apartment Hotel Sydney and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is great to know that our décor and unique service struck a chord with you. The team at ADGE much appreciate your feedback, it adds to their incentive, and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    100
    9
    3
    6
See reviews for
361
100
17
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Stradbroke Island, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel was unbelievable! The service, the decor, the cleanest, the staff and the location. The staff were willing to do anything to help your stay more memorable. The greeting was always friendly and the service was 5 star! The funky decor of the lobby and the rooms was amazing! All our friends were jealous. Its centrally located with everything in easy walking distance. The special touch of a cheese platter and tonic drink was great. This hotel will defiantly be somewhere we will be staying again and recommend to anyone staying in sydney! Thank you Adge for the memorable and wonderful holiday! :-)

Room Tip: Stay in the penthouse if you can afford it well worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaireadN33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at ADGE Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Hi Mairead, So pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable holiday in Sydney. I am delighted to know that we were able to contribute in part of your memorable holiday. It is great that you loved our unique service, “dare to be difference” décor and the convenient location. All of us at ADGE look forward to welcoming you with another of our longevity tonics and elixirs. Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
99 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This funky new property in Riley Street (just off Oxford St) proudly proclaims that it “dares to be different” and it certainly does so!

We rented a 2BR apartment on a voucher deal and it was quite lovely.

I asked for a quiet room so they gave us a park view. Certainly much quieter than an apartment facing Riley Street and the police station would have been.

On arrival, you’re settled into your apartment by your personal ‘butler’, who explains where everything is, how things work. A nice touch.

Lots and lots of natural light, and nice features. Quirky things like the sterilised-and-sealed TV controls, Peter Morrissey toiletries, Japanese thongs for bedside slippers, retro fridge were all really nice. We asked for a DVD player, which was provided promptly and without charge. There’s an extensive pillow menu and you can order groceries or cooked food from a number of on-site eateries.

Turn-down service with quick tidy up of kitchen and water by the side of the bed etc was also appreciated.

Don’t be put off by the foyer, which is pretty eccentric – you’re really not sure that you are checking into a hotel at all, to be honest. It’s kind of an overflow from the little coffee shop downstairs (check out the funky wash basin the middle of the foyer!)

Baccomatto Osteria is just downstairs and has quite wonderful Italian food, different to most other venues in Sydney.

Especially noteworthy: we had an unpleasant experience at checkout, which marred what had – up until then – been a perfect stay. When I sent an email to the management, the phone rang literally 5 minutes after I pressed ‘send’, with a manager apologising personally, explaining where the mix-up was, apologising, and offering us a meal by way of compensation, which was way more than I could possibly have expected.

Things like that renew your faith in Sydney’s hospitality scene!

Cannot recommend this property highly enough. It’s even on our ‘move-into-permanently-when-we-sell-our-house’ shortlist, as its location is just fabulous, walking distance or short bus trip from everything we like about Sydney CBD.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for a park view room. Riley Street can be quite busy, especially...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maruschka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at ADGE Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hi Maruschka, thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the ADGE Apartment Hotel. It is always rewarding to hear when guests love the hotel and its facilities as well as its service. I am delighted to know that the “dare to be different” service of ADGE lived up and exceeded your expectations and that we have become your favourite hotel in Sydney. Thank you also for highly recommending the hotel to others. All of us at the ADGE look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
530 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Four of us have just spent 2 nights here and I would agree that it is a fabulous, funky and a very modern experience in fantastic Surry Hills. The motto "dare to be different" certainly applies to this refreshingly new type of hotel in Sydney. The welcome from Alysee was very cheery and friendly.... even though she didn't share our love of walking and coffee...her vivacious personality was certainly entertaining on reception!! Chris and Dominic were great too. The rooms are stunning and so well equipped...even a washing machine and a Nespresso machine too!
It was a treat to get beds turned down and a little chocolate treat each night and also the unusual complimentary Love Tonic drink was much appreciated!
The decor is ultra modern and the bar downstairs is very chic too.
This location is fantastic with Crown St just around the corner with so many fabulous cafes. You can walk to all parts of the city from this central location.
If you are after a Sheraton or Hilton experience you may be disappointed but if you Dare to be Different you will experience a new, refreshing and totally unique apartment hotel in Sydney!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at ADGE Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Hi Chris, So pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay, and thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. It is great to hear that you liked our “dare to be different” décor facilities and our unique service. ADGE Management and staff work very hard to ensure that the guests have a memorable experience. It is also pleasing to hear that you loved our location with its wide selection of many fantastic restaurants. The concierge team at ADGE really appreciated the ‘pats on the back’ you gave them and all of us look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molong, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Well I must say that the lead up to our stay was exceptional,with the email and text enquiring about our needs for our stay. Our arrival was smooth and the friendly helpful staff were a great start, the room was spacious,clean and beds were comfortable.Very clean and fitted with everything you could possibly need...we have another 2 nights so it can only get better...highly recommended !!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at ADGE Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Hi Jodie, I am delighted to hear that you are enjoying your stay at ADGE Apartment Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to post a review. It is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed the hotel’s unique service and the facilities throughout your stay. The staff at the ADGE and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

what an amazing and brilliant place to stay at.
1st of all the decor, colours and cleanness of this place was fantastic..
me , my partner and a couple visited here last month and we were amazed by it all. to anyone looking at staying at this place? it is more better than its shown on pictures ....
also cant forget the staff and all the great service we got... well done and looking forward to coming back...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tchellessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at ADGE Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Hi Tchellessa, I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay at ADGE Apartment Hotel, and thank you for taking the time to post a review to share with us. It is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed the hotel’s facilities and its unique service throughout your stay. The staff and I at ADGE look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our family had the most wonderful stay at Adge Apartment Hotel. We chose to stay here as we were looking for a well priced apartment with a central location for a family of four. Adge certainly delivered these qualities but so much more! The text message I received on my mobile phone several days prior to check in asking if I had any special requirements was a lovely, personal touch and the first class service continued throughout our entire stay. We dined locally at an Itallian Restaurant with extended family and when we arrived back to our apartment, we were thrilled to find little surprises on our bedside tables. Chocolate treats in the shape of coffee beans, candles and bottled water.....The bed was extremely comfortable and everything was perfectly clean. Thanks Adge, we will definitely return!

Room Tip: The two bedroom apartment had 2 queen sized beds which were unable to be separated in the second bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PipandPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StevenGargano, General Manager at ADGE Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear PipandPaul, thank you so much for taking the time to give us your positive feedback after you and your family stayed with us. Also thank you for the comments about the quality of the service you received, we are delighted that you enjoyed the hotel’s facilities and its unique service throughout your stay. We love our location with its night life and a wide selection of many fantastic restaurants. We do look forward to welcoming you and your family back again very soon.
Warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Meriton Serviced Apartments World Tower
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Hyatt Sydney
#4 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#8 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ADGE Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ADGE Apartment Hotel

Property: ADGE Apartment Hotel
Address: 222 Riley St | Surry Hills, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Surry Hills
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ADGE Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban adventure and daredevil design meet in ADGE, the ultimate lifestyle hotel for the 21st Century. The ADGE Apartment Hotel is located on Riley Street, Surry Hills; just steps away from the cultural amalgamation of Crown Street, Hyde Park and Sydney’s CBD. Only in Surry Hills will you find artistic, free-thinkers blending seamlessly with the modern sophistication of Sydney’s inner city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your ADGE Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing