We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what i expected.”
Review of Vivid Sydney

Vivid Sydney
Book In Advance
More Info
$127.52*
and up
Sydney BridgeClimb
More Info
$36.32*
and up
Walk the Light: VIVID Sydney Walking Tour
More Info
$39.55*
and up
VIVID Sydney Buffet Dinner Cruise
Ranked #39 of 480 things to do in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not what i expected.”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Visited Vivid Sydney on the last night (Monday public holiday) at the Circular Quay. Nothing exciting and did not live up to the hype!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniela1720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    839
    291
    96
    43
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great event just don't go on the weekend”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Vivid is fantastic but it was ridiculously crowded. It took us an hour and a half to drive from Hornsby and then another half a hour to find a park. Circular Quay was as crowded as New Years anda it made it very uncomfortable moving around. I'd suggest a mid week visit if you want to see and appreciate the sights.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jawillia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Spellbindingly beautiful”
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We went 3 times this year. Whilst all installations were stunning I particularly enjoyed the water and music show at darling harbour. We walked across the harbour bridge for great pics of the harbour and opera house. If you are travelling with small children go earlier around 6pm and don't leave it till the last weekend otherwise your experience may be marred by a million other visitors.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A must when visiting Sydney in May”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

What a great way to finish off our stay in Sydney we enjoyed drinks and dinner next to the Opera House and Circular Quay whilst we watched the entire place light up with the most amazing light show even the docked cruise ship was lit up in magnificent colour, well done Sydney you made the the last night of holiday one to remember.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mabarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
296 reviews
147 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Getting Better Every Year”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This event is growing and getting better every year. The Opera House was fantasic. The Events staff at Destination NSW should be commended. It is a great event for Sydney maybe just need to be expanded even more to Darling Harbour. Cannot wait until next years light show.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 792Carol_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vivid Sydney also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Vivid Sydney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos