We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“showboat”

Sydney Showboat Dinner Cruise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is a sightseeing, dinner and show 3 hour cruise in Sydney Harbour
Wyongah
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“showboat”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Fabulous entertainment. Professional show, three course meal was delicious. We were treated to fireworks on the harbour, the showboat kindly allowed a brief break for us to also enjoy the fireworkss. Highly reccommend them.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    42
    10
    7
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“The Best Birthday ever!!!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We have just spent Australia day/Mum's Birthday on board The Sydney Showboat and what an amazing night we have just encountered.
It began in the line up to board where Mum was greeted by Rod the magician with a kiss and a happy 86th birthday greeting and it just got better from there.
Everyone was so nice with offers from a complimentary cocktail to an on stage Happy Birthday chorus.When you celebrate with a family member(in my case my Mum)you hope that someone will acknowledge her special day and thanks to all Mum was certainly remembered. .
As we celebrated Mum's birthday on Australia day we were also treated to an amazing fireworks display on the water making our night even more memorable.
Thank you to everyone on the Showboat... Mum said she had the best birthday ever and thanks to a very friendly photographer we were happy to purchase our quality photographs.
See you next year!
Megan..
Ps...Excellent seating,Food was superb, Service A1+ and Entertainment amazing.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Megancartwright2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southampton
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Sydney Showboats New Years Eve - Azure deck”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We live in the UK looking for a once in a lifetime Sydney new years Eve fireworks experience.
As tourists we wondered about how we would fare with the crowds seeing the fireworks unless we were out on the water. We decided that a dinner cruise was the way to go. without any prior knowledge we choce sydney showboats as one of the reliable big players in this game. Booking was easy online, i had to book this in february (you cannot book early enough). price was a discounted 750 AUD each and it rose to 950 AUD if you left it too long. As for us the fireworks was everything we chose the azure deck, limited numbers of people (60) and exclusive run of the upper deck but no show. You must pick up your boarding pass on the day, after midday, office is easy to find in Darling Harbour, we stayed in the Sheraton which is ideally placed for this. get down to the boat in plenty of time ..it gets BUSY New years eve. met on boarding with flashing glasses for the gents and feather boas for the ladies, hats and other party stuff on table. very friendly and efficient staff. Tables are a bit snug in places, but most folks in a good mood so no problems, waiting staff and host very good. Food was absolutely superb, very relaxed in serving and timing so you could dash outside at anytime to view or photograph. Dont think the one vegetarian on our table was overly well catered for, they were asked what they wanted and had pasta, whilst we were sitting down to one of the biggest and best fillet steaks ive ever had.
There are a group of photographers who descend half way through the evening , took good souvenir photos at 20AUD a pop. There were three sets of fireworks this year, the kids ones at 9pm, a bief flurry an hour or so later and the main ones at midnight.
You leave Darling Harbour and cruse around with all the other boats initially, we then moored up behind what I think was McQuarries seat and the kids stuff went up, view was a bit obscured by the land, but we were promised a better position for midnight. All the boats then light up and form the festival of lights and go round in a big circular route whilst killing time prior to midnight. this is actually better than it sounds and is a great spectacle.
Just prior to midnight folks who were quick and smart moved out onto the rear viewing deck with seats and took prime positions ready for the fireworks, this is when it went slightly bizarre. The boat takes up position directly in line of sight with the harbour bridge, but as we are a large vessel a long way back, not a problem as you can the see everything on the horizon as it were. The boat then formed up bow first, which meant everyone on the rear viewing platform is now facing the wrong way. this would not have been an issue if but for the fact that the Azure deck actually only has access to the rear and sides of the upper deck, the very front area, and now the prime viewing point is accessed from the show decks below. We were told we couldnt move into this area. The boat then started to turn in the current slightly alternating sides, this meant everyone dashing from one side to another, as you couldnt see much from the sides at all. Fortunately and despite instruction from the host, we stayed on the right side for the final "swing" as im fairly tall we could see the fireworks from where we were, im not sure everyone was so lucky. As you effectively we all now in a long line trying to look forwards.Given this was the whole point of the azure deck, it was a little dissapointing, and the only real critiscism of the evening.
drink was plentifull, you can have a bottle to yourself on the table if you so desire, we drank a really nice Tasmanian sparkling wine the whole night, glasses were of the plastic with flashing lights in party favourites.
So if you are booking remotely and want a safe well organised bet with great food and organisation on the night, it worked well for us, if you are savvy and want to be close to the action you need to work out a small vessel thats part of the lights parade.
An unforgetable bucket list event.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank softywalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing trip.”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The boat is brilliant. I have been on 2 other cruises on the harbour and this was the best. the magician was very funny at the beginning and had some simple but very good magic tricks. The dancers and singers were amazing. The views of the harbour look stunning from inside th boat. Our waitress Larie was very attentive and as we had the drinks package she had wine waiting on our table. The only bad thing was it was a set menu with shared starter and desserts. The mains was a choice of two and veal which I had was amazing. Will definitely be booking this again.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank ToiasRian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Bucket List Alert - New Year's Eve on Sydney Harbour”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We decided to shell out the big bucks to ring in our first New Year in Austalia and do the Harbour in style. I was worried that we would be feel "ripped off" as we have done some other cruises in the Harbour and felt they were definitely not worth them money.

Overally, it was an excellent and memorable experience. The food was great and the wait staff went out of their way to take care of my wife who is a vegetarian. The boat was very clean and it never felt crowded in at any time.

I didn't realize it until afterwards, but doing New Years on Sydney Harbour must be on everyone's bucket list.

Only minuses were:
(1) The cost. Very expensive but you'll find every cruise at New Years is crazy expensive.
(2) The onboard entertainment was adequate. It would have been better if they modified it from the standard act to reflect the fact it was New Years.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Trucha_Don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sydney Showboat Dinner Cruise also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Sydney Showboat Dinner Cruise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing