We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Burgers Ever”
Review of Mary's Newtown

Mary's Newtown
Ranked #184 of 5,944 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Newtown
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Burgers Ever”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This place had a really cool grungy atmosphere to it! While it was probably way too loud for a proper conversation, I will say that the burgers are amazing! I sat upstairs with some friends and unfortunately our order took over 30 minutes to get to our table, but the waitress did say that the dinner was on them since it was taking too long (they might have given our orders to someone else). Anyway...I'd go back just for the burgers!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    89
    37
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Arrogant aggressive and clueless staff and management”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

One of the staff addressed a patron as a "c**ksucker". The customer was not completely in the right, but when is it ever appropriate to use that language on a customer. What's worse is that the manager completely supported his language. Newtown is not the place for staff to be homophobic. I advise to avoid.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank L0uge0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Average burgers, delicious but expensive chicken”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Mary's is a place that tries very hard to be cool. In all honestly though, the burgers are nothing special, have read some of the other reviews and would agree they are "Maccas esque". The chicken however is very nice, but overpriced for what it is and how much you get. We sat in the restaurant section upstairs, and it was a bit dank and airless, not to mention some sort of fire hazard. The service was almost non-existent, the food took too long to arrive and in all honesty after having a look at the place and the chefs with beards down to their belly buttons (in need of hair nets for mine, or beard nets rather) would question how safe it is to eat from here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarajevo-Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Delicious and cool”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Great place for a hang with mates and a few drinks, absolutely delicious burgers! Dark and moody atmosphere, with really friendly bar staff and they play excellent range of alt music.

The chicken is also perfectly cooked and moorish. Order a Larry bird and share it with a group of mates.

Great beers on tap, a Sydney must go.

Helpful?
Thank Cariaddd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“ERMAHGERD BEST BURGER I'VE EVER HAD!”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

As the title states, this literally was where I had the best burger i have ever had! tricky to find but that was half the appeal...kinda felt like a secret burger club ;)
We're coming back for the fried chicken!! :)

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fazzanista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mary's Newtown also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Mary's Newtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing