We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very tasty Mexican food - will be back again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mejico

Mejico
Reserve with
Mejico is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #67 of 5,816 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very tasty Mexican food - will be back again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Booked a table for 2 for a Friday night dinner catch up - and both my friend and I were very happy with Mejico!

Great service, lovely young quirky ambiance and setting, tasty food and not too expensive either.

We ordered their signature guacamole, lamb tacos, beef ribs and carmelised carrots - and we loved every single dish! Each wad bursting out full of flavour to delight the senses.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ceciburgers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    215
    64
    25
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Booked a table for 7. Ordered various dishes to share. Short ribs were advised as their signature dish but turned out to be over priced and very average. Tacos, guacamole and artichokes were good. Good service and good atmosphere but good portions and taste could improve.

Helpful?
Thank ABP85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Mexican”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We'd booked a table for 8 during the week for a birthday dinner. No problems and we're quickly seated on arrival. The wait staff were always around and helped a few of us with suggestions from the menu.. the food was exceptional with the highlight being the soft shell crab taco. Will be back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kory-Cavanagh83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“More geared to the 20/30 bracket”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

On entering the restaurant we encountered a funky, vibrant bar with an impressive display of tequila bottles. We sat at the bar and were entertained by the youthful exuberance of the cocktail-shaking bar staff. When seated at the table we felt like we had joined another party seated beside us due to limited space. The wooden slab tables are almost continuous and it was so close there wasn't enough room for our wine bucket. It eventually found a place at our elbow. The restaurant was noisy because of the industrial decor and the proximity of the diners. The decor did not reflect the Mexican theme and we felt the whole place was disjointed. The menu was extensive and it was hard to make a choice. The food was well presented and full of flavour. There were some nice touches with guacamole made fresh at the table. The wait staff were attentive but there was no engagement due to the busy, distracting environment. Been there, done that, but not sure we would go back anytime soon.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank vicki407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Slow and grumpy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

Food was really average - dishes that they said were spicy were not, and those that were supposed to be mild were extremely hot. Wine is over priced and the waiter was slow and was not enjoying his job. Got us in because Jamie's next door was full - should have waited there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stuart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mejico also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Mejico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing