We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch Overlooking Hyde Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Metro ST James

Metro ST James
Ranked #1,276 of 5,841 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
North Narrabeen, Australia
Level Contributor
255 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Lunch Overlooking Hyde Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

Wandering about the city and into Hyde Park we came upon Metro St James.
We were seated quickly, close to an outside corner looking out into the park and the restaurant.
The menu was limited in scope and I would have expected ~$1 an item less in cost.
My Reuben sandwich, as menu, was on sourdough bread and lacked the kick of Rye - it was satisfying none the less. My wife's lunch was fine, Chicken quesadilla which was close to authentic as it was not presented on corn tortillas.
The service was polite and efficient!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1victor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    39
    16
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kangaroo Island, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Tried to buy coffee at the take away stand at cafe, waited was ignored, when I asked could I order, was told had to stand on the other side... One metre from where I was! waited, was ignored again, when I asked for sugar, told to go back to front, no spoons or stirrers either.

Helpful?
2 Thank wooducks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Great Service in a great spot!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

I've been told to try this new cafe bistro in Hyde Park and that was just a great experience.
Near the chest game, we enjoyed a very pleasant lunch with some background jazz music!
In a relaxing atmosphere, service was still efficient and very friendly!
Food was tasty and fresh!
Really nice moment there, must try it in Sydney!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Shame about the service..”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

I went with my boyfriend who is French and we were shocked by how rude and arrogant the Manager was. The horrible way he spoke to his staff in French (my boyfriend heard and understood it all) and the way he treated customers was unsatisfactory. An elderly woman came inside to see if there were any tables (there were heaps) and he made her stand back outside in the hot sun to wait to be seated! Ridiculous. None of the staff were smiling or seemed happy to be there. The food was good but overpriced and unfortunately the experience was ruined due to this one Manager.

Helpful?
4 Thank Caitlan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“overpriced”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

Went for lunch. Friends ordered steak sandwiches and "giant" toasted sandwich. prices were around 17-19. Umm toasted sandwiches were not big or huge. just the size you get at woolies. just unreasonably expensive and service was even worse. waitress graciously walked around staring into space and did not provide menus or water. not busy at all. for where its located i think it's definitely overpriced.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Aran L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Metro ST James also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Metro ST James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing