We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Single Room”
Review of Sydney City Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sydney City Lodge
Ranked #17 of 60 Sydney B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Had a few nights in the Singleroom 4 down at the courtyard. A very small but cosy and well equipped room with shared toilet and shower right opposit and a kitchen beside. Everything is very clean and staff takes good care of their guest of all ages. Lots of rules what's allowed and what's not, but not everybody respects it!! In the evening new arrived guests with jet lag usually spends their time in the courtyard talking, drinking AND cooking(!) that you can't sleep for a minute. Every Youthhostel or YMCA was much more quietly from 11-7pm, THAT is a rule everbody knows and respects in Australia. But the staff did not interfere!! Beside that: very centered place in a side road with everything (including a well sorted supermarket opposite) within short walking distance and a good price for the room, staff very friendly and helpfull, but avoiding conflicts with "difficult" guests s.a. Apart from that I would definitly recommend the place...when your sleep is deep enough :)

Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
Thank GGerats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, Manager at Sydney City Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thanks for your reviews and suggestions to improve our service and facilities. With reference to your reviews, we will upgrade your next booking for free. Wish you have a nice day.
Regards John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 129 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel for at the end of our 2 week holiday! The reviews and website made it look a quirky courtyard hotel! This is certainly what it Is and the staff are extremely helpful but the room was so small it was ridiculous! We had no where to put our luggage and had to sit side saddle on the toilet! My husband and I are very tall and really struggled! The room was clean and hotel Central so probably perfect for many people if that is what they want but personally I think for what we paid it is too highly priced compared to what you could get more central with better facilities etc! Unfortunately we wouldn't stay here again or reccomend it! Far far too small of a room for our liking!!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank bessie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, Manager at Sydney City Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Dear Guests,
Thanks for your nice reviews. It is our pleasure to host your stay. With reference to your reviews, we can offer you a free upgrade in the next booking. Wish you have a nice day.
Regards John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

A lovely welcome for my one night stay with a 12 noon check in available. Close to some great cafes and an easy walk for business in town. I had a single room, so just a single bed but all the handy appliances...iron, jug, tea, coffee. Staff were really friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: I was higher and it wasn't noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, Manager at Sydney City Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2014

Dear Mark,
Thanks for your great reviews. It is our pleasure to host your stay. Looking forward to meeting you again. Wish you have a nice day.
Regards John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We wanted something close to the city, and we found staying here was a great choice. Close to all amenities. Great restaurants within walking distance. Definitely would stay again. Staff were friendly and courteous and as we arrived early looked after our bags and put them in our room when it came available.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I wanted a place in near the stadiums within walking distance. I was very happy with my choice. Sydney City Lodge is an excellent little hotel, converted out of two terraces on Crown street. The service was excellent and the key pad code text, made it so easy to access independently of reception.
The room was a King room, with kitchenette making it a perfect place to stay for extended periods, if needed. I'll certainly be coming back. Note, you have to park your car outside the city centre and catch a bus/Train in. I parked at Kensington and caught the bus. Free parking on the road and a 10 min bus and walk to the lodge. Overall, very happy with this choice. An excellent alternative to a hotel.

Room Tip: Pick a room back off the road, to get it a little quieter. (Not that it was bad at all)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scottster914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights.
The hotel was close to the city and the rooms were clean.
We were initially given the room next to the entrance but it was very noisy at night as it was close to the street,so we requested for the room to be changed.
The hotel staff was very good and they changed our room straight away.
Would not mind staying again.

Room Tip: Room at the entrance is close to the street,so avoid it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAN64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We spent 2 nights here before our cruise, great location, could walk to most places and easy access to public transportation. The place is nice, feels like a private house and the staff is very friendly and helpful, we will be staying here again

Room Tip: Select rooms that are larger as the space is small and also request rooms on lower floor, no elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 475Val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Macleay Hotel
#48 of 186 in Sydney
907 reviews
Hotel Challis
#56 of 186 in Sydney
831 reviews
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#113 of 186 in Sydney
2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
City Lodge
City Lodge
#47 of 60 in Sydney
185 reviews
Ibis Budget St Peters
#1 of 1 in St Peters
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney City Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney City Lodge

Address: 146 Crown St | Darlinghurst, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range: $58 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sydney City Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lodge is a small up-market boutique Guesthouse with fully furnished quality rooms that include TV, DVD, Sink, Fridge, Microwave, Crockery & Cutlery, free WIFI, heating & cooling and room safes. Security consists of individual electronic locks to all accommodation rooms and the main access doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sydney City Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing