We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staying”
Review of Sydney City Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sydney City Lodge
Ranked #16 of 57 Sydney B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We spent 2 nights here before our cruise, great location, could walk to most places and easy access to public transportation. The place is nice, feels like a private house and the staff is very friendly and helpful, we will be staying here again

Room Tip: Select rooms that are larger as the space is small and also request rooms on lower floor, no elevato...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 475Val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

85 - 91 of 127 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

Friendly service, well equipped room with tv, microwave, fridge, electric iron and even shower gel. We stay for 3 nights in the room 1111 with a nice view of the skyline. It was perfectly located for sight seeing. We walked by foot and could discover Sydney without using bus or metro. And there are few very nice restaurants and bars closely around. I can recommend it!

Room Tip: Ask for number 1111
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Friendly service, well equipped room with ac, tv, microwave, fridge etc, very clean, good value and within easy walking distance to the CBD and King's Cross. The room I booked required sharing toilet and shower with other guests, but I didn't mind that as I never had to wait. I'll be happy to stay there again if I visit Sydney again. Thankyou for a pleasant stay.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank CJSLove2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

We stay in this nice room 1102 for 7 nights and we really liked it. The bed was confortable and the sheets and towel always clean. Just be careful at the angle of the bed we hitted it several times must do something to protect. The location is ideal to go everywhere in cdb . The staff was very nice and polite ...Taiwanese of course are the best ;) . I highly recommand this hotel

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Sotha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, Manager at Sydney City Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Glad to host your stay. Thanks for your valuable advice. Wish you have a nice day.
Regards John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Nice place to live for a week visit in Sydney and more,close to every places.
Even we didn't use it, the kitchen close to the garden may be very useful for people that want to make their own food.
There are many nice,good and cheap restaurants all around, so we didn't need to cook .
All the staff is nice and helpfull,allways smiling!
The room was small as honestly indicated in the website but clean and shinny.
the only black point is the ventilation noise when you go in the bathroom at night! bad for your partner.

Room Tip: rooms on the back yard are quiet,the only bad thing is the noise of the automatic ventilation in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mylène C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, Manager at Sydney City Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thanks for your kindly review and advice for improvements. The ventilation fan has been scheduled for lubrication service. Wish you have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

I visited the Sydney City Lodge overnight, and found a very clean, neat, tidy hotel room with just about most of the common things you'd like. The air-conditioning worked great, great shower with high pressure which is always awesome.

The bed linen was impecably clean, likewise with the towels. The room decor was quite nice as well, you can tell it's been recently renovated. I was on the very top floor facing the street side.

The only downsides I found to the room was a bit of road noise, which was definitely not that big a deal, however the real annoyance was the blinds being white and practically transparent... there's a street light right across the room that beams into the room the whole night long... which for those who prefer a dark room to sleep in, it really sucks. This would be easily fixed with some curtains or darker blinds. I would have given Sleep Quality a 5 if it hadn't been for this.

I would highly recommend a stay at this hotel. Very clean, excellent value, and I would return, but highly likely would prefer a rear room instead.

Room Tip: Back of the building rooms would probably be quieter. Rear rooms may also be better with regards to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zyrorl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John C, Manager at Sydney City Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Thanks for your comment and valuable suggestions.
We've organised service team to replace blinds to improve the issue.
Wish you have a nice day.
Regards John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I stayed 4 nights and enjoyed my stay. Very hospitable, friendly and very polite staff. I loved that John came to my room with a little carton of milk rather than leaving small tubs of long life milk like most places. The room (including ensuite) was small, but all that I needed and it was very clean, comfortable and modern. I didn't use the kitchen and common area facilities etc. however, it was nice to know they were there if needed. It was also very quiet and it was great that there was a small Woolworths just down the street and a small fridge and microwave in my room. I would definitely stay again and recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: Room on the 3rd floor at the back was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Song Hotel Sydney
Song Hotel Sydney
#107 of 179 in Sydney
1,956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
City Lodge
City Lodge
#46 of 57 in Sydney
177 reviews
Bet's B&B Studio
#1 of 2 in Annandale
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney City Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney City Lodge

Address: 146 Crown St | Darlinghurst, Sydney, New South Wales 2010, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Darlinghurst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Sydney
Price Range: $56 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sydney City Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our lodge is a small up-market boutique Guesthouse with fully furnished quality rooms that include TV, DVD, Sink, Fridge, Microwave, Crockery & Cutlery, free WIFI, heating & cooling and room safes. Security consists of individual electronic locks to all accommodation rooms and the main access doors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Sydney City Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing