We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handy location, excellent facilities, great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ryals Serviced Apartments - Camperdown
Ranked #19 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Handy location, excellent facilities, great value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

This is a great find! Located centrally to the city, you are off the main strip traffic wise, yet walking distance to convenience stores and places to eat.
We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment which had been recently renovated and was well appointed with stylish, tasteful furnishings.
The room size is generous and the balcony is functional for additional room.
There was a washer & dryer in the bathroom, yet not as squashed in as many places we have stayed. Nothing is a drama, your arrival is met promptly, and Angus is very helpful and welcoming. Highly recommended, and good value for the price!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms at the back of the building to minimise traffic/street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belinda1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    46
    20
    14
    3
See reviews for
58
31
3
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Had a great three nights at Ryals. Angus was an excellent asset as he was able to give directions
to the places we needed to go and helped with luggage. The apartment was clean and fully equipped. The lift had broken down but the stairs certainly gave us extra exercise. The rooms were a little hot and may be uncomfortable if staying in the summer time. All in all would certainly go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamperdownApartments, Owner at Ryals Serviced Apartments - Camperdown, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Helen C,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay at Ryals Camperdown.

We are extremely happy to read that you had a great experience and a chance to explore the local area.

We apologies about the lift being broken however we have had it fixed since you left and we hope it will be working well upon your return.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards

Angus

Ryals Serviced Apartments - Camperdown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed last weekend in the two bedroom, two bathroom loft apartment. We had four adults and one baby and it was a great set up for that combination! The rooms were really clean and Angus was extremely helpful. The only addition required to make these apartments superb would be air conditioning. Otherwise, we had a great stay!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank j h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamperdownApartments, Owner at Ryals Serviced Apartments - Camperdown, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear j h,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay at Ryals Camperdown.

We are extremely happy to read that you found the apartments to be so clean and the service helpful.

I can tell you that we have just received quotes to install air conditioning and this will be happening in the very near future.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards

Angus

Ryals Serviced Apartments - Camperdown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

My wife and I and our 25 year old son were on a 3 week trip to Australia to visit friends and relatives, and managed to randomly arrange to visit Sydney on the Labour day weekend, with the Fleet review, One Direction concert and RUFL grand final without realising it!!!
Too late I realised we had a problem. Hotel rooms were thin on the ground and very expensive.
This apartment provided two separate bedrooms, with ensuite on the loft bedroom.
It was spotlessly clean, and as we arrived late we appreciated the coffee, tea and whitener provided.
There was also shampoo & conditioner and a laundry sachet for the washing machine.
We were out the back and there was no noise at all.
The sophisticated Android TV was wasted without an Internet connection. We did not note that there might be free WiFi, as we were not in the room a lot it was not a huge problem.
I would have to say it was more functional than luxury, but for a few days it would be easy to live in and it would make an excellent base.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brucemorden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

To be fair the apartment has its good side and down side, unfortunately overall I'm not impressed, considering it costs more than $400 per night.
Good: The apartment was clean, simple, all necessary appliances present and in working order. Bed linen was clean. Location was excellent, very close to city. Angus was helpful during our stay. Shops and restaurants and bars around as per website.
Bad: The apartment wasn't really designed for commercial purpose, it's basically a block of residential building and someone running the business from within. There is no so-called front desk, all phone calls to Angus was answered by Telstra Messenger service which really annoyed me because Angus failed to respond to my email or phone calls prior to the stay until the day before checking in, and other calls I had to wait until he called back. There was NO AIR CON for the apartment which I was in, apparently there were plans to install air con a month or two later, I was given a fan per bedroom though. There was only one combined bathroom/laundry for the 2 bedroom apartment, a bit hard when you have full family staying together. Moving in and out of apartment with children and luggage was tricky as there is no "loading/off loading zone" or parking available from street, however Angus did physically help me with the luggage seeing I was doing it by myself.
Like I said, to be fair it is not all bad but overall I am disappointed with the experience considering the amount we paid, I have stayed at better places for less.

Room Tip: Enquire before you book, and hopefully you will get a reply.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CamperdownApartments, Owner at Ryals Serviced Apartments - Camperdown, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Donna L,

I want to take this chance to personally thank you for your feedback, both positive and negative.
Running a business is a continual learning experience and thus all feedback is appreciated as it aids the growth and performance, as a result action has been taken to refine our product to avoid these types of issues in the future.
I am delighted to hear how clean and simple the apartment was and I'm also glad you enjoyed our fantastic location. We are very proud of the cleanliness of our establishment and its much sort after position just moments from the CBD.
Unfortunately Sydney being what it is over a long weekend prices can fluctuate quite a bit however it is advised that you avoid traveling around these dates if you wish not to pay peak tariffs.
Our Two Bedroom Apartments have a Max occupancy of 4 people, since you needed to accommodate 5 people I would recommend booking our larger Two Bedroom Loft Apartment which has 2 bathrooms and is suitably sized for a larger group.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and I look forward to welcoming yourself and your family back in the near future.

Kind regards

Angus Ryals
Ryals Serviced Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottamundra
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment for a week ,it was spotless. Service was excellent nothing was a problem. Rooms are a great size and t.v worked perfectly. In the perfect place near cafés, grocery shop, pub on the corner and bus stop. Car parking is good under lock and key. What more could you want. Would I stay there again, definitely.

Room Tip: Don't miss out on this place ring early to book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debby W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

While we weren't exactly travellers, we stayed here for a month while work was being done in our house nearby. The apartment was very comfortable and quiet, with everything in good working order. Angus looked after our particular requests with good humour and efficiency. The location, particularly for travellers, is ideal and the food options in the immediate area are great. A friendly cafe over the road has great coffee and breakfasts and the pub's food is terrific. We will be recommending Ryals to all our out-of-town friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clyth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Adara Camperdown
#104 of 174 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Newtown
The Urban Newtown
The Urban Newtown
#1 of 1 in Newtown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Rydges Camperdown
#150 of 174 in Sydney
3.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryals Serviced Apartments - Camperdown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryals Serviced Apartments - Camperdown

Property: Ryals Serviced Apartments - Camperdown
Address: 13 Layton St, Sydney, New South Wales 2050, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 137 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ryals Serviced Apartments - Camperdown 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ryals Serviced Apartments - Camperdown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing