We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,541)
Filter reviews
2,541 results
Traveler rating
2,010
412
76
25
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,010
412
76
25
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free mini bar free happy hour shoebox room darling harbour goodie bag apple tv wool store free laundry great boutique funky hotel little extras light rail continental breakfast junior suite fantastic hotel star casino loved this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,200 - 1,205 of 2,541 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2016 via mobile

This hotel was quite the surprise!
Enjoyed by the friendly greeting by the people behind the desk and than the lovely note left by staff in the room accompanied by complimentary bar, chocolates, nibbles and other little touches that make the trip that little bit more enjoyable! Free breakfast & wifi was also great and helpful staff at all hours, misses rolled her ankle and I asked for a handful of ice at 2am and the guy behind the desk didn't give me no strange looks and told me if I need anything else just ask!
Would definitely book again!!!

Stayed: December 2015, traveled with friends
1  Thank andyt555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ovolo1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2016

A W E S O M E - emojis in a review! I've never seen that before. Thanks so much for the thumbs up!

At Ovolo, we love to throw in all of the extras. It means that all that you have to worry about is having a good time and not a super huge extras bill on departure.

I hope that you wife has her dancing shoes back on and i'm glad that we were able to help.

Cheers,
Amanda Cottome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2016

Ovolo 1888 is fantastic! Not your average boring big chain hotel. Lots of quirky, funky features and the all inclusive price is great. The staff were really friendly. Only minor thing would be that the room was quite small but not enough to be a deal breaker.
Will definitely be my go to in Darling Harbour.

  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank willisoutandabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ovolo1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2016

Hey willisoutandabout!

Thanks so much for leaving us a review. You are right! We are anything but boring and it's wonderful to read that you enjoyed the Ovolo experience.

A small portion of our rooms are a little on the small size. For longer stays, be sure to book a King room.

Can't wait to see you again soon.

Amanda Cottome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2016

Stayed here on the nights of the 3rd and 4th Dec 2015 before returning home to the UK.
Staff were really friendly and accommodating and the room was spotlessly clean with free mini bar, a goody bag full of chocolate, nibbles etc and even a complimentary material shoulder bag for shopping etc. Also had everything programmed on the in- room iPad - very impressive.
The best surprise was the free happy hour at the hotel bar lasting from 5 - 7 pm each evening. Food was good also.
The location is perfect and just one road back from the Darling harbor front.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All good as far as we were concerned
  • Stayed: December 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Fossie1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ovolo1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2016

Hello Fossie1953,

We know that the best things in life are FREE! which is why we include lots of little extras in your room rate. It's great to read that you took advantage of it.

Thanks for mentioning how spotless the Hotel is. Our Housekeeping team work tirelessly in the background to ensure that everything is as clean as can be. I'll be sure to pass your feedback on.

Cheers,
Amanda Cottome
General Manager




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2016

I had seen this place on a previous trip when visiting one of restaurants on the finger wharf. So glad i came back. Great conversion of an old industrial building. Clean, vibrant and quirky. Great bar area and breakfast was a good selection

  • Stayed: November 2015, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank holidayshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ovolo1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2016

Thanks for leaving a review holidayshoes.

It's wonderful to see that you have awarded us 5 circles. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We love to keep things squeaky clean and our Housekeeping Team work hard behind the scenes to make it happen. Thanks for recognising them, i'll be sure to pass on the feedback.

Cheers,
Amanda Cottome
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2016

What a great place to stay! Beautifully renovated old wool store/warehouse in a contemporary style with just enough of a nod to the past like exposed original beams to remind you of where you're staying. Handy to Darling Harbour and local pubs so there's plenty to keep you entertained. If you have a vehicle there's reduced rate parking over the road and you're very close to main roads should you want to travel anywhere. Speaking of which it's a short drive to Balmain and Birkenhead Point Drummoyne for more pubs, food and outlet shopping. Great hotel - great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Noogee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ovolo1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2016

Hello Noogee,

It's lovely to read that you appreciated the beauty of our building. We love the mix of old and new and it certainly does provide a unique experience.

Have car, will travel! You certainly did go exploring. Balmain is often not on our guest's radar however, it should be as it does provide a "local" experience.

Hope to see you again soon.

Cheers,
Amanda Cottome
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews