We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great modern boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Ranked #3 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great modern boutique hotel”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here during a one night stop over in Sydney. Great location- easy walk to darling harbour (especially if you cut through the mall in front of the hotel) with lots of great eateries around but still out of the way enough to be peaceful. Staff were very helpful. We stayed in the loft suite. Spotlessly clean, good bathroom and comfortable bed. We didn't have an included breakfast but ate at the restaurant anyway - food was great. Overall a Great modern boutique hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Angela,

Thank you for your 5 star review!

It was wonderful to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your kind words about our outstanding location, how spotlessly clean your loft was and the helpful team.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,629
    362
    68
    22
    15
See reviews for
136
1,205
149
341
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (493)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Regstrup, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed twice during the last month at Hotel 1888. We loved the interior and the staff in the reception - they were very serviceminded and flexible. But the breakfast had issues. A Continental buffet that has very many delicious options - but fx cheese and charcutteri on a plate, where the cheese showed very obvious, that it had been laying for several hours on the plate - that is not ok when you charge 20 AUD per person for the buffet. At least one of the days we had to leave at 6.40 without breakfast, because the chef did not get in on time and the waitress didn't have access to most of the things for breakfast. Another day we had to argue with the waitress because we came 9:50 (10 min before they close) - and we had a hard time to get cheese etc. for our bread.

The ingredients and the variety of the Breakfast buffet and the quality of everything is very high, but please shape up perfomance in the restaurant!
We had dinner 2 nights. The first night we ordered an entree and a main course. The main course was ready to be served at the same time as the entree - and the main course was left on the counter untill we had finished the entree :-( The waitress pointed it out to the chef, but nothing happened.

Although the disappoint on the servicelevel at the restaurant, we will definately stay there again. Everything else is perfect.
The

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mette652014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Mette,

Thank you for your review, its wonderful to read that you will definitely stay with us again!

Your feedback in respect to The Eatery was most appreciated. I am so sorry that your experience was not at the usual high level we are proud to offer our guests. I have already implemented a plan to ensure the level of service you experienced is not repeated. It was brilliant to read that everything else with your stay was "perfect".

I cant wait to welcome you back so you can experience our true level of service!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2014

From the moment you walk through the front door, 1888 gives a strong impression. Modern meets old in a very pleasing manner. Staff are friendly, and know all the best spots to hit in Sydney, whether its food or a pumping bar. Room's are plushly furnished, and make your feel at ease. Will return on my next trip to Sydney.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teriunz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hi Teriunz,

Thank you for the fantastic review!

It was wonderful to welcome you to 1888 Hotel, thank you for your kind comments about the décor, The Eatery & Bar, the rooms and the amazing staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Hotel 1888 - fantastic with regards to location, cleanliness and welcoming reception staff. We stayed in the junior suite which was bright, modern and airy. There are no movie channels or Foxtel - which to be honest we didn't need as we were out and about in the city but just so you know. The big downside to this hotel is the breakfast - the 2 chefs working were appalling and the waitress utterly useless. While we waited for our breakfast another meal was put out on the counter - it sat there for over 20 mins before the waitress took it to the table. Ours was also stone cold, inedible and we overheard 2 other complaints while we waited. DO NOT EAT BREAKFAST HERE! the buffet food looked tired and unappetizing. This hotel seriously needs to sort this out. However the Australian waiter we spoke to immediately revised our bill and was very obliging. It was such a disappointment and not a good start to the morning - the pictures are not a true representation of the food served. We also ordered 2 coffee's one evening and had to wait 30 mins for one of them - delicious when it arrived but would have liked them to arrive together. The restaurant is a complete contrast to the reception staff - who were all very professional. The house keeping left the complimentary toiletries one day but not the next, and on the same day threw the bathrobe in a heap on the bedside table - which again indicates a sloppy attitude. All in all - good reception staff, funky, fun little hotel, rotten restaurant, useless chefs and morning waitress, house keeping needs addressing - you would get more for your money elsewhere. Wont stay there again unless they pull up their standards.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite was airy and felt big due to high ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Katy

Thank you for your review and direct communication with me in respect to your stay. It was great to read that you loved everything except for your breakfast experience.

All constructive feedback is welcome and as you know we actively seek this feedback. I am already working on a plan to improve service levels at breakfast but on occasion we stumble in maintaining our award winning service and with your helpful comments we can minimise this happening.

Your kind comments about our wonderful location, the fantastic suite and the great Reception staff are greatly appreciated.

We would love to see you again.

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

I had a wonderful few nights here recently. Stayed in a king room. which I found adequate clean with every thing I needed. I nice touch was free wifi along with an iPad if you had forgotten your own this was useful. The bath room was also well designed. The room seemed also to be sound proof. I over looked a busy street towards the harbour however I did not hear a sound. The bed was exceptionally comfortable I even slept in which is normally a big no no for me. The in rooms tea and coffee were adequate. Beautifully decorated visually is pleasing on the key. I thought the food in the caffe drinks and coffee were also perfect. If you are a frequent traveller and over larger hotels then this is for you. Walking distance to most attractions in Sydney or to public transport. Very personalised & modern. I loved staying here and will return.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ningaloo2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Ningaloo,

Thank you for your 5 star review!

Your perfect scoring on our location, rooms and service was great to read, your kind words about the unique services offered, the "perfect" Eatery & Bar and the team were most appreciated.

We loved having you as our guests and we can't wait to see you again!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights, in a king room. Spotlessly clean, modern boutique hotel. Brilliantly located, 5 minute walk to Darling Harbour. Nothing too much trouble for the young staff, helped with directions, and a good knowledge of the area. Room was airy and clean , huge, comfortable bed. Breakfast was good. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fizzyfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Hi Fizzyfairy,

I love you name on Trip Advisor and I love your review!

It was great to read that you had such and enjoyable stay with us and thank you for your wonderful recommendation.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Stayed in a loft suite which is very comfortable. A little small but one doesn't stay in the room other than to sleep. The ambiance of the hotel generally is very good and it's quite relaxing in the restaurant bar area. Stayed at the hotel in order to see a show at the Lyric and the location is very convenient. Parking across the road provides easy access at a discount rate arranged by the hotel. Highly recommended for accommodation in the Darling Harbour area.

Room Tip: Loft rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Mandy

What a great review - thank you.

It was wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us finding our location very convenient, your loft very comfortable and the service outstanding!

Come back soon so we can spoil you some more.

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 179 in Sydney
1,232 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 179 in Sydney
1,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rocks
Four Seasons Hotel Sydney
The Langham, Sydney
#9 of 179 in Sydney
1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour

Property: Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Address: 139 Murray Street | Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia (Formerly 1888 Hotel Darling Harbour)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District , City West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history, Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour was tastefully restored and thoughtfully designed with shutter-happy Instagrammers in mind, providing photo opportunities around every corner so captivating that you really need #nofilter. Originally constructed as a wool store and factory in 1888, the building still bears the original signage of its birth year, visible from the busy streets of Pyrmont. A heritage listed 90-bedroom boutique hotel as well as bar & event space, Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour brings together Sydney's old world charm and contemporary design with Ovolo's service culture to offer a truly mind-blowing experience in modern hospitality. The collection of rooms each boast 3-metre high ceilings, exposed brick walls, original ironbark beams, concealed uplighting, huge sound proofed period windows, recycled timber work stations, bespoke furniture and feature walls in each room flaunting the colourfully commissioned pieces by celebrated local artist, Jasper Knight. Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour is located in Sydney's inner-city suburb of Pyrmont, neighbouring Darling Harbour, Sydney CBD, Sydney Fish Market, Sydney Exhibition & Convention Centre, The Star, a wide selection of must-go bars & dining options, and the very best boutique shopping this side of the Southern Hemisphere. But really, who needs to go anywhere when your room rate already includes everything? Continental breakfast*, Wi-Fi, mini bar, self-service laundry, happy hour*, 24 hour gym access? - Yep, all free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Prestigia, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing