We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive Stay @ 1888 Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Ranked #3 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Impressive Stay @ 1888 Hotel”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed 5 days early July at 1888 Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed this boutique hotel.
Stumbled across promotional material for 1888 while on a work trip in Wellington NZ on an AIR NZ flight (Air NZ's Kia Ora Magazine) and from this we made our booking.
Wasn't disappointed when we arrived ...
1888 was exactly how it had been sold in the pictures.
1888 has a fresh exciting feel to it which is complimented by the youthfulness of its staff.
1888 staff members I applaud your customer service approach and acknowledge your management team for the emphasis they have taken with their staff in ensuring customer satisfaction during your stay is a priority.
1888 team up with Ian Thorpe Aquatic Centre which my husband and I used during our stay ...awesome facility, don't pass up the opportunity to go while your there!!!
1888 is situated a stones throw from the hub of Darling Harbour ....food, vino, shopping, rail etc....
Other essential amenities are in close proximity e.g. local superette & laundry plus the bonus was we got to explore the local community.
Our room was a welcome retreat at the end of our day ...crispy sheets on our super soft cloudy bed coupled with the most comfortable pillows.... OMG ....heaven....Expense is not saved at 1888 to ensure your stay is memorable
Kirk -Thanks for directions and navigational skills around your fast paced city ...we love Sydney & your mall at Parramatta
Priscilla - Your calm demeanor when I was pushing the wrong phone digits in our room was appreciated
Peter - Love your effervesant personality ...keep people smiling, sometimes we don't do enough of this
So in ending....If we could we'd happily & permanently cross the ditch and move in forever ....
DON'T CHANGE ANYTHING ABOUT 1888 Hotel ....it's got real soul!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms facing Darling Harbour better than the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stefg379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Stefg,

Thank you so much for your rave review about 1888 Hotel. As you noticed not only do we have a passion for hospitality and looking after people it is actually part of our DNA and I am so pleased that it shines through.

You mention so many aspects of your stay that you enjoyed, the fact that you shared them is very much appreciated. I am spoiled with a fantastic product and team, I will pass on your kind words to them (although they also read our guest feedback on TripAdvisor of their own fruition).

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,602
    362
    67
    23
    15
See reviews for
133
1,194
148
331
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying at 1888 for only one night but I would love to return again soon.

Warm, friendly staff were always on hand to help & the funky cafe/bar is an ideal place to unwind over a drink on the comfy sofas.

The rooms were small but spotlessly clean and had added comforts like iPad, robes, jumbo towels & aromatherapy products that you would usually only find in more pricey hotels.

The location makes for a perfect base to explore Darling Harbour and Sydney City with everything being on your doorstep and an easy walk away.

Really enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BringOnTheFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Bringonthefun,

I love your profile name and Trip Advisor! It was wonderful to read that you really enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you for your kind words about our great location, our funky Eatery & Bar, our amazing rooms and our warm and friendly staff.

We loved spoiling you so come back soon so we can do it all again!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Great location - only a 10 min walk to Darling Harbour. Very comfortable rooms with lots of modern conveniences (wifi, plasma TV, 24 hr room service). Staff are great and nothing is too much trouble for them.
Very happy. Our only comment would be to try somewhere else for breakfast. Bit cold and lacking in flavour but the coffee is great.
Will certainly come back,

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Louise,

Thank you for your great review. It was wonderful to read that you loved our location, the rooms and the service.

Thank you for your comments about your breakfast experience, I will work on that. It was lovely to read that you loved our coffee.

Come back soon and try our dinner menu focusing on local fresh produce.

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 5, 2014

What an outstanding boutique hotel. Having never stayed at Pyrmont this is such a great location close to the casino, and a beautiful stroll through the farmers fresh produce markets (sat morning only) and beautiful restaurants on the pier. We checked in early and all effort was made to have our room ready early. There is a real buzz in the hotel. Great little cafe in the foyer. The feel to keep the originality about the hotel is beautiful (old wool store built in 1888 hence the name). A weekend away with my wife what a great little hotel. Cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zynub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Zynub,

An outstanding review, thank you for sharing your experience at 1888 Hotel.

It was lovely to read that you loved your stay with us, thank you for your wonderful words about our great location, the design integrity, The Eatery & Bar and service.

Your high recommendation is most appreciated.

Now that you have discovered us you must come back, soon!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
280 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Having never been to Sydney, I had only Travel Advisor to help me fond a good place. As the airport van wove in, then out of the CBD, I began to wonder where I had placed us. We arrived at the 1888 via a highway we could not walk. Then we learned how easy it was to get to the best places in the city, short, safe walks from the 1888. Just a couple minutes down its quiet road, you are right at Darling Harbour and its many restaurants and beautiful venue. A quick walk over the pedestrian bridge takes to up Market to George St, the main thoroughfare in the city. At the end is Circular Quay and the famous Sydney Opera House. Just up from that, the Royal Botanic Gardens.

In additional to the great location, the 1888 is just a great hotel, mixing old and very new in its decor and rooms. If you need lots of space in your room, it's probably not for you. Our room was plenty for us, though, and the management provides excellent quality amenities, from great tea and bath products to giant, plush bath towels. And the staff could not be better - friendly, helpful.

I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jody M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear jlmcbrien,

Your pictures made me laugh and your fantastic review made me smile. Thank you so much.

It was wonderful to read that you loved your stay with us, from the unexpected amenities to the amazing team (some of whom you captured in your pic).

We loved having you with us, come back soon!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

We got there 9am wanted to drop bags off but were allowed to book in. We booked the attic, amazing, mini bar included, and bottle of fizz, very helpful friendly staff, central location to darling harbour. The playlist on inroom i-pad was great, lovely shower, comfy big bed, was all fab apart from the inroom fridge a tad noisy could do with a door infront to reduce the noise. Had early breakfast which was ample, inculded continental, but offers cooked if that way inclined. Away first thing, shame as could have stayed in till check out 13.00!! Highly recommend, would return!

Helpful?
1 Thank Raymont74
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Hi Raymond,

Thank you for your rave review!

One night in The Attic is never enough, it is one of my favourite rooms with its private balcony, views of the city and glimpses of Darling Harbour.

It sounds as if we spoiled you - we love doing that but next time stay for longer!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

We only managed to squeeze in a 4 night stay during our trip around China, Australia & Bali, and I really wish we could have stayed longer.

The hotel is in a great location, cross the road, through the mall & you are in the heart of Darling Harbour.

Very modern & clean rooms, a good size compared to some others & the staff are all friendly & helpful.

I would definitely not hesitate to recommend 1888.

The breakfast is also amazing!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JaneD1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Jane,

We are so pleased that you were able to visit us at all, it sounds as if you had a very busy time away from home.

Thank you for your great review and especially the comments about our great location, the amazing breakfast and wonderful team.

Come back soon and stay longer!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 178 in Sydney
1,177 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 178 in Sydney
1,912 reviews
The Langham, Sydney
#7 of 178 in Sydney
1,726 reviews
Surry Hills
ADGE Apartment Hotel
ADGE Apartment Hotel
#2 of 178 in Sydney
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour

Property: Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Address: 139 Murray Street | Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia (Formerly 1888 Hotel Darling Harbour)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District , City West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 178 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history, Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour was tastefully restored and thoughtfully designed with shutter-happy Instagrammers in mind, providing photo opportunities around every corner so captivating that you really need #nofilter. Originally constructed as a wool store and factory in 1888, the building still bears the original signage of its birth year, visible from the busy streets of Pyrmont. A heritage listed 90-bedroom boutique hotel as well as bar & event space, Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour brings together Sydney's old world charm and contemporary design with Ovolo's service culture to offer a truly mind-blowing experience in modern hospitality. The collection of rooms each boast 3-metre high ceilings, exposed brick walls, original ironbark beams, concealed uplighting, huge sound proofed period windows, recycled timber work stations, bespoke furniture and feature walls in each room flaunting the colourfully commissioned pieces by celebrated local artist, Jasper Knight. Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour is located in Sydney's inner-city suburb of Pyrmont, neighbouring Darling Harbour, Sydney CBD, Sydney Fish Market, Sydney Exhibition & Convention Centre, The Star, a wide selection of must-go bars & dining options, and the very best boutique shopping this side of the Southern Hemisphere. But really, who needs to go anywhere when your room rate already includes everything? Continental breakfast*, Wi-Fi, mini bar, self-service laundry, happy hour*, 24 hour gym access? - Yep, all free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Prestigia, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing