We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfectly located Hotel, excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Ranked #3 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stayed in Hotel 1888 for only two nights and were immediately impressed on arrival by the excellent customer service. Unfortunately for us our flight landed very early in the morning, getting us to the Hotel well before normal check-in time of 2pm. The receptionist kindly took down our contact details and promised to call as soon as the room was ready. They also stored all our luggage and it was all in the room on our return which I thought was a nice touch. I only ate one meal there, a breakfast which was very nice. The place always seemed busy in the mornings and early evening so I imagine the rest of their fare was equally pleasant. The rooms are snug but decent and have all the amenities you would expect of something in this price range. The bathroom towels were oversized, quality items, my favourite as apposed to the teflon napkins some places provide to dry yourself with. Although the bathroom has a rain shower, the system water pressure was not up to the job of doing it justice. The location was excellent for any outdoor excursions with Darling Harbour a five minute walk away. There are also many good restaurants in the same area. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bruce G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Dear Bruce,

Thank you for the wonderful words, it was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the tip about the water pressure, I will check that out.

It's great that you appreciated our attention to detail and our service philosophy.

We look forward to spoiling you again soon, including dinner in The Eatery and Bar!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,313)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,641 - 1,647 of 2,313 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2014

My wife and I spent two nights at the 1888 during our recent stay in Sydney for the Rotary International Convention.
From the minute we stepped into the hotel we were certain that our short stay was to be a good one. We arrived early to be welcomed by a very pleasant front of house staff who looked after our bags and had them delivered to our room ready for when we got back to the room later in the day.
The room was pleasantly decorated and the fixtures modern. We were located next to the road but the room was surprisingly quiet and little or no road noise was evident.
We tried out the newly opened restaurant and we were again served by very pleasant staff- It was nice to eat in a boutique size restaurant. The food was lovely and well priced and we tried a pleasant Tasmanian wine.
Our overall experience was first class and we will certainly recommend the 1888 to fellow travellers.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MutmogMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Dear Mutmog Mike,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review, we are thrilled that you loved your stay and with us.

It was wonderful to read that from the moment you arrived your experience was first class. Your kind words about the team are most appreciated. Thank you for your feedback on the new dinner service in The Eatery, that is fantastic.

Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We booked 7 months in advance to reserve a $200 per night. Was very surprised to end up with 3 rooms among our friends all without any windows to the outdoors. Nice large bath towels, nice shower soap,comfy beds and friendly personnel were a good offset but five nights without daylight was too much. You end up spending far more money being out of your room as they are too small to entertain friends in. Walk 10 minutes right out on to Darling Harbour. We used Wotif.com to secure a harbour view on the long weekend for $165 per night perfect view of Vivid and fireworks.

Room Tip: Best not to choose 118...door bands into toilet in bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Dear Lynn,

Thank you for the 5 star rating for sleep quality, cleanliness and service but I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy the room that you chose.

We have rooms with a view of our sun drenched Atrium (depending on the Sydney weather) and rooms with external views, we have guests that love each because each have their own benefits. We have 6 different room categories from Suites to our Shoebox rooms. A Shoebox room, the type you chose, has amazing features of the other rooms (micro cloud bedding, flat screen TVs, personal safe, organic minibar, free Wi-Fi, rain showers, luxury bespoke bathroom amenities etc.) but is more compact in size.

The Eatery & Bar serves great breakfasts, fresh juices, barista coffee, Australian boutique beers, wines and cocktails (Happy Hour is 5-7 nightly). We now also serve dinner from an Australian inspired menu using local and fresh ingredients. The Eatery & Bar is popular with guests and locals to relax and enjoy each others' company.

Reading your review I would suggest that next time you may like to choose a room with a bit more space than a Shoebox, where you can entertain. Rooms created with your needs in mind are The Attic (with its outdoor private terrace and views of Darling Harbour) and The Williamson (with its private bar and large lounge).

Please let me know next time you would like to stay and I will ensure that the room chosen will be perfect!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

Loved this quirky Hotel. Had a shoe box room which was next to the elevator, and we were pleasantly surprised, the room was quiet, dark and wsell appointed. Excellent location short walk to Darling Harbour, Convention Centre and city. Staff are very friendly and extremely helpful. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Nothing wrong with Shoe Box Room, just what we needed for our few days in Sydney
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denyse H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Hi Denyse,

Thank you for your great review and your kind words about the hotel and the staff. We love that you loved staying with us.

Wonderful comment about the Shoebox room, thank you.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Handy location within walking distance to city and Darling Harbour. Not much going at night in the direct location and not much of a view. But actually quite quiet and the room I had (a superior with a funky window) was nice. I liked the style and the breakfast was nice. A good place to stay if you don't want a mainstream option.

Room Tip: Only take the really small room if your budget doesn't go further.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Hi Andrew,

Thanks for the 5 star review. It was wonderful to read that you loved the location, your room and breakfast. Since your stay we have started serving dinner as well.

Come back soon - there are some mouth-watering dishes on the menu!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

told myself that I should experience 1888 hotel when I saw the news of this instagram themed hotel. Having stayed in a couple of boutique hotels and also an instagram junkie, all the most I should try this property.
With a few minutes walk to the Convention center Light Rail station, 1888 hotel is pretty accessible and darling harbour is just next to the hotel. Converted from an old building, the design of the lobby is very modern and contemporary, with a touch of historic feel like traces of torn walls and bare walls, which can be found in both the lobby and the rooms. Love the layout of the lobby, and every corner in the lobby is a good choice for photography. Check in was fast with the help of friendly frontdesk staff from Italy. Love her passion towards helping me in introducing places to go around the hotel precinct.
I'd gotten a loft room and the design was lovely. The bed on the upper deck was soft and comfortable, but it's a tad too soft for my liking. It's a pity that there wasn't many channels for my to choose from other than the local channels. But the free wifi is good enough to keep me updated with information I need.
Lovely boutique hotel to check out if you want something different from the usual business hotels offered in the city.

Room Tip: Get the higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LKKBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Hawick,

Thank you for the great review. It was wonderful to read that you think 1888 is a lovely boutique hotel.

Your comments about the great design, free and fast Wi-Fi and the staff were most appreciated.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Apart from location and food this hotel is great! Nice room. Good price. Ok location. Super friendly staff with alot of nice tips. Breakfast was overpriced and not tasty. Laundery service was good. I would definetly go back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Hi Helene,

Thank you for your wonderful 5 star review, both the great comments and the point you feel where we can do better.

Not many people comment on the laundry service so it is great to read that you liked it.

We would definitely like to welcome you back!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 186 in Sydney
1,510 reviews
The Darling
#10 of 186 in Sydney
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#22 of 186 in Sydney
6,430 reviews
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#15 of 186 in Sydney
2,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour

Address: 139 Murray Street | Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia (Formerly 1888 Hotel Darling Harbour)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District , City West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $194 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history, Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour was tastefully restored and thoughtfully designed with shutter-happy Instagrammers in mind, providing photo opportunities around every corner so captivating that you really need #nofilter. Originally constructed as a wool store and factory in 1888, the building still bears the original signage of its birth year, visible from the busy streets of Pyrmont. A heritage listed 90-bedroom boutique hotel as well as bar & event space, Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour brings together Sydney's old world charm and contemporary design with Ovolo's service culture to offer a truly mind-blowing experience in modern hospitality. The collection of rooms each boast 3-metre high ceilings, exposed brick walls, original ironbark beams, concealed uplighting, huge sound proofed period windows, recycled timber work stations, bespoke furniture and feature walls in each room flaunting the colourfully commissioned pieces by celebrated local artist, Jasper Knight. Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour is located in Sydney's inner-city suburb of Pyrmont, neighbouring Darling Harbour, Sydney CBD, Sydney Fish Market, Sydney Exhibition & Convention Centre, The Star, a wide selection of must-go bars & dining options, and the very best boutique shopping this side of the Southern Hemisphere. But really, who needs to go anywhere when your room rate already includes everything? Continental breakfast*, Wi-Fi, mini bar, self-service laundry, happy hour*, 24 hour gym access? - Yep, all free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing