We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Ranked #3 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Leesburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unique hotel”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Hotel 1888 is unique and welcoming. The hotel is a renovated warehouse. Exposed brick and beautiful wood. The breakfast is fresh. Excellent pastries and coffee. The staff is very helpful. Clean and new. Located by Darling Harbor. Nice area. If you want a charming and unique hotel, this is it!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Renee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Renee,

Thank you for your wonderful words. We are so pleased you loved your stay with us, the beautiful refurbishment the repurposing of this historic building and our Ozzie hospitality.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,573
    359
    67
    22
    15
See reviews for
132
1,180
147
315
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
460 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Stayed four nights. Initially given ground floor room 005. Bottom half of window opaque, top half view of side of flyover. Took this up with Reception and was moved to a first floor room with minimum of fuss. Well appointed room, although I received several insect bites while in bed.
Several incorrect items on my bill at check out that were removed when I queried them. Good breakfast. Staff very efficient and helpful. Very good hotel but could have been excellent if problems had not occurred.

Room Tip: Do not accept any ground floor room, very poor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Ken,

Thank you for your "nearly excellent" review and thank for the tips on how we can be even better.

It was great to read that the points you raised with us were quickly rectified. Thank you so much for your kind comments about the efficient and helpful staff, the good breakfast and commenting that you felt the hotel was very good.

We look forward to seeing you again for an excellent stay!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed four nights in early April and really enjoyed our stay. The place has charm and all the required facilities. There is free access to the excellent Ian Thorpe fitness centre a few mins away. The location is just away from the crowds but not too far. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LCH1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear LCH,

Thank you for you wonderful recommendation! I am so pleased that you really enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This was our second stay at The 1888, over the easter weekend and once again we were extremely impressed. The staff are so friendly and go out of their way to be helpful in every way possible.The rooms are not overly spacious but the bed is extremely comfortable, beautiful linen and huge fluffy towels. If you are after an art house boutique hotel experience, in a great location, then this is the place to stay....

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynxy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Lynxy,

It was wonderful to welcome you back to your Sydney home, we were thrilled to be able to spoil you again!

Thank you for sharing your fantastic experience with others, we hope your visits to us and often and if there is anything we can do to make your stays even better please fell free to let me know.

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is very well located across the street from Darling Harbour. The room looks brand new and nicely decorated, very clean. Service was perfect. Complimentary wifi and ipad available for use in the room. Breakfast was not included and cost $21 so i figured it wasn't worth it, but looks good! I strongly recommend staying at this hotel!

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ana Paula R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Hi Anaprc,

Thank you for the "excellent" review! We are so pleased that you loved your stay with us and found the service to be perfect.

Come back so you can try the breakfast, if you aren't looking for a big meal we have little ones too. We ship our home made muesli around the world to guests who love the secret recipe!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Spent Easter weekend at 1888. We wanted a different experience than the usual chains, and took advice from this website - we were not disappointed!! It has personality and charm, and our friend commented on how lovely and unique it is when they dropped us off. Location is awesome, and the room was so clean and the bed so comfortable! Staff were so lovely - we tried a suggestion for a local wine bar and were so impressed - great local knowledge. Staff at reception had a handy list of restaurants open on the Easter weekend, which was above and beyond any experience I have had at a chain hotel. The restaurant/bar staff were also great suggesting drinks - we had a perfect evening in the lobby! We had a tiny problem with our toilet, and reception were straight on it, and offered to move us. It speaks volumes about this hotel that we were so happy in our room, and with the cleanliness of the bathrooms in the foyer that we decided not to move. Awesome value and such personality. A hotel with soul, which we will stay at whenever we go to Sydney!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maisie_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Hi Maisie,

Your comments are very kind, thank you. We celebrate diversity within the 8Hotels collection and at 1888 and we are thrilled that you loved the personality of our hotel, what we do and how we do it.

It was wonderful to read that you had such a great stay with us and, yippee, you are coming back!

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

All too often one feels like just a number when staying in a big city hotel. You will never feel that way here. Only 90 rooms, very inventive adaption of an old warehouse builiding, plus staff who clearly like to come to work each day, all add up to a fantastic stay. Yes, it is very quirky and that may not be to everyones taste, but I would doubt you would find a better hotel in Sydney, given it's location and the quality product they offer. On top of that, the room prices are reasonable for what you get.

We had a family stay over Easter, taking both a King Delux and a Shoebox room. Our adult daughter enjoyed her Shoebox, being just large enough for one person (can take 2 people if only one suitcase), but with all the same facilities of our King Delux. Our KD was 421 on the very top floor (lets call it floor 4 1/2, as we had a flight of stairs up from the lift on the 4th floor). This room is located behind the old top facade of the original building. Now this fact gave it a very quirky appearance. We had glass floor to ceiling windows throughout, including the shower in the bathroom. There was approx 1 metre between our windows and the old brick wall of the building. Obviously no view, but really private and quiet (no need to shut the curtains at night). Looking upwards you can still see the sky, so not like solitary confinement, just different. We loved it for our 4 nights and would stay in it again, but to people who worry about feeling closed in or want a view, just avoid 421, as they have plenty of other rooms.

Location is excellent. Walk to Star, or the ferry to Circular Quay. Light rail right across the street through the public carpark. Darling Harbour under 10 minutes walk for all its restaurants, plus the local streets have many as well. Less than 15 minutes walk across Pyrmont Bridge and you are in the heart of the CBD.

Almost every staff member we encountered was friendly and keen to know what we were doing and how could they assist us any way to enjoy our stay more. Breakfast was reasonable in both options and price. We had intended to eat at the hotel on our last morning, but we encountered the only staff member in our whole stay who seemed to have her mind elsewhere. Despite welcoming us into the breakfast area, she then did not come near us for the 10 minutes we waited to give our order. Given that the breakfast area had only 1 person in it besides us, clearly she was not run off her feet. We eventually gave up and left, with her looking at us while we walked out. Upon checkout, when asked if we had breakfast that morning, I mentioned why there was none on the bill and the person at reception first apologised and then said they would follow up with that staff member. To their credit, as we left for the airport, we saw that reception person hobbling (he was wearing a knee brace) over to the breakfast area and speaking with that other staff member. These guys do care!

Stay here. Enjoy, we did and we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrozenAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Frozen,

Thank you so much for such a great review, great because of your kind comments but also great for your comment which can help us do an even better job.

Of course I was sad to read of your breakfast experience but was proud to learn how we responded to a mistake. I love room 421 too, it is large, quirky and filled with natural light. Your comments are spot on as this is one of our most unique rooms and not everyone will love it as much as us.

I am so pleased you had a fantastic stay, come back soon!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,875 reviews
Surry Hills
ADGE Apartment Hotel
ADGE Apartment Hotel
#1 of 175 in Sydney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 175 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour

Property: Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Address: 139 Murray Street | Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia (Formerly 1888 Hotel Darling Harbour)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District , City West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 175 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history, Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour was tastefully restored and thoughtfully designed with shutter-happy Instagrammers in mind, providing photo opportunities around every corner so captivating that you really need #nofilter. Originally constructed as a wool store and factory in 1888, the building still bears the original signage of its birth year, visible from the busy streets of Pyrmont. A heritage listed 90-bedroom boutique hotel as well as bar & event space, Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour brings together Sydney's old world charm and contemporary design with Ovolo's service culture to offer a truly mind-blowing experience in modern hospitality. The collection of rooms each boast 3-metre high ceilings, exposed brick walls, original ironbark beams, concealed uplighting, huge sound proofed period windows, recycled timber work stations, bespoke furniture and feature walls in each room flaunting the colourfully commissioned pieces by celebrated local artist, Jasper Knight. Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour is located in Sydney's inner-city suburb of Pyrmont, neighbouring Darling Harbour, Sydney CBD, Sydney Fish Market, Sydney Exhibition & Convention Centre, The Star, a wide selection of must-go bars & dining options, and the very best boutique shopping this side of the Southern Hemisphere. But really, who needs to go anywhere when your room rate already includes everything? Continental breakfast*, Wi-Fi, mini bar, self-service laundry, happy hour*, 24 hour gym access? - Yep, all free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing