We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Nearby Hotels
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)
$191
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$174
$169
PARKROYALhotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Travelodge Hotel Sydney(Sydney)
$105
$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
$138
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$240
$204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$105
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$195
$182
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$125
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,379)
Filter reviews
2,379 results
Traveler rating
1,878
390
71
23
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,878
390
71
23
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree mini barfree happy hourshoebox roomdarling harbourgoodie bagwool storeapple tvfree laundrygreat boutiquefunky hotellittle extraslight railcontinental breakfastjunior suiterain showeramazing hotelstar casino
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,830 - 1,835 of 2,379 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Beautiful little boutique hotel in a great area. Staff are very helpful and bar has an unusual and excellent selection of beer and wine. On our last day, we stored our bags and walked around until we had to leave for the airport in the late afternoon. A special treat was the fact that there is a bathroom with a shower available for guest who arrive early or guests like us who loved having a shower before getting on the plane back to the US.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank kristamck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Dear Kristamck,

The private bathroom available for guests before or after a long flight has proved to be a hit, I am pleased that you were able to benefit from it. As you know, just one of the special things we do at 1888 Hotel to spoil our guests.

Thanks for such a great review, come back soon so you can experience more of our special treats!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Fantastic location in Pyrmont, walking distance to many restaurants and shopping.
Close to Darling Harbour.
Great friendly staff, exceptionally well designed, clean modern rooms.
Huge bathroom, with great sized shower
Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2014

Hi Susan,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review!

We are thrilled that you had such a fantastic visit - I wonder if you had the chance to spend some time in The Eatery and Bar. If not, hopefully next time!

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We booked 1888 on the Internet and upon checking in we found out we were upgraded to the king room. The hotel is very chic and warm. The lobby quirky and welcoming, the hotel service was very hospitable. The room size is generous and clean plus....Wifi is free! Happy hour looks like a great value and all in all we look forward to a great time!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Paul_borromeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear Paul,

We are pleased that you were pleasantly surprised by staying with us and thank you for writing such a good review.

The design and reuse of a woolshed built in 1888 has been done very well and its great that you appreciated it.

Thank you for your kind words about the service, come back soon so you can enjoy it some more!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here at 1888 pyrmont for a few nights while on a business trip.

Room was very comfortable and clean.

A very tastefully renovated heritage building with modern retro touch.

Great staff at reception and at bar.

Highly recommended.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank 50mmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Dear 50mmy,

Thank you for your brief and succinct review!

Your comment "highly recommended" is most appreciated.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We spent 2 nights at this elegantly convenient hotel near Circular Quay and shopping district due to a bussiness trip and we can't praise it enough! The hotel itself is quite old but adding new modern touches.The relaxed atmosphere ,the contemporary decors ,the fabulous staff ,the tasty breakfast, the clean comfortable beds,the ipad in our room with the free internet.What a great place to stay in Sydney.Our only regret was that our stay was too short...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruby-grace d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Hi Ruby-Grace,

I know the solution for your only regret... stay longer! We loved having you visit us and thank you for your kind comments.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our converted wool store (originally built in 1888), what we do and how we do it.

So since you couldn't stay longer you must come back soon!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews