We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Nearby Hotels
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$138
Radisson Blu
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$188
$171
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hilton Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$172
$156
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$211
$171
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$144
$136
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$157
$141
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$287
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$123
$111
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$202
$171
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$217
$158
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,395)
Filter reviews
2,395 results
Traveler rating
1,892
392
71
23
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,892
392
71
23
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree mini barfree happy hourshoebox roomdarling harbourgoodie bagwool storeapple tvfree laundrygreat boutiquefunky hotellittle extraslight railcontinental breakfastjunior suiterain showeramazing hotelstar casino
Filter
Updating list...
1,913 - 1,918 of 2,395 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Our group of 6 stayed twice at the 1888 Hotel over the last three weeks. Both times, we were greeted in a friendly manner and all requests were handled by an efficient staff. The hotel is very clean with modern amenities (a' la IKEA) as it only opened recently inside a restored building. The lobby (and rooms as well) feature free wireless and plenty of seating area. The rooms can be smallish, but you can request the larger King rooms at a higher price. The lobby featured a small bar, cafe, and continental-style breakfast area (not included in room price). The location is second-to-none, only a short walk to Darling Harbor and plenty of restaurants and shops and downtown. Only a short ferry ride away from the Opera House and Bay Bridge as well! We will stay again when we return to Sydney. Dinner prices can be high in the area, but there are also less-expensive options. The food is fantastic at the restaurants on the Harbor. Overall, a great stay!!!

Room Tip: The Shoebox rooms are well-described! if you need more room, book the larger choices. But, all rooms are comfortable with great amenities.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Tony,

Welcome back and thank you for such a wonderful review - you cover so many of the great things about 1888 Hotel!

I loved your tip "The Shoebox rooms are well described if you need more room book a larger choice" and all the rooms include free Wi-Fi, iPads, rain showers and those really comfy beds!

We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in town.

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

1888 Hotel was a fantastic hotel to stay, fantastic staff who were very knowledgeable, excellent breakfast and beautiful rooms! Short walk to Darling Harbour. Couldn't have asked for a better place to stay! Thank you, thank you, thank you 1888 Hotel!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Brianna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear Brianna,

You're welcome, you're welcome, you're welcome!

We are glad you loved us, come back soon and we can do it all again!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

what a lovely hotel, we were warmly welcomed by friendly staff, our room was not ready but we were shown to a large shower room where we could freshen up and change. The lobby is very attractive, brick walls with an impressive glass lift and our room, though small was perfect with a good sized modern bathroom ( lovely toiletries and great shower). Thoughtful snacks and not overpriced minibar . Comfy bed with no noise from other rooms. Hotel is a very short walk though a car park to Darling harbour with plenty of eating /drinking options and a 10minute walk to the main shopping area via a pedestrian foot bridge. A stylish hotel and really friendly and helpful staff - we were recommended a great restaurant in Bondi - top local tips! Make sure you visit the sydney fish market - a short walk up the road, awesome choice for seafood.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowieWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Dear snowieWales

It sounds like you had a wonderful stay in this beautiful city. I love the Fish Markets too and being a local I find myself there often.

I was pleased to read that the team made a great restaurant recommendation in Bondi, not the local neighbourhood so very impressive Sydney knowledge!

Thank you for your great comments about the many wonderful aspects of this great boutique hotel. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Lovely contemporary, boutique hotel. Rooms are well kitted out, super comfy beds, great bathrooms. I've stayed in several different types of rooms and the loft is great with an upstairs loft bedroom set up. Staff are fantastic - I travel a lot and these guys are genuinely friendly and helpful as opposed to the usual forced niceties. Location is easy access to Darling Harbour and cabs are easy to get. Breakfast is a delight. Location does mean the outer rooms have some street noise at peak hours, but haven't had any issues at night - there are internal rooms, outlook to the atrium, if you need silence all the time.

Room Tip: Internal rooms if you are a cone of silence type. The Loft for something different (and one person can be down in the lounge awake and the other upstairs asleep).
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dar Fiona,

Reading your review made me smile - I loved the comment about "cone of silence".

You cover so many things we have to offer so well, thank you. Thank you also for noting that our style of service is "genuinely friendly and helpful", that is exactly what we love to hear.

Come back soon so we can spoil you some more!

Kind regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We stayed here for a week over new year 2013/2014 and it was wonderful. Even though the hotel was very busy we were well cared for, they even arranged for luggage we accidentally left at a hotel in Queensland to be posted to us there.

The hotel is beautiful and the breakfast delicious!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Hannah458,

It's the little things that make all the difference and moves a hotel from good to great.

Your kind comments are most appreciated and will be shared with the team. I have often heard that our breakfasts are "the best!" Come back and relax in The Eatery and let us spoil you again!

Warm regards,
Andrew Adams-Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews