We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, great location. A few issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Ranked #3 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I would have liked to give this hotel 'excellent' for the effort that staff put into customer service, however as much as there is to like about this hotel I would not stay in the same kind of room again. As other reviews have said the location is great being just a few minutes from Darling Harbour and a 15 minute walk into the main shopping area of Sydney. I cannot fault the staff, they are friendly, professional and helpful. The hotel is in a converted wool store and has been decorated to really enhance the uniqueness of the space however this is also wherein lies my problem. All rooms unless you book a loft upwards are a mix of interior and exterior windows. The interior rooms look out over the lobby and glass lift well. As much as I liked the building I had to have the curtains drawn all the time so as not to feel like I was in a fish bowl. Yes, the windows are tinted but it does not give you a feeling of privacy. I would therefore recommend that if you want an exterior view you book a loft room or suite as these are the only ones with a guaranteed external window. On checking the hotel website it does clearly list which rooms are exterior/interior. My other issue was you could hear water trickling down pipes behind the wall. This could be possibly be an issue with the '01' rooms being located near some plumbing pipes.
That said I really loved the large bathtowels, good quality T2 tea in the room and it was modern, fresh and very comfortable. I would try this hotel again but I would not book a King room as an external window cannot be guaranteed. However if this would not bother you then I think you would have a great stay.

Room Tip: Away from the lift and and external window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trekker065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2014

Dear trekker065,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at 1888 Hotel.

The team and I are happy to read that you have overall enjoyed your experience with us.
We are particularly glad to know that you have enjoyed our super fluffy towels and the hotel facilities.

We pride ourselves on the level of service we deliver to all our guests and it is good to know that you took advantage of our genuine and friendly hospitality.

As you rightly mentioned, 1888 Hotel offers a mix of internal and external view and we have learnt from experience that some of our guests will enjoy our quiet and unique rooms with internal view and some others would still appreciate a more traditional external view.
We still invite our guests to contact us and requests their preferred view: we will do our best to go through what is available.

Have you booked your next stay with us yet? We can't wait to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,780 - 1,786 of 2,183 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

Title says it all. The hotel is just behind Darling Harbour in the centre of Sydney, just ten minutes walk from everywhere. Staff are great, nothing was too much trouble. Internet was free, bed was supremely comfortable. The only downside was the first floor room we had was right on a road, although the sound-proofing was pretty good and it didn't disturb us at all. Bathroom was excellent, and in fact something I have always wanted but never had in a hotel - a heated mirror. How great to be able to get out the shower and shave in a clear mirror. Really I couldn't find fault here.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevinsoutham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear Kevinsoutham,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at 1888 Hotel.

The team and I are happy to read that you enjoyed your experience with us.
We do love our anti-steam mirrors: a life saver if you are rushing in the morning!

Have you planned your next trip to Sydney yet? We can't wait to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed a couple of nights at this new hotel which, we were told by someone professionally reviewing the place, used to be a wool store. All the staff we met were, it seems, under 25, so the staff have the same freshness about them that the hotel does. The rooms were clean, comfy and well equipped (the hotel brochure comes on the iPad to be found in each room). Breakfast was good, and reasonably priced. We had only two quibbles: firstly, our room had a strange slit, the height of a book, the length of a bed, in the wall between bedroom and bathroom. This was closed with frosted glass, so one could not see through it. Presumably the role of this opening was to allow light from the bedroom into the bathroom, and thus make it seem more open. However, if one person got up at night to use the bathroom, the bathroom light then flooded the bedroom. Secondly, the number of staff dealing with breakfast was too small. Consequently, tables soon filled with used dishes, and as guests came down to eat, the only tables available were covered with dirty crocks. An easy problem to solve, but it requires a bit of extra spending by the owners.
Otherwise the staff were helpful, competent and enthusiastic. The area is slightly down-at-heel, but still convenient for downtown Sydney. Overall, we found this an excellent place to stay. It's far from run of the mill, and that's part of the charm.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hugh c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear hugh c,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at 1888 Hotel.

The team and I are delighted to read that you have overall enjoyed your experience with us and we thank you for your comments.
Feedback from our guests is very important to us as it allows us continually improve the products and services that we offer at our wonderful hotel, especially since we opened few months ago.

I would like to apologise for the inconvenience you have experienced with the Eatery&Bar. I have shared your comments with our F&B manager and he will insure that more training is organised.
We are working on improving the service standards and we are being challenged with few teething issues since we've only opened just over few weeks ago: I am confident to say that we will definitely improve more areas soon. It was brought to our attention that The Eatery was unexpectedly busy over the Christmas holidays which was a real surprise as we were quiet the nights before and never anticipated to get so busy. The Hotel has only been opened for just over 6 months and it was the first time since July that we had so many people in house.

We hope to have the chance to look after you once again and deliver a more enjoyable experience.

Warm regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

A former woolstore built in 1888 converted in a trendy boutique hotel; very well located a few minutes walk from Darling Harbour and Pyrmont Bridge (to head to George Street). Lobby and rooms display an elegant mixture of old and modern features. Noticeable efforts have been made to offer a contemporary but still warm atmosphere. King bedrooms are spacious enough, Queen ones are a little bit smaller but still comfortable. Bathrooms are quite stylish and well equipped. Continental breakfast -or a la carte- is very good. Reasonably pricey but a first-rate service delivered by a young professional diligent and affable staff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Equinoxe2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear Equinoxe2013,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at 1888 Hotel.

The team and I are delighted to read that you loved your experience with us.
We do love our décor and unique historic building: all the amazing original features have been kept and restored and the modern elements are exquisite without compromising the organic feel of the hotel.

We can't wait to welcome you again soon. Have you booked your next trip yet?

Warm regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is a beautiful, fully modern boutique hotel inside an historic building. It is about three blocks from the Darling Harbour entertainment area and close to public transportation, including harbor ferries. The lobby, while small, is striking because of the atrium that rises to the top of the hotel, with a glass elevator going up and down the side of the atrium. The rooms are modern with a touch of the old. My fourth floor room was one of the few "shoebox rooms" that are smaller than most, so it lacked a closet and dresser and even a stand to put the suitcase on, but this is my only complaint. The bed was comfortable, the view was great from two angles, and the bathroom modern and attractive. A large TV is on the wall, and a tablet computer is available in the room with free Wi-Fi, though you can use your own computer with the Wi-Fi as well. The staff were phenomenally gracious and helpful with transportation, sight-seeing, and restaurant recommendations. The small bar/restaurant in the lobby provides a nice breakfast and snacks as well as drinks, all for an extra charge, and the bar staff were equally pleasant and helpful. Except for being in one of their smallest rooms (my choice), I loved this place and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Request and outside view and high floor. Don't select the least expensive room unless prepared...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear Bruce M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

The team and I are excited to read that you have truly enjoyed your experience with us.
The location of 1888 Hotel is unbeatable: within walking distance from the best the Sydney has to offer.
Our Shoebox rooms are the best value in town: for a small price you can enjoy all the luxuries squeezed into 15m2.

We are proud of our warm and extremely friendly service and we love looking after guests with a genuine smile.

Have you booked your next stay with us yet? We can't wait to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Great boutique hotel with incredible service. Beds are super comfortable, with high quality linens. Small cafe features the best granola ever, with locally sourced foods and beverages. Reception staff was extremely welcoming and helpful; they gave us several great recommendations for restaurants! Big thanks to Kirk for all his help.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patti G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear PCakes104,

Thank you for sharing your experience at 1888 Hotel with us.

The team and I are excited to read that you enjoyed your stay and took advantage of our warm and genuine service.
A special thank you from Captain Kirk!

We can't wait to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I stayed in a loft room for 3 nites recently. Had a nice loft room, which accomodated a double bed and a rollaway. Had 2 TVs! Great lobby and reception, and front desk was helpful always. Location was quite good, as it was near Darling Harbour. There's are 2 supermarkets (IGA and Coles) within easy walking distance. I particularly liked the 20 cents lemondanade stand they provided in the lobby, which was welcome becoz Sdyney was hot when we were there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeanieHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2013

Dear BeanieHead,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at 1888 Hotel.

The team and I are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your experience and like our Loft room.
The lemonade will run through the Summer season and we are looking at introducing other exciting surprises within the next months.

We hope we'll see you soon again.

Warm regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 179 in Sydney
1,352 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#12 of 179 in Sydney
2,020 reviews
Central Business District
PARKROYAL Darling Harbour Sydney
The Darling
#5 of 179 in Sydney
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour

Address: 139 Murray Street | Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia (Formerly 1888 Hotel Darling Harbour)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District , City West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 179 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $177 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history, Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour was tastefully restored and thoughtfully designed with shutter-happy Instagrammers in mind, providing photo opportunities around every corner so captivating that you really need #nofilter. Originally constructed as a wool store and factory in 1888, the building still bears the original signage of its birth year, visible from the busy streets of Pyrmont. A heritage listed 90-bedroom boutique hotel as well as bar & event space, Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour brings together Sydney's old world charm and contemporary design with Ovolo's service culture to offer a truly mind-blowing experience in modern hospitality. The collection of rooms each boast 3-metre high ceilings, exposed brick walls, original ironbark beams, concealed uplighting, huge sound proofed period windows, recycled timber work stations, bespoke furniture and feature walls in each room flaunting the colourfully commissioned pieces by celebrated local artist, Jasper Knight. Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour is located in Sydney's inner-city suburb of Pyrmont, neighbouring Darling Harbour, Sydney CBD, Sydney Fish Market, Sydney Exhibition & Convention Centre, The Star, a wide selection of must-go bars & dining options, and the very best boutique shopping this side of the Southern Hemisphere. But really, who needs to go anywhere when your room rate already includes everything? Continental breakfast*, Wi-Fi, mini bar, self-service laundry, happy hour*, 24 hour gym access? - Yep, all free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing