We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$145
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$215
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$197
$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$145
$137
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Amora Hotel Jamison Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$193
$155
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$245
$164
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$157
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$189
$180
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Grace Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$144
$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney(Sydney)(Great Value!)
$141
$136
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,397)
Filter reviews
2,397 results
Traveler rating
1,893
393
71
23
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,893
393
71
23
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree mini barfree happy hourshoebox roomdarling harbourgoodie bagwool storeapple tvfree laundrygreat boutiquefunky hotellittle extraslight railcontinental breakfastjunior suiterain showeramazing hotelstar casino
Filter
Updating list...
2,060 - 2,065 of 2,397 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2013

This boutique hotel has a lot to offer in terms of design and hospitality. It is so nice to have people greet you with a genuine smile and an attitude to please. They were very tentative during our stay and were willing to go that extra mile to make our stay comfortable, including a welcoming drink on arrival. The rooms are quite small but make up for the lack of size in character with a natural stone wall and original fittings from the Woolshed days as well as tasteful soft furnishings. The location is great, situated in a central location within walking distance of Darling Harbour and set away from noise. The best part of our stay was the excellent breakfast that consisted of a great buffet of homemade bread, pastries and muffins as well as fruit and cereal or there was a choice of having a fresh cooked gourmet breakfast created in front of you by the resident chef. The omelettes are to die for. I'm reluctant to write this review as my husband and I are tempted to keep this place 'our little secret in Sydney'!

Room Tip: Rooms with an outside window are quieter. Noise can travel up through the cavity because of the stone walls.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mosbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear mosbo,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at 1888 Hotel.

We are over the moon to read that you have enjoyed your experience with us and took advantage of our genuine and friendly hospitality.

We love our food here at 1888 Hotel and we are proud to source all our ingredients locally and daily. The breakfast is a feast for the eyes and so delicious. We are now slowly working on our food menu for the evening and we can't wait to launch it.

The word is out: 1888 Hotel is the hottest spot in Sydney!

Please make sure that you book your next stay soon as we can't wait to welcome you again.

Warm regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed for several nights, and the location was what originally attracted me, as it is situated right behind the restaurant strip at Darling Harbour and close to other attractions. However after arriving, I was bowled over by how lovely the interior was, and how charming the reception staff were. They helped me several times throughout my stay, as did the bistro staff, and each time nothing was too much trouble. The refurbished old building has kept the best of the old architecture but has implemented modern touches throughout including the immaculate bathrooms. The room was spotless and felt quite luxurious. Great big comfy bed and complimentary wifi including an iPad to use in the room. Have already booked another stay and told my friends and family all about this gem of a boutique hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed in a King Deluxe facing the main road but didn't have any problems with outside noise from passing traffic.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Emma R,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at 1888 Hotel.

The team and I are very thrilled to read that you have truly enjoyed your stay with us.
We pride ourselves on the level of service we deliver: we love looking after our guests and spoiling them.
We are so lucky to have such a unique building full of character and history.

We are very excited to know that we are going to see you again and welcome you to your new favourite hotel in Sydney!

Warm regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We spent 2 nights in a "shoe box" on our recent weekend visit to Sydney. Loved the whole feel of this hotel, it is a converted old building and there is beautiful old thick wooden beams & exposed brick on show. The reception team are friendly, efficient and relaxed, there is a small dining area in the foyer where a yummy breakfast is served & we also had coffees later on in the evening after returning from dinner, and we were cheerfully looked after. Our room, was a cosy nod to its namesake, but we did not feel cramped at all, the bathroom was nicely fitted out, big thick towels, the bed was sooo comfortable, nice little touch with an Ipad in the room for your getting around research. 1888 is well positioned with Darling Harbour & stroll to the city, plenty of transport options about. Would love to come back again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melbournites50s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear melbourneunites50,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at 1888 Hotel.

We are excited to read that you have truly enjoyed your experience and loved our Shoebox room: the best value in town within a super comfy 15m2. It is amazing how all the luxuries have been squeezed in a compact space without compromising in quality.

We love our food and coffee here at 1888 Hotel and our product are all fresh and locally sourced.
We are launching a new food menu for the evening: wait and see!

Melbourne is only one hour flight from Sydney: have you booked your next trip yet?

Warm regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 3 nights recently to celebrate my 40th birthday. 1888 was all we wanted and more! The hotel was beautiful, and felt inviting from the moment we walked in.
The staff were genuinely friendly and very helpful, they really are a credit to the place.
Our room was well appointed and the bed supremely comfortable. The block out blind was a God send too, on our first break from two young children, we were desperate for a sleep in!
The hotel is in a great location, just a short walk to Darling Harbour and across the bridge to the city and all the retail therapy one could ask for!

Stop looking and book a room at 1888! We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kylie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Kylie A,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at 1888 Hotel.

The team and I are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your experience and even happier to read that you have enjoyed our genuine and welcoming hospitality.

I am sure you and your husband deserve another break from the kids soon: have you booked your next holiday?

The team and I can't wait to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

The staff were the friendliest bunch I have encountered on any trip anywhere. The room was well appointed and the bed super comfortable. I really enjoyed the vibe and decor. Would recommend it to friends.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Dan F,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at 1888 Hotel.

We are extremely excited to read that you took advantage of our friendly and warm service.
Have you booked your next trip yet? We can't wait to welcome you

Warm regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews