We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Style with comfort"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Ranked #3 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“"Style with comfort"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

I had a fantastic time on my second visit to the hotel. The design of it looks outstanding and the service fantastic, specially the breakfast with different type of breads and cheeses. Coffee is a must, well done to the barista.
I stayed in the room 421, top floor, up the stairs. If you are travelling with lots of bags, I do not recommend as you need to carry your own bags up the stairs. Despite that, the room looks amazing and it has a small balcony around, no spa bath. King “comfort” bed and complementary ipad in the room.
Good stay, well done.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fernas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Fernas,

Thank you for taking the time to review your second stay with us.

We are extremely happy you have enjoyed you stay. We love our breakfast and our coffee here and can't wait to extend into dinner and brunch soon.

We are always to help our guests with their luggage and make sure that they feel as comfortable and relaxed as possible.

Have you booked your next stay yet? Please make sure you don't wait too long to come back.

Warm regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,536
    358
    66
    21
    14
See reviews for
129
1,160
144
304
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (470)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Staying at the new 1888 Hotel - which, at time of writing, had been opened only two months - very much exceeded my expectations. In essence, this hotel - part of the impressive 8Hotels portfolio - is an arhictect and interior designer's dream. The finishing touches everywhere make it a fun, funky place, yet stylish and streamlined enough to stay here for work conferences and short business stays (even the meeting room for small conferences is cool).

The big and little things made the 1888 Hotel a memorable stay: the iPad in every room, only Australian products stocked in the mini-bar (many organic), the bath loofah and bath products, stylish armchairs and exposed beams and smart TVs - it's all here.

What I also love is the location - a short (5 minute) walk to the heart of Pyrmont and the newly refurbished The Star (Sydney's casino). This means many eateries and leisure facilities are right on your doorstep.

I love that you are in the CBD, but on the outskirts enough that you're not in the thick of the madness. Also, there is a carpark across the road from the hotel - very convenient.

And the staff: all exceptional, friendly people. All are happy and proud to work there, and it shows. The staff is one of 1888 Hotel' greatest asset.

The foyer area is beautiful, and the cafe that resides there is fantastic: the ambience is cool and a fab place to not only have breakast, but also enjoy cocktails the night before. The food is fantastic, and the service, excellent.

Overall, I cannot fault 1888 Hotel - it is flawless, friendly, and a fabulous spot for any kind of stay in Sydney. I'd gladly stay here again. It's perfection.

Room Tip: Rooms on either side of Pyrmont are equally good. Every room is different and perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Josie G,

Let me think on what to say... What an amazing review? Not enough. What an incredible review? Still not enough. Wow: what an extraordinary review!

The team and I are over the moon and you should be here with us to see the amazing smile you put on everyone's face.

We are extremely happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and sharing your feedback is the biggest reward.

I really hope that you have already booked your next stay at 1888 Hotel and if you haven't, please don't wait too long as we can't wait to welcome you and spoil you again.

Warmest regards,

The Extraordinary 1888 Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagliari, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

1888 Hotel is indeed a beautiful hotel, a great mix of industrial taste and coziness, with a delicate touch of different colors and furniture.
From the soap to the orange juice you feel that a deliberate choice of quality has been made, because are really the details that makes the difference.
All the staff personnel have been very professional and super friendly and proactive in every occasion and in all the times of the day and night.
Just a perfect experience
Enrico and Adriana

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enrico B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Enrico B,

Thank you to both you and Adriana for the wonderful review of your recent stay at 1888 Hotel.

The team and I are delighted to read that you have found a great mix of flavours and enjoyed our genuine and personalised service.
We love to look into details and make every experience unique.

We can't wait to welcome you again soon.

Ciao e grazie,

The 1888 Hotel Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

The 1888 hotel looks great; vintage industrial chic with bare brick walls and minimalist furnishing. The choice of facilities is interesting with an iPad; full bars of soap and coffee bags. The bed was comfortable and the sound insulation was reasonable given that the hotel is sandwiched between flyovers.

However, I was woken early in the morning by a fire alarm with a bell and an instruction to await further instructions. I leapt out of bed and got dressed in yesterday's clothes. When the alarm was turned off, I got back into bed. About 15 minutes later, we had Whoop Whoop Emergency Emergency... Another leap out of bed. This time, it was followed a few minutes later by a loudspeaker announcement that it had been a false alarm. I decided to have a shower while the going was good, but even after 10 minutes of running there was no sign of any hot water. I am sure the front desk would have been apologetic if I had called them but, frankly, life is sometimes too short to wait for someone to sort things out. A hotel that charges the rates of 1888 hotel should get these things right without having to be asked.

I notice from other reviews that the fire alarms and showers have been problematic before. This is really not good enough and ought to be sorted out before the hotel takes money off further guests.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quelian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Quelian,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at 1888 Hotel.

Firstly, thank you for your positive comments about the design and the comfort.

I am terribly sorry about the fire alarm going off so early on a Thursday morning, I can imagine it wasn't pleasant and I wish I had a way to have prevented that from happening. One of our guests decided to use of bread toaster to warm up a croissant and, as you can imagine, the excess of smoke set off the fire detector. Apologies for the hot water not running and I hope this would have been rectified shortly. As precaution measure, the gas and all other systems linked to it shut off. This is to prevent other issues.
We do reset our systems immediately once we establish that it is safe to do so and it takes several minutes before the hot water start running again.

My staff are available 24 hours should there be any questions or matters at hand and they are more than happy to assist you with any problems and little fuss as quick as possible to ensure you have a most enjoyable stay and offer you any assistance, especially on situations like this one.

We are working on improving the service standards and we are being challenged with few teething issues since we've only opened just over few weeks ago: I am confident to say that we will definitely improve more areas soon but I would like to reassure that safety is our number one priority.

Should you wish to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at info@1888hotel.com.au and I will be happy to share the steps we always follow in order to guarantee a safe and comfortable stay.

Warm regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bussum, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Hotel 1888 is a fantastic boutique hotel with a great team of skilled staff knowing every interesting spot and restaurant in Sydney! Rooms are pretty and comfortable, location of the hotel is the fantastict!!

Room Tip: The King Bedroom is absolutely Great! Not too big but nice and comfy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MillianMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear MillianMax,

Thank you for your great review of your recent stay at 1888 Hotel.

The team and I are so happy to read that you loved your stay with us and we are excited about your feedback.

Have you booked your next stay yet? We can't wait to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
429 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Our function was at the Star casino so the 10 minute walk back to 188 was convenient & a bit cheaper than other hotels around. But we forgot to add the cost of parking which made it more expensive that other hotels that included parking. But outside of our error, it is a nice boutique hotel, the rooms are small, but as long as you don't plan to stay inside they are ample. Our room did not not outside window but one overlooking the reception/bar area so you couldn't tell what the outside weather was like. They add unique items like an iPad that would have contained all hotel details etc , but ours didn't work so it was pointless

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonSandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear SimonSandra N,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at 1888 Hotel.

The team and I are happy to read that you had a good experience with us.
You are right about the location: it's unbeatable for a new property, right close to Darling Harbour and the CBD and some of the great attractions in Sydney.

We are blessed with the variety of room types: from Shoeboxes to our wonderful Attic Suite. I would invite you to consider a different room type next you'll visit us to appreciate a larger room.

We are looking at updating the iPad software and we are planning to offer a more interactive experience for all or guests.

We are sure that next time you visit us all these teething issues will be solved.

We can't wait to welcome you again soon.

Warm regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed in the Williamson room which was probably the best hotel room I've stayed in when visiting the city, the boys I stayed with were all impressed when I opened the door and let them in for the first time. Parking was very convenient and the location was decent; was a bit of a walk to cockle bay wharf where we boarded a cruise for the night but the room made up for that and so did the staff. When we returned to the hotel after the night out we were greeted by Michael at the front desk who asked us how our night was and offered us extra towels and blankets which was helpful. Overall the boys and I enjoyed our stay and will be back next time we stay in the city.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brendo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Brendo12,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at 1888 Hotel.

The team and I are excited to read that you have taken full advantage of our amazing Williamson Suite a.k.a. 007 Suite. Service is everything to us and we pride ourselves for spoiling our guests.

Have you booked your next stay yet? Please don't wait too long as we can't wait to amaze you again.

Warm regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#2 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#13 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,848 reviews
Surry Hills
ADGE Apartment Hotel
ADGE Apartment Hotel
#1 of 174 in Sydney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#17 of 174 in Sydney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour

Property: Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Address: 139 Murray Street | Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia (Formerly 1888 Hotel Darling Harbour)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District , City West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 174 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history, Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour was tastefully restored and thoughtfully designed with shutter-happy Instagrammers in mind, providing photo opportunities around every corner so captivating that you really need #nofilter. Originally constructed as a wool store and factory in 1888, the building still bears the original signage of its birth year, visible from the busy streets of Pyrmont. A heritage listed 90-bedroom boutique hotel as well as bar & event space, Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour brings together Sydney's old world charm and contemporary design with Ovolo's service culture to offer a truly mind-blowing experience in modern hospitality. The collection of rooms each boast 3-metre high ceilings, exposed brick walls, original ironbark beams, concealed uplighting, huge sound proofed period windows, recycled timber work stations, bespoke furniture and feature walls in each room flaunting the colourfully commissioned pieces by celebrated local artist, Jasper Knight. Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour is located in Sydney's inner-city suburb of Pyrmont, neighbouring Darling Harbour, Sydney CBD, Sydney Fish Market, Sydney Exhibition & Convention Centre, The Star, a wide selection of must-go bars & dining options, and the very best boutique shopping this side of the Southern Hemisphere. But really, who needs to go anywhere when your room rate already includes everything? Continental breakfast*, Wi-Fi, mini bar, self-service laundry, happy hour*, 24 hour gym access? - Yep, all free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing