We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a stay in Sydney”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Ranked #3 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The staff was friendly, helpful, and full of local knowledge. The location was easy to get to by taxi or public transport.

The hotel has a great unfinished wood/rustic look and the room was spacious, attractive, and had lots of natural light. It was easy to make the room very dark at night and the bed was quite comfortable. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeanL17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Dear SeanL17,

The team and I thank you for your review.

It is wonderful to read that you have loved your stay and embraced the beauty of our building.
We are still so excited you were our first guest and you'll always have a special place in our memories.

We can't wait to welcome you again soon!

Warmest regards,

The 1888 Hotel Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,124 - 2,130 of 2,281 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Since this hotel opened its doors less than a week ago, we didn't know what to expect but it certainly did not disappoint! We were welcomed by friendly staff and an efficient check-in. We could only go by the artist's impressions of the rooms and the interiors were quite close to the hand drawings. We requested a room on a higher level and a room with a bath, but because they were full(possibly because of school holidays and the rugby union) we were given a room on the first level. Traffic noise didnt become a big issue even though we were on a lower level because we are deep sleepers and it was convenient to be able to walk down to the lobby.
The King Deluxe room we booked was the largest room on the level with a sitting area with a sofa, two armchairs and two coffee tables. There was ample room for two people. Toiletries were by Romy Beauty which were paraben and sulphates free. There was also bath salts for the bath! Pillows were comfortable though we would have liked a firmer mattress. The staff also slipped a card under the door to wish us a great stay.
Its location in Pyrmont, means the hotel is away from the hustle and bustle of the CBD. Overall, a wonderful staycation hotel and beautiful addition to the group of Sydney boutique hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allthatjazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Dear allthatjazz,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at 1888 Hotel.

Feedback from our guests is very important to us as it allows us continually improve the products and services that we offer at our wonderful hotel, especially since we have just opened.

I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Our service is what we pride ourselves on at 1888 Hotel and it is fantastic to hear that this is being appreciated. I am very lucky to have such a wonderful team looking after our guests.

We are so lucky to have such a gorgeous building with lots of character, mixing a slightly sophisticated design with a bit of an attitude.

We can't wait to welcome you again soon!

Warmest Regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We had a great stay in this newly opened hotel. The fit out, staff and general Amenities are great - however the location lacks any culture or substance. Great for a short visit to Sydney, however if you are any culture or action look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mmmkenzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear Mmmkenzie,

The team and I are delighted to read your review. It is nice to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We are very lucky to be located in Sydney's inner-city suburb of Pyrmont. 1888 neighbours the Sydney Fish Market, the Sydney Exhibition & Convention Centre, Darling Harbour, The Star, heaps of trendy bars, dining options and the very best boutique shopping. Minutes walk from Darling Harbour, Cockle Bay, Sydney's CBD and Ultimo. Our central location is short cab ride away from all main museums and galleries.

Next you'll visit us, please liaise with our reception team and they'll be very happy to give directions and tips.

The team and I can't wait to welcome you again!

Warm regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

My hubby and I stayed here on 5 July for a night as we had a party to go to at The Star. The hotel was only about a 10-15min walk depending if u are in heels or not. We stayed in a King room which we paid $239. This price was $209 when i was 1st looking to book then jumped up to $239 when I went to book it, not sure why. I checked today for a Friday night stay and it's $189, so feel a bit ripped off in that sense. There was also an issue with the parking, when I booked I was told we would get a discount for the parking at the harbourside. When we arrived we were told that because the agreement wasn't finalised with Wilson we won't get a discount. On check out we raised the issue again and they gave us $20 off the room price, so that was good. Otherwise the parking would be around $64 if u don't get a discount. The room was lovey though, it had a modern rustic feel to it and it was nice with all the wood that's been used. Apparently it used to be a car park. Loved the rain shower head. The room was clean and the bed was very comfy. I liked how you could open the window a but to let fresh air in. The iPad in our room was a good idea and the little hand written note was a nice touch. The staff all were very friendly. The 1888 breakfast was so yummy and there was a great serving size and great value for money, I'd suggest that to anyone who had a big night before!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 99Cwallace99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2013

Dear 99Cwallace99,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at 1888 Hotel.

Firstly I would like to apologise about the parking situation. We have been working on a deal with Wilson Parking for the past months and we should be able to finalise the deal by the end of this week.
Regarding the price difference, our hotel, like many others, offers a dynamic price structure: the rates fluctuate accordingly to our availability. Last weekend the entire city was offering higher rates due to the Lions Tour whilst this coming weekend every hotel is offering slightly lower rates.

It is great to read that you have enjoyed everything in the room and the service provided by our wonderful team.

Our breakfast is rustic and opulent: just what you need after an amazing night sleep.

The team and I can't wait to welcome you again soon!

Warm regards,

The 1888 Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed here overnight while in Sydney. The hotel only opened during the week and it was a pleasure staying there. Staff at check in and throughout the stay were pleasant, friendly and helpful. We had a problem with noise in our room but staff managed the situation quickly and upgraded us to a loft room which was beautiful. The decor is modern, while keeping some of the older structures of the building which looked gorgeous and interesting. Amenities are all you could need with quality T2 teas and really different mini bar snacks. One of the best things about this hotel is that they offer free wifi - about time a hotel in Australia offers free wifi! The only drawback is this hotel can be really noisy due to traffic and people walking by but that really doesn't detract from a great experience as the bed is so comfy that it puts you to sleep as soon as you lie on it! The hotel is in a perfect location with darling harbour a few steps away and plenty of great restaurants and bars around. I wouldn't hesitate to return and to recommend to all of our friends!

Room Tip: The Loft rooms are spacious and lovely to stay in. Shoebox rooms and Deluxe Queen rooms are quite sm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank krissylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel1888, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Dear krissylou,

The team and I are extremely excited to read our very own first review.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and it is great that you have enjoyed your experience with us. The hotel has just opened and knowing that the team looked after you it's important to us.

We are privileged to work in such a beautiful heritage listed building. Extra emphasis was put into redesigning the interior and reinterpret the unique history of 1888: we are trying to respect the past and project this project into an exciting and new life.

It is disappointing to read about the noise issues you have experienced overnight but I am happy to share with you that we are looking into ways to fix this unwanted issue and I am confident to say that next time you'll visit us, you will experience an even more comfortable night sleep.

The team and I can't wait to welcome you soon!

The 1888 Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ovolo1888DarlingHarb, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: En étage élevé
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Michel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ovolo1888DarlingHarb, General Manager at Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Ovolo Woolloomooloo
#1 of 181 in Sydney
1,463 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson Blu Plaza Hotel Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Darling
#8 of 181 in Sydney
930 reviews
Central Business District
QT Sydney
QT Sydney
#15 of 181 in Sydney
2,094 reviews
Central Business District
Swissotel Sydney
Swissotel Sydney
#20 of 181 in Sydney
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour

Address: 139 Murray Street | Pyrmont, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia (Formerly 1888 Hotel Darling Harbour)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > Central Business District , City West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 181 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $170 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history, Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour was tastefully restored and thoughtfully designed with shutter-happy Instagrammers in mind, providing photo opportunities around every corner so captivating that you really need #nofilter. Originally constructed as a wool store and factory in 1888, the building still bears the original signage of its birth year, visible from the busy streets of Pyrmont. A heritage listed 90-bedroom boutique hotel as well as bar & event space, Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour brings together Sydney's old world charm and contemporary design with Ovolo's service culture to offer a truly mind-blowing experience in modern hospitality. The collection of rooms each boast 3-metre high ceilings, exposed brick walls, original ironbark beams, concealed uplighting, huge sound proofed period windows, recycled timber work stations, bespoke furniture and feature walls in each room flaunting the colourfully commissioned pieces by celebrated local artist, Jasper Knight. Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour is located in Sydney's inner-city suburb of Pyrmont, neighbouring Darling Harbour, Sydney CBD, Sydney Fish Market, Sydney Exhibition & Convention Centre, The Star, a wide selection of must-go bars & dining options, and the very best boutique shopping this side of the Southern Hemisphere. But really, who needs to go anywhere when your room rate already includes everything? Continental breakfast*, Wi-Fi, mini bar, self-service laundry, happy hour*, 24 hour gym access? - Yep, all free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing