We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Find!”
Review of Elmo's Restaurant - CLOSED

Elmo's Restaurant
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Coogee
Sydney
Level Contributor
121 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Excellent Find!”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Elmos is to be found within The Coogee Legion Club.
Together with some friends we reserved a balcony table that commands superlative views of Coogee Beach.
We enjoyed prompt courteous service and very good food.. The seafood Brazilian barbeque was excellent. Other dishes including simple fish and chips were very tasty and the servings were large.
Being located within a Legion club has the added bonus of ‘Legion Club’ beer prices-in other words-‘Bloody affordable.
Do yourself a favour and check this place out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    8
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ryde, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food even better service!!!”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I've been in Sydney for almost 16 months and have't found a restaurant like this so far. A typical and great brazilian restaurant not only good on the tender steaks but also on seafood dishes such as the prawn in a puree (bobó de camarão), fish and prawn stew (moqueca) and many others with such a great brazilian seasoning!!

Another good thing is that the place isn't too busy (apparently) and every time I tried to go, we didn't have to wait to be seated and it wasn't noisy!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Zlochevsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
166 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“End Your Bondi to Congee Walk Here”
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

That's what we did. The food, with one exception, was adequate and the ice cold beer was just what we needed. The fish and chips was good as was the pasta but one member of our party ordered the "mushroom surprise". Stay away from this one.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank PAworldtrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Lovely Brazilian/Australian Restaurant”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Very impressed with the quality of food/service. Dish to go is the "moqueca" a seafood stew cooked in a clay pot with Brazilian oil, coconut and chili. Very unique and amazing flavours!! Rack of Lamb with "acai" sauce is another must! Service was warm and knowledgeable. And the view of Coogee beach is priceless!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VinniDias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elmo's Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing