We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food and service”
Review of Baccomatto Osteria

Baccomatto Osteria
Reserve with
Baccomatto Osteria is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #18 of 5,862 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Surry Hills
Description: An Italian Osteria offering a selection of antipasto, spuntini and home made pasta. Weekly specials include - Monday's pasta e vino $20, Tuesday's braise e barbera $25, Wednesday's spit roast e sangiovese $25 and weekend lunch special of pasta e vino $20
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
233 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service”
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

We ate here before a concert, so time was tight. That did not detract from the excellent meal and superb service throughout. The menu was explained in detail and a delicious rosé suggested which complemented the meal exactly. We started with zucchini flowers, salted tuna croquettes and asparagus. All very nice!! Our mains were squid ink gnocchetti with baby calamari and home-made pasta with broad bean creamy sauce. Both delightful and full of flavours. Would recommend Baccomatto and we will return!

Helpful?
Thank Hobo56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    115
    25
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Slick, modern Italian”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We have now tried this recently opened Italian restaurant a couple of times and on each occasion have come away very satisfied and happy. The space itself is contemporary and clean and, notwithstanding lots of hard surfaces, it is easy to hear your neighbour speak even on a busy Saturday night. Service is highly professional - on each occasion we were served by Xan, who is extremely efficient, knowledgable and friendly. Finally the food, which is the highlight. The menu is quite simple - entree is basically a make your own antipesto selection. Must tries are the fried salt cod patties and the hot salami, although just about everything listed looks delicious. For mains there is a choice of pastas, risotto or grilled steak, spatchcock or fish. Whatever you choose you cannot go wrong.......but I recommend that you also leave room for desert. The ricoota cake is to die for. Baccomatto is a very welcome addition to the local area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SydneyAussieboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
137 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Brilliant Italian in Surry Hills”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Another excellent meal at Baccomatto last night. Delicious, fresh, high quality produce cooked with an assured hand and an interesting winelist including good house wines by the half litre. Friendly welcoming front of staff make a memorable meal even better. A calm contemporary space to dine or to grab an aperitivo and some snacks.
Started with some marinated olives and a bowl of plump fried whitebait. This was followed by the tender perfectly cooked ribeye and kingfish. Cheese is also a highlight here.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveller110412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Highlight of surrey hills”
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We are complete foodies and I love this slice of Melbourne Italian in sydney! On a brief trip from melb, we were treated like kings by xan and Michael, the food suited both us and the kids, and the wines were perfectly suited.
Recommend. Hands down !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank us4Melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We were lucky enough to be invited here by friends during a visit to Sydney. This place has only recently opened but you would never know that. The service was fantastic and you would have thought that they had been trading for years. The front of house lady (Xan) was brilliant and spent time in going through the menu and making recommendations.

The food was fantastic. As a starter we shared lots of little Italian "tapa's" style dishes recommended by Xan. Zucchini flowers in a delicate batter, salami's, battered fish nibbles - all fantastic. For my main I had a steak and it was excellent. Very flavoursome, cooked perfectly and just melted in the mouth. I could go on and on....I'm sure you get the picture!

Cannot fault the place and if they continue like this, the restaurant will establish itself very quickly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IAS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baccomatto Osteria also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Baccomatto Osteria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing