We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good View, average price and food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Margaritaville - CLOSED

Margaritaville
Price range: $11 - $19
Cuisines: American, Mexican, Caribbean, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: Located on the water in Darling Harbour. With a balcony running the whole length on the venue enjoy our full menu, bar snacks or just a drink from our fully stocked bar and exquisite cocktail list. All week we have live music and many events all listed on our website.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good View, average price and food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is in Darling Harbour.Has nice views of the water but the food is average and overpriced. Cocktails are expensive and are served in plain glasses without trimmings.Staff were friendly and eeffficent. Typical American food hamburgers ,fries , onion rings and fajitas

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    75
    48
    30
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“ordinary food at silly prices”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

excellent location, nice atmosphere, reasonable services.
food: mexican(ish) - very average
drinks I guess Ok as far as margaritas go.
prices: ridiculously high.
there much better value restaurants in the same Harbourside complex or across the water at Cockle bay.
Overall I'd pass or have it as a 'One off'

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katherine2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Food, US of A atmosphere buuuuuuuttt...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Ok. been here a few times in recent weeks after seeing this place months ago! 2 things I like: Country vibes & American diner style food! I've travelled to the States 4 times in the last 3 years and I LOVE their various foods! Eaten at numerous places Red Lobster/Wendy's/TGI Fridays/Ruby Tuesdays/IHOP/Dennys and so may more annnnd I use to work at HOOTERS back in 06 (when they were brand new (again) FUN & the food was good)! Can't get more American than that. So I was very much looking forward to Margaritaville & have a range to compare by...

Atmosphere: The live music band was fun & they played GOOD music, it's great to just chill out and enjoy the surroundings. Looking out over DH while the VIVID festival was on made it feel like we were on holiday right back in San Fran! It's a casual relaxed atmosphere. When the band is not playing you get a mix of country & classic music!

Food: For the type of restaurant it is is the food is very good. Served quite quickly & was tasty!!! We have since tried the Jumbalaya, grilled fish, nachos, Jerk chicken, Lava Lava Shrimp, chicken pasta & of course hot wings! All are worth eating again and the Jambalaya & shrimp are highly recommended. The Margaritas are good aswell, quite strong though! They don't have spirits on the menu otherwise (not that I noticed) e.g. jack/jim/vodka.

Service: Varied! First time had an awesome guy as our waiter! Second time the girl seemed a bit bored & moody.

Only downfall: THE PRICES!!!! Rather high indeed! However serves are on the larger size (mains).

Overall: Great Food, US atmosphere buuuuuuuttt... Definitely NOT US prices :(

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MinxiiT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“HUGELY OVERPRICED”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

I will admit that it was quite fun and the live music is very good. The food is very typical American Tex-Mex and the ribs are great. But definitely expect to pay through the nose. Sydney is expensive anyway, but I did not expect to pay $60 for the ribs and $20 for a small Margarita.

If you are out for some fun, and don't mind average service, loud music drowning out any conversation, and you have plenty of money to spend then Margaritaville might be just the ticket.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kiwiKento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun on the Harbour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Had dinner last night at Margaritaville Darling Harbour ,what a great casual dining experience right on the waters edge ,the view is uninterrupted straight across to cockle bay spectacular ,the band was pumping ,the atmosphere so laid back and kid friendly without feeling like you are at McDonald's ! We had fast friendly service and the food was amazing (portions a little large for me next time I'd skip the starter) you can just go and have drinks and a snack if you prefer ,they have an undercover outside sitting area ofcourse with the same spectacular view ,you can choose the cummfy wicker lounge chairs or tables and bar stools and just sit have a drink listen to the music watch the passing crowd and just chill (they even cater for the smokers) Every Sat night in June at 8.30 you are treated to a wonderful fireworks display off a pontoon directly in front of the restaurant and on the cool nights you are also spoilt with warm rugs to cosy up with .Cant wait to go back ,well done Margaritaville .

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LOVE2TRAVEL013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margaritaville also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing