We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a bargain !!”
Review of Tom-Yum Tum-Gang

Tom-Yum Tum-Gang
Ranked #256 of 5,944 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Neighborhood: Glebe
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Glebe
Wishaw,Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“What a bargain !!”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This Thai restaurant was recommended by our nearby B&B. They don't take bookings and while we were lucky to get a table for 2 even if we hadn't the turnover of tables was rapid and the wait would not have been too long.

We eat Thai frequently and this undoubtedly was the best value Thai restaurant we have ever eaten in outside Thailand. For the princely sum of 38 dollars we both had an excellent 2 course meal ( it's BYO so we took our own wine). The simple highlight of the meal was the most succulent chicken satay starter we had ever eaten but all 4 dishes were first class and unbelievable value for money.

This is not fine dining but just a great place to eat in the Glebe

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank i_m_tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    25
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Thai in Sydney!”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is my favourite Thai place in all of Sydney! The service is incredibly fast, and the meals are delicious! It's always packed, but there's a quick turnover, so you'll be able to get in and get your meal quick!

Everything is fresh. The service is incredible. I haven't had a meal here that wasn't a 10 out of 10!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank taraustralis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great suburban Thai”
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Tom yum is, of course, the famous Thai spicy soup. Tum gang means to make Thai curry. They do both well here at what is Glebe's most popular Thai restaurant. All the usual Thai dishes are served here but slightly dimmed down for the Farang palate. If you like real Thai food( Ching Ching) then ask for it (chirp pet like spicy). Always packed and noisy but the service is good and prices low. It has a big take away trade too.

Great suburban Thai but don't expect David Thompson.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Joe_Lynch_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great local nosh”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

A local restaurant in Glebe, that was recommended by family, had to wait until it reopened following a refurbishment. Very busy, so we had a takeaway, excellent pad thai, at a really reasonable price. If I lived locally it would be somewhere I frequented often.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkWrinklies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“What a Find !!!!”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This is one of those establishments that may not get the recognition it deserves, but must surely need highlighted. This is a 'no frills' take away that has put in some tables and chairs to allow customers to enjoy the food on-site.
We tend to judge a restaurant by how many customers it has, and this place has always been full each time we have visited. There is a great selection of very tasteful Thai food, the portions are more than satisying, and excellemt value. It would be hard to find such quality/quantity for less than $12....yes $12.
Anyone who likes good Thai food, doesn't want to pay silly prices, and is in the Glebe area make sure you give Tom-Yum Tum-Gang a visit, you won't be dissapointed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tom-Yum Tum-Gang also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Tom-Yum Tum-Gang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing