We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”
Review of Japone Sushi

Japone Sushi
Ranked #2,453 of 5,862 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Newtown
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed April 14, 2014

My partner and I visited Japone on a whim whilst we were in Sydney in February. I am often suspicious when the term 'fusion' is used to describe a restaurant's food style as I've found it rarely results in delicious food. This was not the case with Japone. Every dish we ordered (and we ordered a few) was a delight - the kingfish carpaccio with wasabi lime and capers was gorgeous - subtle and scrumptious. Perfect place for a nice meal in a relaxed atmosphere. Will be coming back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AprilG0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    8
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Sushi with a twist!”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We ate at Japone for the first time last night. I love sushi and even make it regularly myslef...however no where near as good as this place. Their sushi making is art on a plate. The flavours were exceptional and I would recommend the Shusimi and the Big Fat Dragon roll YUM! We will be back. Service was great as well and $5 beers and Villa Maria Sav Blanc happy hour even better!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John59Gong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice Food - Long Wait”
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

I went to this restaurant with a friend for a light dinner. We ordered Entrée and Mains.

The food arrived 30 minutes after. The waiters were very very nice and always smiling. One waiter was running to the kitchen when she had nothing in hands so maybe slow service was due to shortage of staff.

Once the food arrived.... WOW! It was quiet good. The food was very nice and very tasty. The presentation was very professional.

Being in Newtown the prices I accepted if they were more away from the city I would think they were overcharging.

Highly recommend this restaurant for catch up with friends or partner only because that is the atmosphere of the restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Trusted_Review3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
83 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“One of my favorites”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

I love this restaurant it is simple, un fussy delicious Japanese food. Strongly recommend the sashimi tacos and mixed sashimi plate. The oyster shooter special is also really good.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank marcus493
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good, quirky Japanese”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We visit this place often. The service is friendly and the food is excellent. Try the popcorn prawns, very yummy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DarkyTyrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Japone Sushi also viewed

Newtown, Sydney
Newtown, Sydney
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Japone Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing