We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome dinner, a very pleasant evening at Umi Sushi!!”
Review of Umi Sushi + Udon

Umi Sushi + Udon
Order Online
Ranked #1,092 of 7,515 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Japanese
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Reviewed October 21, 2016 via mobile

A very pleasant evening at Umi Sushi in Darling Harbour! Recommend the Wagyu Beef Sukiyaki Hot Pot. Supper yummy! Green tea ice cream amazing!!! Good value and a different restaurant experience - cook it on your table and eat as you want it. Ask for a table at the 'entrance' - not inside (too dark), not outside (could be too breezy for sukiyaki hot plate) . Enjoy!!!

Date of visit: October 2016
Thank kooganm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 53 of 109 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2016

It was Saturday night and my Japanese friends wanted sukiyaki (not my favourite by any means). They chose this restaurant in Darling Harbour. It looked good from 200 metres away but on closer inspection, no Japanese. That's no Japanese on the floor and no Japanese in the kitchen and no Japanese dining! Trouble!!!!!! And it's terrible. The food is very bad. The sukiyaki is the smallest portion I've ever had. We had a 5pm booking. Staff were non existent. They seated us outside and on a winter evening and it was freezing. Half the hot pot wouldn't cook the wind was that strong. We ordered sashimi - what a disappointment. When it came there were no plates or utensils. It took 20 minutes to get someone to bring them. We asked to move inside to get warm. That happened but it gave me a look at how the restaurant was run. There was no order or management. Waiters didn't know what they were doing. It was hard to get their attention. In summary, avoid this place at all cost. Even if dishes were a $1 each, I wouldn't eat here again.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 502Roland_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2016

Umi Sushi is great for a quick bite to eat at lunch, but probably not for dinner. Not much variety on the sushi train, and it looks like most of it has been left out all day. There are better places to have sushi in Sydney. Having said that though, the food is tasty, and the staff are very friendly. It's not the cheapest meal, but still value for money.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2016 via mobile

The standard plates off the Sushi Train were all OK but the items we ordered from the menu including Soft Shell Crab, Agedashi Tofu and surprisingly the Miso Soup were all below par.

It's a great location and pleasant place to sit and people watch with a cool beer while you snack on some Sushi and Lotus Chips during happy hour.

Staff were pleasant.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank ScambusterSZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2016 via mobile

Conveniently located in darling harbour this sushi place is kind of tucked away and you can miss it if you're not paying attention.

The restaurant offers the typical sushi belt type dining as well as a seated restaurant menu dining experience. If you opt for the sushi belt, you'll get to watch the sushi chefs work in front of you as they expertly craft all kinds of food.

I was really impressed by the sushi itself but perhaps even more so by the incredible sushi chef that worked like a man possessed with a skill that can only be gained from years of practice and experience. I won't lie, I definitely stayed around longer just to watch him work, it seemed as though he was doing 10 different things perfectly at the same time.

Been to a few Japanese restaurants in Sydney and price is reasonable, around $60 for two people including drinks. Since the food was good though, would have gladly paid more.

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank clang823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Umi Sushi + Udon also viewed

 
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Umi Sushi + Udon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing