We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An Impromptu Visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gowings Bar & Grill

Gowings Bar & Grill
Ranked #34 of 5,816 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $157
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: With concept created by acclaimed Sydney restaurateur Robert Marchetti, Creative Food Director of QT Sydney, Gowings Bar & Grill presents the style of a European brasserie, with edgy contemporary design. Offering the freshest produce from Australia’s best artisan providores, prepared with cooking techniques featuring wood fired rotisseries and ovens. A specially curated wine program featuring exciting young winemakers from all around the world compliments the food selection.Open Breakfast 6.30am – 10.30am | Lunch from 12 noon | Dinner from 6pm | Bar 12 noon – 12 midnight
Mona Vale
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“An Impromptu Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Had visited the bar previously and had always thought that it would be good to return to experience the food & restaurant. Was not disappointed in any way. Loved the decor & atmosphere. The Food very extensive whilst the wine options were OK. Toby our waiter was very attentive and his advice was really appreciated. Not a cheap impromptu lunch though memorable fir all the right reasons.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at Gowings Bar & Grill, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    221
    66
    33
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“DO NOT GO!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Excellent service. Food bland and unappealing, edible, but given the prices, not worth it. Crab cakes were bland. Fish pie was bland. The sides of fries that we ordered, half were warm and half were stone cold (from the save serving bowl, very unusual).

The 3% surcharge for Amex was the icing on the cake, given the prices, given the huge mark-ups on wine and on the small-portions of food.

Do not go. Bistro Moncur and the Centennial are slightly cheaper, far more delicious, and no surcharges.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shaun w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at Gowings Bar & Grill, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear guest,

We appreciate your feedback and will take time to run through it with our team.

With warmest regards,

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Food - waitresses a little crisp”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

We had our wedding anniversary dinner here. The waitresses staff did not engage with us and were not very friendly. One tried to seat us at an unsuitable table and we asked for a better one, so they begrudgingly moved us.

The food was very nice and wine was not too expensive, but I was a bit surprised by strange decor or rather lack of tasteful decor walking up the stair case.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellerOne67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at Gowings Bar & Grill, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! Sorry about the snappy server. Sounds like she was having an off day.

We love that you loved us despite the service, and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great service & food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Stayed at hotel & had dinner as part of a package. We could choose any two entrees, mains & sides. There was a good selection to choose from, service was excellent. Food was delicious, we had oysters, scallops, fish & mussels. It was very busy & quite loud but overall a great experience. Would definitely go again

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at Gowings Bar & Grill, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great night out with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

My friends and I dined at this restaurant on a Wednesday night. We all ordered steaks and they were delicious. The service from the waitresses was very attentive; they took our order quickly, were always topping up our wine and were quick to bring the dessert menu. This restaurant also has a great ambience. This dinner we had was a really nice way to celebrate a friends birthday; I recommend this restaurant!

Helpful?
Thank Meerkat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at Gowings Bar & Grill, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gowings Bar & Grill also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Gowings Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing