We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent restaurant in the heart of Sydney” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gowings Bar & Grill

Gowings Bar & Grill
Ranked #57 of 5,392 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $157
Cuisines: Australian, Gluten Free Options
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: With concept created by acclaimed Sydney restaurateur Robert Marchetti, Creative Food Director of QT Sydney, Gowings Bar & Grill presents the style of a European brasserie, with edgy contemporary design. Offering the freshest produce from Australia’s best artisan providores, prepared with cooking techniques featuring wood fired rotisseries and ovens. A specially curated wine program featuring exciting young winemakers from all around the world compliments the food selection.Open Breakfast 6.30am – 10.30am | Lunch from 12 noon | Dinner from 6pm | Bar 12 noon – 12 midnight
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant in the heart of Sydney”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I've visited this restaurant a number of times and it is excellent. They provide excellent service and food. Prices can be higher than $30 for a main, last time I was there I paid $45 for tuna steak (that's excluding any sides). It has a very good funky vibe about it and the staff are very attentive without being intrusive. They do get quite busy so I always book to ensure I get in.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bilby2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    195
    62
    31
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Freaky weird loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

The whole experience is like theatre or perhaps you found yourself in the Rocky Horror Picture Show!

Amazing wine cube with spectacular wines in it. Need to go back just for that. Try and tuna tartare. Excellent! Salad Nicoise was good but not great. Balance of flavours and ingredients was not perfect.

A great place for a big group of friends. Loved it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mmajzner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at Gowings Bar & Grill, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere And Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Great atmosphere and great service and fantastic food, its the whole package and experience. Our waitress Lexus was fantastic, she deserves a raise boss if your out there reading this. All I can say is that I have been there for a business lunch which was fantastic and again for a dinner to celebrate a birthday, and I have nothing but praise to say about the place and staff, from the moment of entry to the full service of wine ning and dinning. Do yourselves a favor and experience what I have. Keep up the great work guys it's what Sydney needed within our city xxx

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nuno G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at Gowings Bar & Grill, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Go to Gowings........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

From walking in to the QT and up through the funky old style lift you enter what is best described a a New York style bar. Buzzy but not noisy
Great service at the bar and we were taken to out table ten minutes earner than our booking. All good

Menu was great with something for every one
Service first class
My New York cut , on the bone was first class and cooked perfectly
Steak tartar was fantastic star

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SydneyAussieFamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at Gowings Bar & Grill, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fun Evening with Friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We had enjoyed the bar and lounge on other occasions, so decided to try the restaurant. The staff were friendly and went out of their way to be helpful, with good advice and welcome suggestions. The wine list was interesting with plenty of reasonably priced offerings of good quality. ALthough we all ordered the herbed chicked or the spiced duck with were both superb dishes, generously in portion and perfectly prepared, all the various starters were delicious. We were haveing such a pleasant time that we all ordered diiferent desserts and voted the apple crumble as the winner. (The de-constructed preparation of this classic allowed you to enjoy all the elements separately or together.) But they were all good. The pricing was reasonable for what we ate and drank.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Epearls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at Gowings Bar & Grill, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gowings Bar & Grill also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Gowings Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing