We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food in a great location”

Gowings Bar & Grill
Ranked #141 of 6,515 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $157
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: With concept created by acclaimed Sydney restaurateur Robert Marchetti, Creative Food Director of QT Sydney, Gowings Bar & Grill presents the style of a European brasserie, with edgy contemporary design. Offering the freshest produce from Australia’s best artisan providores, prepared with cooking techniques featuring wood fired rotisseries and ovens. A specially curated wine program featuring exciting young winemakers from all around the world compliments the food selection.Open Breakfast 6.30am – 10.30am | Lunch from 12 noon | Dinner from 6pm | Bar 12 noon – 12 midnight
Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Have been here a couple of times, last time being on a Monday, previous time a Friday. The Friday occasion had more buzz and a more rushed service (due to 2 sittings) whilst the Monday was a bit more easy paced, including the staffs attentiveness.
Both times the food has been excellent - French influence with modern roast meats. All three courses on both times have been fantastic, as have the wines.
Really like the decor inside though the initial impression from the outside, including the somewhat showy staff at the door on the street, is a bit off putting (don't let it!).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BritishMigratoryBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at Gowings Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Dear guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (830)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

741 - 745 of 830 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

My dining companion pulled out his phone showing the QT website and said “would you come here if you saw this?” I’d had the same thought when I’d checked in on the garish, neon page that lacked much communication of quality.
Arriving wasn’t much better: costumed door people chatted to each other on a very busy King Street so I found my way to the lifts to the hotel foyer. It didn’t get much better here as the lack of signage to the restaurant was matched by the lack of interest in reception offering to help. So far it was a bit of “we’re dressed up, having fun, so cool … who are you?” I’m a customer!
At the restaurant it picked up: a friendly receptionist, a bright and colourful room, smart tables and smiles. A bit of asking got me wine list and menus – what is it about seating people and giving them neither … or only one? Menus and wine lists are symbiotic … give us both please.
Gowings’ menu is one of those French brasserie tablemats in much larger format, with a lot on offer; but the large open kitchen showed enough staff to cope with the ample choice. And the food was pretty good: spanner crab cakes the first crab dish I had in weeks that tasted of crab, subtly horseradish-spiced tuna tartar, good bread rolls left on the table throughout our meal, an excellent hefty pork chop that was perhaps only marginally overcooked for me, and a mushroom tart that sadly lacked much of the promised “wild” funghi. All rather classic, presented as you’d expect from a Euro brasserie, and arguably in keeping with the themed QT hotel. The cheese selections were all Australian and good examples of style, and the cheese board was all about cheese, not garnish and frippery disguising too little of the main event.
The waiter was entertaining: bopping (old word but very apt) to his own rhythm he did get the job done with some prompting, and showed grace under fire when things didn’t quite go smoothly. There seems to be a philosophy of having fun here but staff skills need to be honed before they can play-act.
There’s nothing ground-breaking or even very exciting here, but it doesn’t try to be; it covers all bases and craft is evident. And for downtown Sydney, it doesn’t cost a bomb.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Christopher_Hayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at Gowings Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Dear guest,

We appreciate your feedback and will take time to run through it with our team.

With warmest regards,

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

we only stayed there for the breakfast and loved the food... it was very nice and delicious but also steep in pricing... Coffee pricing was a bit over the top, but it was a nice cup. Would recommend it...

Thank froxjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at Gowings Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Dear guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

After the amazing experience at QT on the gold coast, I thought it'd be safe to bring a client to QT for breakfast in Sydney. Aside from the waitress spilling the milk all over the table and then making a joke of cleaning it up (i.e. not a real good job of it), the good was presented quite well and tasted amazing.

Looking forward to giving these guys another chance.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Adam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at Gowings Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Dear guest,

We appreciate your feedback and will take time to run through it with our team.

With warmest regards,

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We went there after a show at the State Theatre; obviously the location is ideal. Being a relatively new restaurant, the decor is modern and fresh. Service (from the reservation to paying the bill) was professional and friendly. The menu should offer something for everybody and the quality of the food served was to our fullest satisfaction.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rusty1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at Gowings Bar & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Dear guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gowings Bar & Grill also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Gowings Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing