We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice balance of quality & flavours”
Review of Ume Japanese - CLOSED

Ume Japanese
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Surry Hills
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A nice balance of quality & flavours”
Reviewed March 13, 2014

The scallop carpaccio is a must try - fresh, delicious and had its own unique flavour! Snapper carpaccio was pretty good as well. We also had the wagyu beef & lamb which were flavoursome but did not stand out as much as the carpaccios. Poached strawberry dessert had a good balance of textures and was a nice end to the meal! The only con about the restaurant would be the wait for the food - it could possibly be because of a small kitchen? I also thought that the prices were a little pricey for some of the portions, but the quality of the food was commendable. It would be a good place for a group of 4 to share the entrees & main.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Corylusx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    24
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Ume's combination of Japanese ingredients and French technique delivers a unique change to your usual fine dining fare. We thoroughly enjoyed the degustation menu with matching Sake and highly recommend that you sample the awesome range of Sakes available. This establishment is a one-hat winner which is honestly reflected in its service and prices. A great place for couples to dine also, as its not on the main dining strip of Crown St (next street over from Bourke St). I can see myself dining here more often now that I've found this little gem.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious modern Japanese with impressive drinks menu.”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This was our first time dining at Ume and we will be back.
My husband and I were the first in our party of 4 to arrive, we were promptly seated and attended to. We sat at a table in the narrow back room, it is a bit more quiet than the busy front but it depends what ambience you prefer. Although we were still waiting on our other guests to arrive, the staff made sure we were comfortable and taken care of.
We went for the 6 course degustation menu, which showcases their best dishes - the scallops and lamb are a definite highlight. All dishes were of a high quality and presented on beautiful Japanese pottery, it very much reminded us of our time in Japan.
The staff were knowledgable, polite and efficient and assisted us in selecting appropriate sake, umeshu and yuzushu to go with our meal. Each dish was carefully explained without being pretentious or over the top.
A great place to go with friends or for a special dinner for two. There were no children dining there when we ate, but this was a later dinner service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deux_Coxski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
252 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Good Food & Good Times”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Even among Sydney's plethora of restaurants, all vying to come up with something original, Ume still managed to deliver some unexpected combinations. The good news is that, unlike some places, they all worked (without being unnecessarily pretentious or just plain wrong). The menu presented a fresh and interesting spin on traditional Japanese dishes.

Another item of note would be the saki menu, plus the active interest the maître d' took when we asked about the various offerings on both this and the whiskey menu.

All round this was a really fun night with a great atmosphere, friendly service and excellent food (and drink!)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank splashcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quality food - great modern Japanese”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

One of my go to favs in Sydney. Great food, personalised and friendly service and some great Japanese whiskeys!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BecMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ume Japanese also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing