We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Yum Cha!”
Review of LL wine and dine

LL wine and dine
Ranked #1,161 of 5,900 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $26
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: LL is situated in the middle of Llankelly Place, Potts Point directly off the buzzing Kings Cross strip. The venue itself is entrenched in Potts Point's eclectic heritage and boasts a rich, colourful history. A former illegal casino in the 1960s, it has also served as an adult bookshop as well as a stronghold steel room. The menu created by head chef Jin Kung offers tantalising contemporary Asian cuisine made with premium Australian produce. Wines and cocktails have been carefully selected and created to complement our dishes. Inspired by the bustling Hong Kong bar scene, LL was established in February 2010 by Barge8 Hospitality and has already cemented its spot as one of Sydney's best restaurant/bars, awarded "Favourite Bar" by Good Food Guide 2011 and Top 10 Sydney Yum Cha by Sydney Magazine 2012 and many other accolades. Whether you're enjoying a glass of wine in the sun, a cocktail at the bar, yum cha on the weekend or lunch and dinner in our dining rooms, LL offers something for everyone
Illawarra
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic Yum Cha!”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

This is a funky little restaurant in the middle of Kings Cross which we accidentally stumbled upon on the weekend. Cocktails are refreshing and the jugs are great value. We also ordered a selection of dumplings which we were told are made at the restaurant daily. They were juicy, fresh and really light. We also had some more dishes to share, however the duck buns were a personal favourite. Could eat them for breakfast lunch and dinner! As a seasoned yum-cha lover… I was totally impressed!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Georgia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    16
    3
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Yum Cha!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We were still celebrating the previous evening's wedding.What a wonderful idea to have a casual lunch for those of us flying out later in the day .An "all you can eat" very reasonably priced ($30) Yum Cha. The Chilli Coconut Martini successfully blew away any cobwebs. (I'll be looking all over Perth for them now!) The dishes were perfect for such an occasion and just kept coming.Ranging from,chilli peanuts and spring rolls,through to the delicious steam buns, white bait,chicken dishes and pork ribs. There was a very talented harpist playing in the background and the venue had so much atmosphere I'm sure the walls had a story or two to tell....pretty certain it was not always the classy venue it is today!
Not sure how long LL has being doing Yum Cha,but they sure are doing it right.I'd love to return some time and extend my enjoyment with some of their other delicious sounding cocktails and menu items...and I did notice their wine list was excellent too!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank selaiwortel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
425 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“A fabulous Sunday Yum Cha!”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We were a group of around 25 people and had a Sunday lunch at LL's after a big Saturday night party. It was pouring with rain and we had outside tables, but apart from getting a little splashed on occasion, it certainly didn't dampen the spirits!

The Bloody Mary's were delicious! If you need one after a big night, this is a good one! Full of spice and pepper! The food was also excellent, it just kept coming out and there was not one disappointing dish. $30 for all you can eat is very good value and we certainly did eat a lot! There was also some live music which added to the atmosphere and although a small restaurant, it certainly packs a big punch!

I would definitely go back here, it was a lovely lunch and I'm just sorry we had to leave a bit early to fly back to Melbourne. Next time.......

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kgreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Cocktails a must!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Another great local spot - excellent cocktails and wine menu. Food is modern Asian, so expect to see some classic Chinese dishes with more contemporary twists on ingredients and preparation. Love the tofu in sesame sauce...yum!!
Friendly, handsome and professional service!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emc3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,283 reviews
592 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 604 helpful votes
“truly a great place to wine and dine”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

cosy small bar feel with several areas for dining, plus outdoors, and high tables and stools in bar area. Went for a few drinks and a light meal choosing to share several of the entrees. Friendly service and conversation if wanted. Good place for a relaxing night with friends or something on the romantic side. Food was very flavoursome and presentation excellent. Acceptable cocktail and wine available by glass or bottle. Nice choice of background music at just the right volume and live jazz on Fridays and weekends.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emanpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LL wine and dine also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to LL wine and dine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing