We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh yeah!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shady Pines Saloon

Shady Pines Saloon
Ranked #249 of 5,345 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighborhood: Darlinghurst
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Oh yeah!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

Oh yeah Shady pines is uber cool. Everything about this place is fantastic, even the hidden doorway! Tucked awAy down a little alleyway.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Si_sun_see
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    25
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

The door is quite hard to find. But when you find it... ouch. Just sit and order a fresh apple juice with whisky and enjoy your stay here

Helpful?
Thank Batmat08
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“BEST FUN EVER!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Totes super cool styleeeeee...the secret doorway....the taxidermy.....the beverages. Oh yes! I'll be back for sure. I loved Shady Pines!! Hooray!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gracepgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Ditto that! Best bar in Sydney”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We spent a lazy afternoon in Sydney working hard at a pub crawl and found this gem in the Sydney book in the hotel. It took us 15 minutes once we were in the area to locate this beauty. Well worth it with lit candles all around the bar, great feel, and cool vibe. If you taxidermy is something you don't enjoy take a pass but this place is just a beauty!

Well worth the trip. We laughed so hard when we finally made it mostly at how hard it was to find the place.

I'd go back regularly if I lived here......

When we arrived we talked to the bartenders and told them about the Sydney Small bars pub crawl that we mentioned in the Welcome to Sydney Tourist book. Their reaction? "We're in a book?" Priceless.....

Enjoy!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OestreichA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallidays Point, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Great cocktails that weren't too over priced and fabulous decor. If you blink you will miss it as it isn't advertised out the front and we walked past twice. Perfect for Friday night drinks.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Liadl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shady Pines Saloon also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Shady Pines Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing