We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great speakeasy”
Review of The Baxter Inn

The Baxter Inn
Ranked #2 of 5,843 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great speakeasy”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

...a little tough to find if you don't know what you're looking for - but here's a hint: It's in the alley behind 'barber shop' :)

As a bourbon guy, I'm always nervous going to a 'whiskey heaven' as that usually means 99% irish whiskeys only...but Baxter was pleasantly surprising...definitely had a few decent bourbons as well - and our friends loved the mixed drinks. It does get a little crammed and loud, but I'd still consider this a 'mellow' hangout.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank manuel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    455
    154
    19
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hidden Whiskey Heaven”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

If you don't know where it is you may never find it. Definitely ensure you have clear directions into the correct alleyway and non-descript doorway. If you do manage to find this little gem, you'll find a wall of whiskey in this prohibition-themed paradise.

It's small, busy, somewhat pricey, but totally worth the experience and feeling it gives you. Worth the hunt to find it, and worth the cost for an excellent selection of your favourite juice.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamsandwich1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Hipster paradise”
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

This hard to find underground whiskey pub is awesome. Old Fashioned done properly and a stock of 300+ whiskeys. A bit expensive as expected but worth it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karlekvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Horrible cocktails”
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

The barman (they all have beards - I can't warn you who it was) made truly the worst cocktail I have ever ordered. He tasted it, made a disgusted face and then served it to me.
So bad I put pretzels in it in an attempt to improve it.

Avoid unless you want to be ignored while some barely legal girls get all the attention and you are served very slowly the worst drink of your life.

They only have 5 cocktails on their menu. Between us we tried 2. They both tasted disgusting

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Thought I had died and gone to whisky heaven”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

Introduced to Baxter's by a friend a while ago and kept coming back. This place is awesome. Best bar in Sydney IMHO. The ambience of the basement setting with lots of people chatting away with some great beats in the background. Service staff are terrific and know their craft very well. Pretzels are a nice touch. Selection of whiskies is down right amazing. Great fun when exploring new drinking options. They also do some great other non-whisky drinks. I recommend the Southside during the warmer months. Only down side is that as Baxters is so good, it does get quite busy rather quickly. One of the few places in Sydney where the time in the queue is worth the wait. Can be a little hard to find for people who have never been there before.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WhiteKnightDBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Baxter Inn also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to The Baxter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing