We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best whiskey bar in Sydney”
Review of The Baxter Inn

The Baxter Inn
Ranked #3 of 5,891 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best whiskey bar in Sydney”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

If you havn't been to the Baxter Inn, do yourself a favor and go. It has a whiskey list which boasts 100+ different whiskey's from different regions and a fantastic array of cocktails. Set in prohibition era style, it is both fun and funky. A great place to take friends who are from out of town...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank When_in_Rome2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    476
    160
    20
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Go to place in Sydney”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Tell your friends where you're going, just not where or how to get there. The walk down the cobblestone alley will get their heart racing, disappearing into the dungeon through a small door and down fire stairs will positively freak them out!

Walk up to the bar and be honest with the man with the beard. Whether you're a seasoned whisky drinker, or Johnny Walker is the extent of your knowledge, the man in the long white apron will get you drinking something to suit your palette. Not just the first glass either, he'll take you in a flavour journey that will surprise you!

Last time there I was introduced to Islay whisky from a good friend from Russia of all places! I sauntered to the bar and asked for something from Isaly, and was given 2 glasses of Caol Ila 12 year old. Good grief, that was good. The 14 year old was a little strong for mine, the 12 year old was spot on.

Will go back, time and time again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ajc13b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Feel like I'm stepping back in time”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

This place is cool cool cool. Unfortunately many think the same so if you don't get in early, you'll be waiting in line for at least half an hour. My advise is to arrive at about 4pm for a pre-dinner drink or two. This underground prohibition era style whiskey bar is a prime example of what I love about the new small bar scene emerging in Sydney. The bar is dimly lit, cosy and makes me feel like I'm stepping back in time to an era so foreign yet exciting. The staff know their stuff when it comes to whiskey and are not pretentious, always willing to give you some advise or suggestions. Down a dingy lane, this place is hard to find and to those unknowing, you would slip past it without ever realising. Get yourself to The Baxter Inn and embrace your inner whiskey connoisseur. For those of you who don't drink whiskey, never fear, there are plenty of alternatives.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Coolest Bar Ever”
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

This is the funkiest bar in Sydney. I'm not a big whiskey fan but there is an awesome cocktail selection as well.
My girlfriend took me there ( back streets, alley ways, dark steep stairs) and wow it's like going back in time when serving alcohol was illegal.
There is no noise but silence and then you open the doors and you are greeted with a cool bustling crowd of enthusiastic people enjoying this unique experience.
If you are travelling to Sydney, you must go there. If you can find it !!

Helpful?
1 Thank Mollygracew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Drink with the locals”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Sydney locals showed me this great bar, which offers an impressive range of scotch! The antipasto platter is superb to complement to the extensive drink menu! Can be quite busy/noisy on a weeknight.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Canberra2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Baxter Inn also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to The Baxter Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing