We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Coffee and Breakfast joint”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Pony Cafe

Black Pony Cafe
Ranked #4,196 of 5,835 Restaurants in Sydney
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Coogee
Sydney
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Coffee and Breakfast joint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

This cafe serves consistently good breakfasts and very good coffee. The breakfast salad is a nice change from the usual eggs and bacon routine that you usually see on cafe menus (however, most cafes in coogee have quite innovative menus) and the spelt muesli with honey poached pears is a firm favourite for me and my friends. The decor is very 'now' with untreated wood and dark tiles making the walls a feature. You can reserve a table if you have a social occasion or just don't like to wait, but I always find the wait is not too long. I haven't eaten here for lunch or dinner so I can't comment on those menus. The only thing I would like to see is a breakfast special every now and then to mix the menu up a little. Def worth a visit!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IndianRoadJunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    29
    9
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Slow as a wet week”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Had brekky. Food took 45 minutes, There was only one other table there. Bacon and eggs don't take that long. Coffee was served in smallest cups I have seen in Australia. And not all that cheap.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SandDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good food, long wait, moody insincere service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

This used to be our favourite place in Coogee. This time we waited over an hour for food, water was forgotten, waitress avoided us and turned her back when we had to walk in from outside to chase up service. Having a new team is no excuse not to say sorry when a customer complains. My wife and I have spent over 1000 dollars here in 6 months. I am not happy. More to say but at the moment I would avoid this place on busy nights as they are all over the place. Such a shame.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave_Coz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Just had a bloody awesome meal, the waitress was great and food was absolutely brilliant. They are happy to do special dishes to suit vegos, but the mushroom ragu was perfect anyway. Try it,you will love it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank saravshaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A great place to relax, have some good food and watch the world go by”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

Having walked the coastal walk form bondi and in search for some food and to take a break, we came across the black pony cafe. Friendly staff, an open plan lay out which gives a chance to watch the world go and chilled out music in the background. Had an awesome puy lentil salad that had a great balance of flavours with beetroot, hazelnuts and goats cheese. The other half had the spicey chicken salad which wasn't particularly spicey but tasted fine. Felt recharged afterwards with good food in the belly and a relaxing atmosphere to chill in.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G_Frizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Black Pony Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Black Pony Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing