We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place. Good value for money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sydney Darling Harbour Hotel
Ranked #95 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The Darling Harbour Hotel is a mix of Hotel and Hostel, I mean, there are shared bedrooms with shared toilets outside and also single suites. I stayed in one of those (therefore I can’t say anything about shared bedrooms and toilets).

It was clean, safe, I can’t complain. No lifts in the building, which means you have to carry your luggage through the stairs. There is a fully equipped kitchen to the guests. In my room there were a fridge and small TV. No AC (and it can be a problem in hot days, although the fan was OK to the mild temperature in the nights when I was there).

Location of the place is excellent. A few steps from the Darling Harbour (one of the most touristic places in Sydney – full of bars, shops and restaurants) and the light rail station (Pyrmont Bay). 15 min walk to the nearest subway station. Walking distance to everything in downtown. Convenience store just across the street.

It’s obviously not a fancy place, far from that, but enough good to the price paid and localization. If you compare it to awful prices of Sydney Hotels especially in New Years and consider its great localization, I would definitely recommend this place.

I see a trip as an opportunity to explore the places and I just use the accommodation to leave my bags, sleep and shower in a decent place. It was the right place to me.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LePires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
There are newer reviews for Sydney Darling Harbour Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 90 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2014

The lady receptionist was friendly. I think there are only 8 rooms (?). The room we stayed in have a double bed, a personal fridge and a small TV, a fan, oil heater. There were towels, shampoo and conditioner. It was clean but very old. The advertisement should explicitly indicate that it is a FAN room only. It was very hot that we had to open the window wide to get some air. We didn't get to sleep till 2am when the weather cooled down a bit. Make sure you ring first to ensure that you are getting an airconditioned room. There was noise outside because of people in the street most of the night...but we were not bothered.

On the positive side, it is very near to attractions (Madame Tussauds, Maritime Museum etc) and Darling Harbour just across the road,there are convinience shops and restaurants just outside. If you are on a budget, there is a foodcourt at the Harbourside Shopping Centre just about 3 to 5 minutes walk away.The communal kitchen looks ok and complete but we didn't need to use it. There is ample parking around. We used "Book a Bay" in Wilson's parking Harbourside. It's discounted if you book online. In other parking areas, it was only $10 overnight but we chose the nearest Harbourside which is $22 online ($32 if paying by machine).

Overall, would have been a good stay for $135 if not for the aircon issue. Would stay again but will make sure that it is going to be a comfortable airconditioned room.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an airconditioned room.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The hotel entrance is a door between closed down shops. The rooms are old and dirty. There is no air conditioning. The ROCK HARD beds are separated by an d refrigerator. The shower floor is not separated from the rest of the bathroom floor. It's obscenely noisy at night. And it was all for the low price of $150 per night. The only positives were the proximity to darling harbour and a free bar of soap. Do yourself a favor and find another hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We booked Sydney Darling Harbour Hotel for four nights in November, 2013 because it was a great deal cheaper than anything else, even the YHA. We found it to be an ideal location near Darling Harbour and public transportation. The room was pleasant with twin beds of good quality, a full bath, air conditioner and refrigerator. One of the other surprises was that it had a communal kitchen in which we fixed a number of meals. The staff was very helpful. But it was the location that trumped everything else.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quertosomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The air conditioner that was promised didn't work; it was horrible experience. I suspect that it never worked at all, but the staff pretended that it should work and that it is a surprise.
Location was very good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Just spent four nights at the Darling Harbour Hotel. I liked it a lot, I found it to be an amazing value for the money (great location, probably the lowest priced private room in central Sydney - CBD or Darling Harbour area). It might seem more detached from the CBD - but Darling Harbor has tons to see - Powerhouse, the fish market, the Maritime museum is right there... and just across the Pyrmont Bridge is the aquarium. You just need to know what you're getting up-front with the accommodations. This is not a "hotel" as most Americans would define it. Probably more like a European pension. It's an older building, 5+ levels, with no elevator - so you're carrying your bags up at least one flight of stairs, probably more. Most rooms have a private bath en suite - you can confirm this at booking. Free wifi was a HUGE bonus, rare in Australia too! They don't have a website at present (at least not one I could find). There is a kitchen, but it feels almost more like it's the staff's space (but you do have a mini fridge in every room we saw). During our visit there were 5-6 young Korean men who seemed to run the place, perhaps on working holiday (we had to return a week later to pick up a forgotten item, and the three staff members we saw were unfamiliar). They didn't seem super-knowledgeable about Sydney, but they were pleasant and kept the place clean. Kebab place across the street was great, and the gelato inside the Star casino two blocks away is the best in the city. And there's a light rail (tram?) stop right by the Maritime museum, that takes you right into Chinatown - more great, cheap eats. There's also a Cole's super market 2 blocks away if you're planning meals in. Water was a bit slow to come up to temp, but that wasn't a huge problem. There is some street noise, it's not too bad, but if you're a light sleeper - beware. I was there with a young child, which was a challenge with the tight room - but she slept fine, and the staff was great about getting us a child's cot. Don't ask for their help with a cab, they tried to book one for us (someone they knew and referred) - we had an early morning flight and the cab driver was a no-show! But overall, I don't think you'll get a better location for the money - just understand that it's not a perfectly polished hotel. Probably best for budget travelers, friends, young couples... families not so much (but like I said, I'm a family traveler and we did ok - if we didn't have the kiddo and larger bags, it would have been perfect).

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor, and a room with a private bath en suite.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nestorcua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here for 2 days, the receptionist was really nice and helpful. the room was clean and comfortable even though the room with old furniture and need some renovation. no lift but the hotel guy would help you without extra money. easy access to main attraction in Sidney. no air conditioner so we had to open the window. the room was noisy at night because of the road outside the hotel. we could use the kitchen with full equipment, save us more money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cityholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
The Darling
#5 of 178 in Sydney
892 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Sydney Darling Harbour
Central Business District
Novotel Sydney on Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City West
Woolbrokers Hotel
Woolbrokers Hotel
#126 of 178 in Sydney
144 reviews
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney Darling Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney Darling Harbour Hotel

Address: 11 Pyrmont Bridge Rd, Sydney, New South Wales 2009, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney > City West
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Sydney
Price Range: $78 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sydney Darling Harbour Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sydney Darling Harbour Hotel is a short walk to Darling Harbour's main attractions, including Sydney Wildlife World and Sydney Aquarium. Sydney Darling Harbour Hotel is located 270 metres from Pyrmont Bay Ferry Wharf and 240 metres from the Star. It offers a rooftop terrace, barbecue facilities and free Wi-Fi access. The heated guest rooms are fitted with a fridge and a desk. Most rooms offer a private bathroom. Guests can prepare simple meals in the shared kitchen and dine in the dining room. Airport shuttle services can be arranged at a cost. Hotel Darling Harbour Sydney is 2 km from central Sydney and 4 km from the Sydney Opera House. It is 1.6 Km from Chinatown and 18 km from Sydney Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Sydney Darling Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing