We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing food, great value.”

Kura Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #471 of 5,944 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Caloundra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing food, great value.”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Customer service was a little lacking when we first arrived. But once we settled in and started ordering via the iPad menus at the tables, food & drinks started to arrive and we soon forgot the start. Everything arrived very quickly and it was all excellent. 5 of us shared numerous plates, had a couple of drinks each, all for under $150. Brilliant! Will be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stac_aka-PoppyD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    50
    10
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
427 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I went to Kura in Haymarket with a group of friends. The's is a little cafe downstairs and what is more of a restaurant upstairs. We dined upstairs. I simply ordered a heap of different dishes - yakitori, agedashi tofu, sushi rolls, takoyaki, mentaiko udon, beef udon etc among other dishes.

All the dishes were of a good quality and very tasty. It's a great place for well priced informal Japanese dining.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank klkh2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cool little restaurant in China Town”
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

I ate at this restaurant during a trip to Sydney and it was simply fantastic! From the outside Kura-Kura just looks like a little local sushi bar, but if you eat in their upstairs dining area it's modern and comfortable. The menu and ordering system was electronic, viewing, selecting and ordering food using iPads - a very novel touch. Service was fast and friendly and the food was amazing and great value for money. If I lived in Sydney I would eat here all the time! I loved this place and can highly recommend it.

Helpful?
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Service a little wanting!”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Thursday night - three tables - can't be all that difficult, right? Well, we were the second table (the third, which arrived after us had four people) on this night. The menu is not that extensive, but then, given the location and size of the restaurant, you would not expect a full menu. That being said, the dishes were very affordable, and the portions reasonable (none of this cuisine noveau find-the-meal-on-the-large-plate business). The ambiance is nothing to write home about - plastic tables, wooden chairs. This is not dine dining. So far so good. Under normal circumstances, I would rate this establishment reasonably. The big disappointment, however, was the service. After waiting a while, we see one of our dishes being delivered to the next table. Some time later, we noted the wait staff go to the other table to explain that the dish was not actually theirs. No apology to us for the delay. And delay there was. The other table had probably four dishes delivered to their table compared to our one. In the meantime, we wanted to order some drinks. Try as we could, the wait staff seemed more interested in what was happening on the street (nothing of note). No eye contact, no checking to make sure the guests were OK. Sure, times are tough, and giving wait and kitchen staff additional training to enhance the customer experience will probably not be at the top of the budgetary priorities, but this was pretty low in the service spectrum. I would suggest that they would be pleasantly surprised if they did make the effort. For me, I'll not be returning.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AussieV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent tiny suhi corner”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

I have been to Kura Kura several times and it was always very much to my liking. It is open 7 days, on a convenient spot, fast, delicious and moderately priced... wow that sound amazing, but it really is. Of course its packed most of the time. There are only few tables, so you are likely to sit at the counter, or wait for a bit outside, we always got a place within 5 min though. If you have miso soup, two main dishes and a tea its about 20-25 $ per person, what is really ok for Sydney.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chr_nik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kura Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Kura Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing