We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has neighbourhood friendly feel, great service and food”
Review of Oxford Social - CLOSED

Oxford Social
Price range: $9 - $28
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Darlinghurst
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,248 reviews
577 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 589 helpful votes
“Has neighbourhood friendly feel, great service and food”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Has been on my list to try for a while and at last got the chance. Nicely laid out restaurant with sliding panels that provide full opening onto street in fine weather. On a cool winter's night was cosy inside with panels and front door closed. Service throughout the night was excellent. We shared starters of whiting fillets, prawns and scallops. All were superb. Across the group we had mains of duck, lamb, pasta and chicken which gave us a good feel for the range of meals on offer. No complaints and a lot of compliments for each dish. Desserts were tempting and did not let down the high standard we were experiencing. Restaurant is fully licenced with moderate cocktail list and a fair selection of wines by bottle or glass. Would happily return and feel good value for money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emanpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    34
    10
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Worth looking for - Oxford Social”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We chose the Oxford Social from reviews and we were rewarded with a meal that was a delight, the food was plentiful and amazing. The Service was spot on, wines were reasonable priced with a good selection. We started with the grilled scallops and hash cakes, we then shared the pork belly. No room for desert, which was a shame as the menu looked wonderful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy204051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fabulous food...definitely worth a trip”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We ordered the grilled scallops, lamb shanks, chicken breast, pork belly and beef fillet. The food was great! If you only have 1 choice then it would be in this order: pork belly, lamb shanks, beef and chicken. Super service too!

Helpful?
Thank erinayeo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

My family and I visited Oxford Social for dinner on 1 August with high expectations because of the volume of good reviews they have accumulated over here. I must say, we were not the least bit disappointed! The service was the best we ever had in a restaurant, and the food was simply amazing. The Arancini Balls, Baked Polenta and Grilled Scallops entrees were, in my humble opinion, an absolute "must try". The tomato broth from the Crab Ravioli main course was heavenly. The only thing that went wrong was that I ordered the Beef Fillet medium well and it came out well done. Did not inform them about it because I could not stop eating it as it was still very good! However, the owner was highly apologetic when he found out. During our holiday in Sydney we dined at restaurants with huge accolades here on TripAdvisor, and this was head and shoulders above those we visited, some of which are fine dinning restaurants! They even paid attention to the tap water, bread and butter; the water were wonderfully lightly flavored and the butter had herbs in it. Will certainly recommend them to friends who are planning to visit Sydney!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TmKh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
270 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Who would have thought?”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a bit of problem finding this one. The address we had was for a gay bar. Thankfully the crowd knew the place. Their ringing endorsement of the restaurant was a good omen that proved to be true. The service was fantastic. The food was absolutely perfect. I started with the grilled scallops with Serrano ham and my partner had gnocchi with pumpkin. It was just fantastic. The main course was John Dory (perfectly cooked - not overcooked like too many fish restaurants) and I had the Gaoan seafood curry. Both of us were totally engaged in the food and conversation was nil except for the occasional offers to try each others food. For dessert we shared the Belgian chocolate tart. It was worth the entire trip. Definitely a highlight of our time in Sydney.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcrane66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
135OxfordSocial, Guest Relations Manager at Oxford Social, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear jcrane66,

Thank you for dining with us and taking the time to leave such a nice review and that you found our service Fantastic. I appreciate you taking the time especially as you are a Top Contributor. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing. I was so pleased that our service lived up to your expectations, and that you found our food to be absolutely perfect.
I like to think we make excellent food at reasonable prices so again thank you for saying so.
We hope that we will be welcoming you back at Oxford Social, when you next visit Sydney.

Kind Regards
The Oxford Social Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oxford Social also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing