We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nearly perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ananas Bar & Brasserie

Ananas Bar & Brasserie
Ranked #186 of 5,348 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: The Rocks
Description: Ananas Bar and Brasserie is set to bring a touch of shimmering French Mediterranean glamour to The Rocks. Open for lunch, dinner and late-night suppers, Ananas serves up a contemporary twist on the best classic French Mediterranean food, cocktails, wine and Champagne under Chef de Cuisine Neil Martin.
Sydney
Level Contributor
129 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Nearly perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Outstanding design, beautiful decor, good music, polished service staff in dining room, food can be great. Had fantastic experience first visit in party of 4. Everything had the Wow factor. Delicious, perfectly executed meals. Next visit 4 weeks later and cocktails had to be remixed twice in bar; less attentive table service and 3 of 4 meals either sent back or simply very disappointing. A whole fish dish was an overcooked, baked fish on a plate. That was it. Rib eye for two was raw and swimming in own juices (not rested properly). Still trying to get my party to give it another try, because when they got it right it was as good as I have had. I would still recommend Ananas!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Walacia205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    115
    50
    29
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NSW
Level Contributor
97 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A dining experience not just a meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I dined recently with 4 others. It was a very busy night and yet the service was prompt professional and all combined with some personality and a laugh. We all had three courses and they were ALL yummy. The pate was delicious, so too the chicken and when the desserts arrived they were a feast for the eyes as well as tasting delightful. The decor was a little confused and I did agree with another reviewer that the pineapple were a little over the top, and I would not have thought very French. This was only minor though because the overall ambience was very relaxing and warm. Wines were expensive. No mid price range options which was a little disappointing. I would recommend a visit here and will go back with my husband some time, it would be a nice couples venue I feel.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank crossbordertraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very poor service & overpriced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Extremely disappointed. Interior decor is great but thats where it ends. Bonny was rude taking the booking. 9pm booking, finally seated at 9.45pm & hard to get a drink while waiting. Entrees arrived after 10.30pm. Offered dried up bread while waiting: "what are the different breads?" Answer "light or dark & no we don't have any butter for the bread" (one small dish of balsamic vinegar instead). Had run out of a few dishes, mixed up the orders, wait staff kept interrupting us mid-sentence, served the gents before the ladies. The food was ok but the side dishes are awful & side dish portions very small. The truffle potato mash was really runny.
Not good enough for >$300 per person. World class prices with back water service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SydneySd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“French cuisine in Sydney”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Ananas is a nice French cuisine restaurant in The Rocks aera of Sydney. We had dinner there and the quality of the food is very good. The service was great as well and the interior of the restaurant is nice (and a little tacky with all the pineapples).

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank PiHe10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney NSW
Level Contributor
85 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“I was surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife's workmates decided on a get together and chose Ananas. I had been to other venues nearby and feared the worse.

I was wrong. It had buzz. It was slick and sophisticated. The meals were excellent. The wine menu good. The staff were helpful, attentive but not pushy

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank grestymosman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ananas Bar & Brasserie also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Ananas Bar & Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing