We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed with service!”

Ananas Bar & Brasserie
Ranked #422 of 5,841 Restaurants in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $34
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: The Rocks
Description: Ananas Bar and Brasserie is set to bring a touch of shimmering French Mediterranean glamour to The Rocks. Open for lunch, dinner and late-night suppers, Ananas serves up a contemporary twist on the best classic French Mediterranean food, cocktails, wine and Champagne under Chef de Cuisine Neil Martin.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Disappointed with service!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Very slow service, it took a while for the waitress to attend to us when we arrived,
Although she was pleasant and courteous. An hour for the entree to arrive, which was
waitress got the order wrong! Food was well presented and tasty. An hour for the mains to
arrive, we complained to the waitress who was not happy with us after that. She dumped the
Desert menus on the table, which we declined due to the late service, very unprofessional.
Went to Guylian across the road who really looked after us well.
By the way that waitress (uniformed on) did not wish us when leaving. Our family eats out a lot,and
we look forward to a relaxing and happy experience, this was bad! Bistro Felix here we come!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adam H, Manager at Ananas Bar & Brasserie, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Hi Denise,
Thank you for sharing your feedback of your dinner with us, we really appreciate it. It is especially nice to hear that you enjoyed your entrees. We would love to discuss your experience with you more - please email your contact details to reservations@ananas.com.au and reference Trip Advisor and we will be in touch.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    120
    54
    33
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Six of us went to this restaurant for a wonderful Goodbye dinner....Just found it on the off chance and it did not disappoint.....
Wonderful food, great music, but it could be quite loud, for some. Extremely helpful and knowledgeable staff...

Quite expensive...but well worth it....

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay141958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Frenchy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

My friend recommend this place as the best French restaurant in Sydney and we went there for dinner the other day. We start with champagne of course, had two bottles between three of us. I had the black pudding with scallop for starter and it was amazing, I even ask for them to bring me another black pudding itself without the scallop. Lamb shoulder for the main course was ok. I might have to try other food on their menu next time I'm there. It's a great place hid in the crowd of Argyle with beautiful decor, and great staff. If you love French food with amazing drinks list and awesome food and service, don't miss this one.

Helpful?
Thank LinaDewantari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, really nice but very dark and noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

I really loved thd food. Entree of prawns and oyster - fresh and succulent. Steak with truffle mashed potato perfect. Snickers for dessert - wonderful. Cocktails and wine list great.
After a certain time the lights went down and music went up. A bit annoying as it made normal conversation difficult. Service was wonderful and I plan on returning. Thanks Ananas

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mummaoftwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Merci”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Good from start to finish. The dining was just mouth watering. The service impeccable , Cynthia from near Cannes , entertained us as well as provided just the right amount of attention in taking orders and delivering our choices.

Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ananas Bar & Brasserie also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 

Been to Ananas Bar & Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing