We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location - UNSW and going to Sydney”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Meriton Suites Zetland
Ranked #13 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We liked the feeling of having independence within the apartment due to its cleanliness and provision of appliances and access to internet etc.; these made it easy to quickly settle in and then plan our visit to the supermarket to get food for cooking and decide how to travel to get to University of New South Wales one of our next day activities.

Without a car we used public transport and needed to walk from Green Square station to Meriton apartments. If we had seen one or more signs on Bourke Road and in other streets then this would have helped to guide us more directly through the building complex and onto Defries Avenue. However, once we got to the room and had access to the internet we found the transport routes and timetables and could then easily get around.

Green Square train station, and the supermarket at Danks Street are a not that close to the apartments, though the distance is not too far if you enjoy a walk. However, it could take more than 20 minutes at a less brisk pace. Even so, the grid layout of streets and location of the freeway, do I think make walking to shops a more easy way to get around and do short distance shopping etc., than if driving.

Room Tip: Being located in an apartment near the lift meant that a young group of residents who were located i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Navailable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAZetland, Administration Coordinator at Meriton Suites Zetland, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Navailable,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Meriton Zetland.

All our spacious and contemporary apartments are self-contained with kitchen and laundry amenities giving you more choice, more space and more freedom for you to enjoy your stay the way you want.

More so as you discovered we also conveniently offer complimentary 1GB Wi Fi and access to the pool, spa, sauna, and gymnasium for maximum convenience and relaxation.

Thank you Navailable, for taking the time in reviewing Meriton Zetland and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm Regards,
Carol N

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,395)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,679 - 2,685 of 3,395 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2014

We chose these apartments because of the location from the CBD and the airport for our early morning flight. Our 3 bedroom apartment was clean and spacious with a balcony off each of the bedrooms and a lovely view over a garden park. My husband and our 10 year old managed to squeeze in a swim and was impressed with the size of the pool which is great for doing lengths. All the staff were helpful and friendly and as we had paid the bond in cash and needed someone to check our room before we left it wasn't a problem - even though it was 4.30am!! Would recommend these apartments and would defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cindy5510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAZetland, Administration Coordinator at Meriton Suites Zetland, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Cindy5510,

Thank you for providing us with a fantastic five star review!

We are so pleased that our spacious and modern three bedroom apartments that feature kitchen and laundry amenities were of great use to you!

Meriton Zetland is a short stroll away from the famous Centennial Park perfect for a morning walk or run, or just take some time out to be encapsulated by its beautiful surrounds. For all your entertainment needs the Entertainment Quarter just moments away from cinemas, restaurants, shopping and bars.

It is so pleasing when our guests wish they could have stayed longer as it is just a reflection of the exceptional customer service that we continuously pride ourselves on.

Thank you once again for sharing your amazing experience with us and the Trip Advisor community and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to Zetland or at any one of our other properties in Sydney, Brisbane and the Gold Coast.

Best Wishes,
Carol N

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The staffs are very kind and helpful. The room is better than I imaged. The location is the only disadvantage, but many bus stops and train station can be reached within 15 mins by walking. I will definitely chose here again if I visit Sydney in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chingking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAZetland, Administration Coordinator at Meriton Suites Zetland, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Chingking,

Thank you for choosing Meriton Zetland as your first review.

We are so delighted that our spacious and modern apartments along with kitchen and laundry facilities that you would normally use at home were of great use to you.

We also offer complimentary 1GB Wi-Fi for our guests as well as leisure facilities such as our pool, spa, sauna and gym which we are glad you experienced.

Even though Zetland is located just outside of the city circle, there are bus services, Green Square train station and taxi options for our guests to go to and from their destinations. More so, the East Village Shopping Centre will be opening very soon in 2014 which is just minutes walking distance from the property.

Once again thank you for reviewing your stay and we look forward to accommodating you again at Meriton Zetland or at one of our other sister properties across Sydney, Gold Coast and Brisbane.

Kind Regards,
Carol N

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Great apartment - spacious, clean, comfortable and well equipped. Had stayed in a hotel for the 3 weeks previous and wished I'd stayed in a serviced apartment now. Feels a lot more like 'home' and far more relaxing.

Location isn't great especially if on foot. Supermarkets are some distance away and the closest station is a 15 minute walk. The only local shops have very limited offering and are expensive. I took a cab to the airport for only $25 so not too bad for that.

Area can be slightly noisy with busy road behind the building. My room overlooked an Audi garage and they had a tendency to be quite noisy early morning.

For all the above, I will stay again especially as the price was more than half the hotel I had stayed in!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank AxWe1908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAZetland, Administration Coordinator at Meriton Suites Zetland, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Alex W,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Meriton Zetland.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us! Even though our location is in the outer skirts of the city, it allows us to be surrounded by the famous Centennial Park and two of Sydney’s finest golf courses so our guest can enjoy a morning walk/run or even be encapsulated by its beautiful surrounds.

You would be pleased to also know that the East Village Shopping Centre will be opening very soon which is just minutes walking distance from the property, offering ample variety of supermarkets, restaurants, cafes and shopping mall complexes for your convenience.

Some of our sister properties in Sydney are situated within the heart of Sydney CBD ideal for travellers who need to be in the inner city for their travel purposes.

Once again thank you for taking the time in reviewing your recent stay and we very much look forward to your return.

Kind Regards,
Carol N

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Fantastic apartment, spacious, clean and modern. Close to shops and food. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay again and bring the family. Super value for money compared with expensive and really small inner city hotels in Sydney - this was bigger than 3 standard city rooms.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sarahfnz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAZetland, Administration Coordinator at Meriton Suites Zetland, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Sarahfnz2014,

Thank you for choosing Meriton Zetland as your first review!

All our comfortable, spacious and affordable apartments feature gourmet kitchens, internal laundries and modern bathrooms to leave you nothing short of anything you might need from home.

Furthermore we also offer complimentary 1GB of WIFI and our guests have access to our pool, spa, sauna and gym facilities- we really do offer more value for money!

We really appreciate your feedback and we look forward to accommodating you and your family again in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Carol N

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We come from Perth and have only heard of good reports about the Meriton Serviced Apartments in Zetland from family and friends that have stayed in them.
We stayed in these apartments for 3 nights before heading to Orange for the weekend then another 3 nights after. Great location for public transport, restaurants/local pubs,a supermarket 15mins away and an easy walk. We also hired a car from Budget Rentals which was only a 5min walk from the apartments. The apartment was immaculate, modern, comfortable and very clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful, could not fault the over all experience. We will definitely stay again and recommend to our family and friends.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAZetland, Administration Coordinator at Meriton Suites Zetland, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Kevin S,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Meriton Zetland.

We are so happy that our modern, spacious and self-contained apartments were useful to your travel needs!

You would be pleased to also know that the East Village Shopping Centre will be opening very soon which is just minutes walking distance from the property, offering ample variety of supermarkets, restaurants, cafes and shopping mall complexes for your convenience.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again to Zetland or at any of our other sister properties across Sydney, Brisbane and the Gold Coast.

With Many Thanks,
Carol N

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Clean and tidy with well-equipped kitchen. Very happy experience and great accommodation more than I expected. It would be perfect if the front-desk staff could smile more and tell me the password of the wifi.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bijun Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MSAZetland, Administration Coordinator at Meriton Suites Zetland, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Dear Bijun Z,

Welcome to Trip Advisor and thank you for choosing Meriton Zetland as your first review.

We are so delighted that our spacious and modern apartments that feature kitchen and laundry facilities exceeded your expectations! At Meriton Zetland we pride ourselves with our affordable quality accommodation purely designed to give our guests with more space, more freedom and more choice!

Please be assured that your feedback about our staff and service has been passed onto relative management. We encourage all feedback here at Meriton Zetland as it allows us to continuously improve on our products and services and work towards being the leader in accommodation.

Thank you once again for reviewing your recent stay at Meriton Zetland and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best Regards,
Carol N

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sydney hotels
Inner South
Meriton Suites Waterloo
Meriton Suites Waterloo
#26 of 186 in Sydney
2,288 reviews
Central Business District
Ovolo 1888 Darling Harbour
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Kent Street, Sydney
Central Business District
Meriton Suites Pitt Street, Sydney
Central Business District
The Grace Hotel Sydney
The Grace Hotel Sydney
#22 of 186 in Sydney
6,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meriton Suites Zetland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meriton Suites Zetland

Address: 8 Defries Avenue | Zetland, Sydney, New South Wales 2017, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Sydney
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 186 Hotels in Sydney
Price Range: $119 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Meriton Suites Zetland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 334
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be invited into the vibrant inner-city suburb of Zetland by our professional and hospitable Guest Services team. Boasting 334 oversized and spacious suites situated across 22 floors, we promise all the comforts of home while at the same time showcasing resort style facilities here at Meriton Suites Zetland. Our range of Studio to Modern Suites with 1, 2 and 3-bedrooms are designed to be up to three times larger than a traditional hotel room and are fitted with comfy, plush bedding with deluxe linen, guaranteeing the perfect night’s sleep. Featuring well-appointed kitchens, internal laundries and modern flat screen TVs complete with a range of Foxtel channels, guests are able to take absolute comfort throughout their stay with us. The newly established East Village shopping centre is only a couple of minutes’ walk away, fitted with supermarkets, specialty retail and eateries to cater to all tastes. Conveniently located only moments from Green Square station and bus stops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Meriton Suites Zetland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing